September GBBD

Carol at Maydreamsgarden hosts this brilliant meme that shows what is in bloom in gardens around the world on the 15th of the month.  When you’ve finished looking at what’s flowering in my Hesperides Garden do visit Carol to see other seasons, other flowers and other ideas; why not join in?  It is fun to see how some plants are present everywhere and others only appear in one or two places.

For me it helps me know which plants flower together and exactly how long they flower for.  This is so helpful when deciding if a plant is worth the space it is allocated.  As water is at such a premium here it also helps to know what effect the weather is having on flowering etc.  So while I find GBBD really interesting I try to always join in because it is good discipline for me.

When I wrote August’s GBBD we hadn’t had the usual hot summer weather – the temperatures changed on 16th August!  Two weeks or scorching temperatures 38° C plus during the day and the night-time temps, only falling by about 10°C followed.  The usual September rain hasn’t arrived, morning and evenings are cooler again (25 – 27°C) but during the days it is very hot and humid.  The humidity does mean there is a little moisture in the air that the plants can make use of, but I have only moved plants I know won’t suffer without water for a while.  Sowing seeds should be good as the soil in their trays warms up quickly; Some Hemerocallis I planted straight from the seed pod have germinated, I don’t know how true to the parent they will be, but it will be interesting to find out.

Circular Rose bed, Gaura has taken over

All four types of rose in the above bed (William Shakespeare, Tradescant, Queen of Sweden and Sophie’s Perpetual) have been flowering more or less all summer.  They have irrigation three times a week.  The amount of water is a key issue.  The irrigations tube to one of the pillars around the terrace was broken for a week or so which meant that that pillar’s rose was receiving much more water then I intended.  But that is the only one of the Yellow roses to flower during August and into September so it proves to me that if I want all my roses to flower more I have to give them more water or accept that they will flower in spring, with maybe a second flush and then no more until the autumn rains arrive.

R. Tradescant

R. William Shakespeare

R. Sophie's Perpetual

R, Queen of Sweden

The cooler weather does mean that R. Mutabilis has all colours of flowers together in high summer all are crimson.

R. Mutabilis

As you’ll see if you click on the image below to see a slideshow of everything in flower there are a few surprises.  The prostrate rosemary has flowers (normally this is during winter) and although there are some flowers on the Asters they aren’t at all in full bloom yet; maybe they will be for October’s GBBD.  Have a great day wherever you are.

Look carefully at the Californian poppy, I think a yellow spider is eating a fly, I didn’t even notice it when I took the photo.

If you would like to join me on the 22nd October I’ll be posting about Foliage in the garden, a new meme I hope you’ll join in.

28 thoughts on “September GBBD

  1. What an amazing selection of flowers, your garden must look really wonderful. Loved your Sophie’s Perpetual rose, unusual with its 2 tone pink colouring. We too have a yellow crab spider which lies in wait for its next meal usually on the rose Graham Thomas , also have a white one, I believe they can change colour, caught the yellow one eating a honey bee! We are on a water meter here so hardly any watering gets done in the garden, only tubs, hanging baskets and anything that is obviously desperate and this water comes from our water butts. We save as much as we can, when they are full it is 500 gallons, but this soon goes in a dry spell so I’m afraid roses and everything else have to cope as best they can. At least I am on heavy clay but even so, I would hate anyone to see the garden in August !!

    • Hi Pauline, looking more closely at the yellow spider I think it is eating a small solitary bee rather than a fly, so maybe that’s what they like. Interesting that your’s is also usually an a yellow flower. Christina

  2. Christina, your garden in always charming to me. I loved the yellow spider too! Beautiful asters, especially the white double one and the tiny purple centered one (a. laterifolius maybe?). What kind of malus do you have? Is it a red or a yellow fruited variety?

    • Hi Alberto, yes the aster is A latifolius diverticula it is hopefully growing to be a small hedge near the quince; I saw it used as low hedging years ago at Great Dixter. I have 2 crab apples (we call them) one is yellow and has dropped most of the fruit already, the other will turn red and usually stays on the tree for most of the winter. They need a cold winter to set fruit well so I don’t get fruit every year. Christina

  3. Happy GBBD Christina. I am going to have to come back to the slide show to be able to enjoy it properly, I always look forward to it. Crazy weather you have been having! I must admit I hate high humidity, but I can appreciate that your plants would enjoy it. I don’t envy you having to decide how much to water your roses. So tempting to water lots, if it means getting months of flowers like those, but at the same time hard to justify environmentally. Are you on a water meter? We are, and it makes me a miser when it comes to the garden!

    • Hi Janet, We have a well for all of our water; it is very deep so the cost of pumping it up the 100 m, then around the garden is significant. So the watering regime will probably stay as it is and I’ll enjoy the roses less of the time but that just makes them more special. Christina

  4. How strange that your Rosemary is flowering, it must be very confused. I do like your roses, I want to get more for my garden

  5. Christina,

    I love, love the Gaura. I should think about adding some to my garden. I killed it once long ago in a different location.

    Your roses are amazing! I hope I have to room to plant dozens of Austin shrub roses someday.

    Thank you also for your very kind comments at WMG. I love your garden – design and plantings – and feel honored that you can appreciate my tiny town garden as well.

    Happy GBBD!
    Julie

  6. Some lovely roses, and the opening shot of your gaura is wonderful. I have planted out a few small plants raised from seed, I hope that they thrive like yours, though have my suspicions that our heavy clay and the wet winters here will conspire against me.
    Funny what we see in pictures that we don’t notice with the eye, I usually spot snails somewhere they shouldn’t be…
    Sara

    • Hi Sara, the Gaura produced masses of seedlings last year, I hope they manage the same this year. Not all survived by that was mainly due to the unexpected hot spring. I hope yours do well. Christina

  7. Hi Christina,
    This is June. I love looking at your blog. It always brings back such happy memories of my holidays with you both and I am most impressed how the garden has progressed since I was last with you.

  8. from ken. Some of your flickr photos are on their side. But great you can place a hyperlink to flickr. I must find out how you do that in wordpress. It is an effective way of showing more photos. I’m impressed how disciplined you are in keeping your blog going. Makes for a wonderful record.

    • Hi Ken. Yes, I know about the photos sadly Flickr isn’t so user friendly so that although I’ve turned the photos in my editor they turn back again in Flickr and it takes ages to do them individually on line so my apologies. Christina

  9. I absolutely loved your slide show. Such gorgeous photos!

    That is definitely a white flower spider (Misumena vatia) eating a fly on that yellow blossom..

    Yes, I know the white flower spider is yellow. That’s because this spider has the ability to change color to bright yellow in order to be able to blend in with the color of the blooms so they aren’t visible to predators.

    I don’t like spiders but I wrote about them earlier this summer here:

    http://thewiedersgarden.blogspot.com/2011/07/spiders-and-snakes.html

  10. Love your roses, Christina… and I envy you the California poppy! After 4 years of trying, I’ve given up on the thought of being able to grow them here. 🙂

    While you’re plotting your new foliage meme, you should check out Pam @ Digging (in Austin, Texas)… she hosts a “Foliage Follow-Up” on the day after each Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day. She usually has a great round up of inspirational posts that you might enjoy!

    • Thanks Kim, I will include a link to Pam’s post. I know for some, including me that 2 posts in 2 days is impossible so I hope we can cover everyone by me doing a post on the 22nd of each month. Christina

Leave a Reply

