In a vase on Monday – Hands tied behind my back

Well no, not really, just trying to come up with an eye catching title, not my strong point really.  Cathy is always so clever with her titles and as I am joining her for ‘In a vase on Monday’ where she asks us to make an arrangement with material from our own gardens, I needed to make some effort think of something at least vaguely fun!

After finding some videos on You Tube that I included in answer to Susie in last week’s post, I wanted to try again to make a hand tied bouquet.  Again I’ve used mostly daisy shaped flowers including Gerbera, Single mixed Dahlias with the addition of Achillea and orange Leonotis leonurus, which is flowering like I’ve never seen before, I must try some cuttings as a plant of this would be great in the cuttings bed.

There were five of this lovely Gerbera to pick, these plants have been good value, I will try to over winter them in the greenhouse

There were five of this lovely Gerbera to pick, these plants have been good value, I will try to over winter them in the greenhouse

Flowers having a long drink before arranging

Flowers having a long drink before arranging

As usual the best images have to be taken outside, standing on a stone plinth in front of the box

As usual the best images have to be taken outside, standing on a stone plinth in front of the box

Leonotis leonurus

Leonotis leonurus

Fiery oranges, peachy shades and reds

Fiery oranges, peachy shades and reds

I used the brown glazed vase of Etruscan design that you’ve seen before.

I followed the instruction but somehow my posy is not flat by pyramidal! – I’m not sure how that happened but I like the finished result, it just wouldn’t pass any test on this type of arrangement which appears to have quite strict rules – I’m not good with rules!

Do visit Cathy at Rambling in the Garden to see what others have found to put in their vases this week

22 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – Hands tied behind my back

  1. This is lovely Christina with wonderful color combinations. Thanks you for listing the videos last week. I didn’t have time to try the techniques yet but plan to practice. The Sarah Raven video you preferred was also my favorite one.

    • It may have been a cheat but she explained it well and I liked the slightly less formal look of her bouquet. Good luck when you try, it isn’t all that easy.

  2. As long as it looks good, that’s all that matters! And it certainly does. Some gorgeous warm shades there, especially the leonotis – another one to add to the list. Definitely eye-catching!

  3. You’ve done a lovely bouquet with your hands tied, dear Christina. I love the colours and somehow there’s something very girlish about these flowers, as if they’re in party mood. :)

  4. Hi Christina, your flowers are beautiful – I love the hot oranges, yellows and reds together. I should try to take photos of mine outside … the light in yours is very sunshiny and summery, perfect for your sunshiny flowers.

    • I have a lot of problems photographing the vases inside the house. Italian houses are designed to keep the sun and heat out in summer which means there isn’t enough light for photography! It is better in winter when the sun is lower in the sky and the wisteria has lost all of its leaves.

  5. I like it! The arrangement shows off the unusual shape of the Leonotis to maximum effect. And your bouquet reminds me again that I should find a place for some Gerbera, at least in a pot.

  6. Yes, definitely no hard and fast rules rules here – just a safe place to experiment and learn from doing so :) This vase looks perfect on the plinth, Christina, and reminds me to have a go at outside locations again – today was different, as time and accessibility of any wifi was restricted, but otherwise I haven’t photographed a vase outside since the early winter vases. The leonitus is a real star – but I suspect it may not be possible to grow it at all here – and the gerbera and dahlias really ‘zing’ with it and the achillea in all your sunshine. Thanks for joining in and for your kind comments about my titles – I do like a good title so I am pleased that others enjoy them too ;)

    • I just needed something a bit different so was wandering around the garden and saw the Leonotus, it has grown tall with all the rain, it has looked stunted in other years.

  7. Rules smules! Love the Leonotis, and those various daisy flowers all go together beautifully. The plinth with the evergreen backdrop makes an excellent setting for photographing a vase too, I must do some experimenting.

Leave a Reply

