March – End of Month View

March has had so many flowers beginning to bloom, so much work done, so much growth on everything telling me spring really is here now and even if there are any more cold days the progress of the plants is now unstoppable.

Those of you who have been following my end of month reviews will know that I have been concentrating on the slope or bank which I planted last autumn with mainly plants that had self-seeded in the rest of the garden.  Interestingly in March’s issue of Gardenia (the Italian Gardening magazine I subscribe to) there was an article about designing a border with just plants that would self-seed; this would mean that the planting wouldn’t actually be static but change over time as plants died and new seedlings grew in slightly different places.  All the plants I’d used were mentioned and there was a list of others that I will consider using too.

The Gaura and Stipa are filling out very fast and of course the Verbena bonarienis can’t be stopped!  Artemisia pontica that was planted with the Muscari to hide their leaves when they finish flowering is emerging from the soil – I’m amazed so much is growing as only tiny pieces with a little root were taken directly from the parent plants in the Large Island Bed.  It is a bit of a thug; the underground runners spread very quickly through a border, I may remove it from the Island (if I can) and just let it colonise the slope where its ground cover properties will be most useful.  I will continue to give updates with photos of the slope as spring and summer progresses.

The stream of Muscari looking down the slope

...and up the slope

As not so much is happening on the slope I thought I’d give you a taste of the Tulips which may be my favourite flower (if it isn’t Wisteria).  With the warm weather this week many of the tulips have stated to flower, next week I’ll post more with their names and where they are in the garden but for now just enjoy!

Clematis armandii and Tulip Negrita, with the about to flower Wisteria in the background

Last year's T. Negrita reflowering as well as first time around

Water Lilly type

I expect I’ll be blogging almost every day with Tulips and, I hope, Wisteria during April.

Next to the warm brick pillars the wisteria is nearly fully out - you can smell the perfume.

A shame I won't see these flower

Looking accross the garden from the drive

A big thank you to Helen, the Patient Gardener for thinking up the idea of this meme and keeping it up (and reminding me it was the end of the month by posting her review last night).  Visit her and see what’s happening in other bloggers’ gardens.

And finally, next month for the end of month review my intention is to tell you about a part of the garden I’ve never even mentioned before – an area outside the garden proper that has always been abandoned – it is covered with brambles, weed trees and is where the fox likes to dig his holes.   I want to make a little orchard here as it is protected from the north wind by the tuffo block.

It is also where there is an Etruscan tomb with a domus leading to it

……and also where the stone blocks that our house is built from were cut.

&copyCopyright 2011
Christina.
All rights reserved.
Content created by Christina for
My Hesperides Garden.

7 thoughts on “March – End of Month View

  1. Arn’t tulips the loveliest things? Ours are just beginning, but very little colour yet.The recent rain has encouraged them. Your Negrita are beautiful. The prospect of a little orchard is exciting.

    • Yes, I just love Tulips, more and more each year. I’m very excited about getting to grips with this part of the garden, I feel it has been wasted space until now. I’m hoping I will be able to plant some fruit trees in the autumn. Christina

  2. Your tulips are glorious Christina, as is the blooming wisteria. I’m amazed at how much the slope has filled out in just a few months – most of them winter! I’m still learning about gardening with tulips, so I will be watching your garden unfold this Spring with great interest – just wish I could smell that wisteria…

    • Hi Janet, Tulips re-flower much better here in Italy, at least in the areas where I don’t irrigate. As you can see the Negrita are as good and I think there are as many as last year. In the UK I treated them as annuals and usually planted them in pots for ease of planting.

  3. You have a beautiful and interesting garden. For some reason I didn’t realise before you were in Italy. My garden in Northern Ireland is surrounded by fields as well and I find i constantly fight the weed battle. I look forward to visiting your garden. All the best, Kelli.

    • Living or rather gardening with the countryside around definately does have its negative sides too, wind blown weed seed is the obvious draw back. Last autumn I began mulching all the borders and that has helped a lot; the slope is a big problem because it is too steep to mulch and is the closest to the west from where all the summer weed-seed laiden wind comes from – I will keep commenting on what happens. My plan is to have so many plants very tightly spaced so that there is no room for the weeds!

  4. I’m very envious of your lovely Muscari drifts. I’ve been trying to persuade mine to drift but they just sit and sulk. I’ll go and threaten them instead….

Leave a Reply

