November Bloomday

It’s so hard to believe that it’s the middle of November already!

This weekend has been another lovely warm and sunny one, so that’s three in a row; even though it has been wet and windy on the weekdays in between.   It was nice enough to have lunch outside both days.

Incredibly nearly all the roses I possess have at least one flower.

I am happy the planting associations I have planned have worked even when plants flower outside their expected period.

R. Molineux, a yellow crab apple and yellow Hemerocallis continue to look great together

The strong winds mean that several of the trees have lost most of their leaves.  Interestingly the Melia planted where it receives the north wind has lot all its leaves and dropped all its small branches whereas the leaves of the multi-stemmed one, planted in a more sheltered position, haven’t even changed to butter yellow from green.

The flowers of the grasses especially Miscanthus sp. add so much to the garden at this time of year.  Today I planted Miscanthus gigantea, I hope it reaches its predicted three metres.  I have created a small area with Box balls behind the pomegranate with Miscanthus behind; they can only be seen from certain angles so will add a little surprise as you walk around the garden.  I’ve also been trying to plant everything that I’ve bought and not previously planted and, of course, the bulbs!  Still about 250 Tulips to go plus some Iris and 100 Gladioli byzantinus.

I think some areas are looking better now than they did in summer; I’m very pleased with the small island – it had remained rather bare, now the plants are beginning to form ‘pictures’ together, I’ve planted lots of bulbs in this bed so I’m looking forward to spring; why is it gardeners always long for the next season even when things are pretty good now?

looking west (the small island)

It is very important to me that my plants work well together and give pleasure rather than that I have rare or ‘special’ plants that only produce a few flowers because they are not in the right situation.

Plants that are perfumed at this time of year are especially appreciated; I have two different Eleagnus that fill the air around them with the most delicious perfume and attract honey bees so add sound too.

I am aware that some flowers have been present almost every Bloomday, I don’t apologise for putting them in – I feel this helps me (and maybe others) understand which plants are good value; which are worthwhile even if they are transitory; and which are really not worth the space they take up.  Click photo below to see all the flowers that are giving me such pleasure today.

Miscanthus, R. Queen of Sweden and Gaura

Thanks to Carol at May dreams gardens for hosting November Bloomday.  Why not go and check out what’s flowering around the world?

19 thoughts on “November Bloomday

  1. Your garden is looking beautiful in the sunshine. I didnt realize that eleagnus would flower in the autumn with you. I love it all year through, and have just planted a second one. Also I have protected its trunk against rabbits, as they have been spotted grazing the grass, and may think to change their diets!

    • The Eleagnus that’s flowering is the shrub not the small tree. I think it’s called E. macrophylla and it flowers in the Uk in autumn/winter too. The small tree is E. augustifolia. both are lovely plants.

  2. It’s lovely Christina, I’ve been reading ‘about’ your garden and looking over older posts! What a marvelous setting, what a fantastic garden you have created! gail

  3. Hi Christina. I agree about plant associations being really important, likewise not being able to see everything from every angle. I love a garden that entices you in to discover more. I also love seeing the same plants crop up repeatedly, as you say, it brings home how valuable they are. I always enjoy the odd accent plant that is spectacular for one brief period, but the bulk of the garden needs to work the bulk of the time. One of the problems with gardening books is that they tend to only show the plant at one point in its life-cycle, and often only a detail of it at that! So much more helpful to the novice to see how plants combine with others over the seasons.

    • It is a problem that books and some plant lablels aren’t always very helpful about how long a plant will flower, its one good reason for joining in Bloomday, it really makes you notice how long (or not so long) a plant really performs – and that can of course mean foliage too. Christina

  4. Quite agree about the value of GBBD for seeing how long plants last in flower/foliage. I like your yellow crab apple – was it easy to find / establish? I have a place where I want a group of short trees/tall shrubs as a partial screen with all year interest so this could be a candidate.
    The Chinese roses are my focus just now – I have around 25 different ones – and am trying to organise a visit to Helga Brichet’s China rose garden next spring for the MGS. Do you know her?
    Y

  5. I have plants that seem to flower for months and I wonder about including them every month but like you say they are the backbone to the garden and we should appreciate them.

    I’m planning a box ball and grass combo for part of the garden just havent quite worked out which grass yet

    • Hi Helen, It does make sense to include the long flowering plants as often something with masses of small flowers will actually give more pleasure than just one large, special flower. It also helps when you’re thinking of planting associations to know exactly when plants are in flower.

  6. I love your garden…it’s so charming! I agree with you on all counts, plants with multi-season interest are the best…and grasses are pretty much key to autumn interest.

  7. Dear Christina, your garden must be wonderful to walk in these days as well! And planting spring bulbs is as interesting as autumn blooms. Roses in your pictures are enchanting!

    I’ve invited you to a game in my post “Ten”. Hope you’ll join us.

Leave a Reply

