Alliums and Roses

Sorry, I know I promised to post about Tulips combinations to hide their foliage but the roses are beginning to flower and are filling the garden with their perfume; I just have to share them with you.

I have to admit that in England, where every Italian thinks they must be perfect, I was never very successful with roses.  Here is different; they grow more quickly, have the long hot summer for their ‘wood’ to harden’ and dry summers that don’t encourage black spot or other fungal-type diseases.  They do begin to flower early, last year some began at the end of March.  This year it was mid-April when the first buds opened especially for GBBD.  Now Rosa mutabilis is full of colour and on still days gives off a delicious perfume.

R. mutabilis

They are forming a hedge between the drive where we park and the vegetable garden.

These images are the end of April.  Next into flower were R. Conrad F Meyer and R. Stanwell perpetual.  Both are in the Triangular Rose bed that links into the walled bed you can see above.

R. Conrad F Meyer

Stanwell perpetual opens pale pink but quickly fades to white. This is a very generous rose with masses of blooms over a long flowering season.

R. Molineux also opens early and last year (its first year) surprised me by how long it flowered.

Allium roseum, just opening

The first R. veichenblau, possibly my favourite rose

What is giving me most pleasure at the moment is R. Rimosa (known in the US as climbing Gold Badge and in the rest of the world as Climbing Gold Bunny) it is planted on 4 of the pillars at the front of the house along with Wisteria prolific, which I’m sure you saw in my earlier posts.  I choose this rose because at the nursery, when I saw it in mid-September it was flowering right from the base, and that is just what it is doing now, it has even grown taller than I imagined it would and it has linked up to form an arch of roses when I look out of the sitting room or kitchen windows.  This too is delicately perfumed.

Looking out at the sheep

Looking down from my bedroom window

Rosa Rimosa

When I planted this rose with the wisteria I did think they might flower together creating a good contrast, but usually the wisteria has more or less finished before the rose comes out.  It does make an interesting combination with the Perovskia when it re-flowers in autumn.

The old cliché of the roses around the door

Enough of the roses for now; A friend posted about her alliums this morning and I was surprised that hers, in North Devon, were at exactly the same stage as mine here in Lazio.

Allium Mount Everest in the small island bed

A solitary Allium Schubertii

The garden is the most full and colourful I’ve ever seen or even dreamed it could be!  (the downside might be that in autumn many plants will have outgrown their space and need to be moved) but at present I’m just enjoying the show.

The slope with Allium Purple Sensation and European and Californian poppies

You can see a wind sown Verbascum – I’ve never seen one with such large leaves – it will grow as big as the new tree next to it (Persimmon)

To finish and a reminder of the wildlife I love to see in the garden here is a lacewing and 2 blue butterflies doing what butterflies do!

A Daddy Long Legs feeds on a Euphorbia.

&©Copyright 2011
Christina.
All rights reserved.
Content created by Christina for
My Hesperides Garden.

21 thoughts on “Alliums and Roses

  1. How beautiful your roses and alliums are; I can’t do well with either, unfortunately. The ‘roses round the door’ thing may be a cliché, but it’s popular for a reason, I think – it really works. Sigh…

  2. Your garden is gorgeous! I love that yellow Rimosa Rose, it’s a beauty. My Roses are just starting to put on their spring show. 🙂

  3. The title of this post sounds like my husband and I. He loves his roses while I love the bulb flowers. The climbing roses that we have aren’t in bloom yet although there are rosebuds on the vines, so as soon as the tulip show is over it’ll be their turn to shine!

  4. So beautiful Christina, I love the alliums and poppies on the slope, and have filed Roas Rimosa away for future reference, MIL loves yellow, and a rose that can be trained over a pergola and flower from the base sounds perfect. Worth a bit of moving around later in the year to have such glorious colour now.

  5. Your garden looks wonderful.
    You asked if I had bought irises mail order – I havent. My newest ones are from Claire Austen but I either bought them at shows or at her nursery. Quality very good.
    I have had plants (not iris) mail order from Wottens and they was fabulous, really well packaged – I am pretty sure they have a really good selection of irises

    • Thanks for the info. Helen; I’ll look at those sites. I ought to be able to find some good ones here as the climate is perfect for them. Christina

  6. I must admit to not having roses however I think after reading this I will, I remember at a show smelling one that smelled like suncream, think I will look for that one first. I love your garden and can’t wait to see it’s progress throughout the year!!

  7. Hello again Christina, I had to come back for this post. I too love alliums in my garden although mine are a bit behind you at just beginning to open now – starting with Purple Sensation. I have Christophii and keep meaning to add Schubertii every time I see it. Maybe next year 😉

    I’m enjoying these views of your garden too. I’m not really a rose fan but Climbing Gold Bunny does look good flowering from the bottom. Veichenblau also caught my eye. Roses aren’t out up our way 🙂

    Wishing you a good weekend… watch your back too 🙂

    • Hi Shirl, I wasn’t such a fan of roses when I lived in England but they grow so well here, I am really enjoying seeing how quickly they grow. Christina

  8. Your garden has transported me to a place of dreams and romance! How gorgeous it all is. The yellow rose climbing up and over the door is a fantasy come true! The last two photos are icing on the cake and made me smile. Thanks so much for sharing your paradise with us.

  9. Your roses and alliums are beautiful. What splendid garden views you have! I love the purple alliums with the poppies and the yellow rose around the door. I hadn’t heard of that rose before but what a strong butter yellow color it has. Marvelous.

  10. Christina, you have one of the most beautiful gardens I’ve ever seen online–perfect for your climate, muted, intelligently designed and planted. The painterly colors and forms you have chosen meld perfectly with the stone and sky. I think a stroll through your garden at dawn or dusk might well be the most civilized human endeavor possible here on earth.

Leave a Reply

