May Feast- Roses around the door

Well, actually not around the door but growing on the pillars supporting the pergola around the terrace and up across the front beam so forming an arch to frame the windows.

When I had decided that I wanted roses to grow on the pillars I went to trusted, local nursery in September and again in October to see which roses continued to produce blooms right down to the base even late in the season.  The only variety that did this and was a good colour to combine with Wisteria ‘Prolific’ was Climbing Rimosa.

This is the view I have from the kitchen window

Looking down onto the top of the pergola and beyond to the foraml garden

The shrub version was introduce in 1979 by Meilland and known in France (and it seems Italy) as Rimosa 79; in the US it is known as Gold badge and in the rest of the world (rather strangely for a large flowered rose) Gold Bunny.  In 1986 a climbing version was introduced with the same good repeat flowering habit and named Grimpant Rimosa, climbing Gold Badge or climbing Gold Bunny.  It is a floribunda type and is particularly good in hot climates.  It is one of the earliest roses to flower in my garden.

14th April, one of the first blooms with Wisteria ‘Prolific’

Beautiful in bud and as it opens. The blooms are also excellent at resisting strong winds – vital in my garden.

From the gravel path looking along the pillars

Looking along the pillars from on the terrace

12 thoughts on “May Feast- Roses around the door

  1. What a great way to choose a rose! Thanks for the tip. I thought your rose looked familiar, although I didn’t recognise the name. Then I read on. It’s known here as Gold Bunny and if I ever see a healthy, well-flowered yellow climbing rose, it always turns out to be this one. I wish I had a spot for it.

  2. You have certainly chosen a good one, it looks lovely with your Wisteria, such a beautiful view from your kitchen!

  3. I love yellow mixed with pale blue or lavender! It may become a little too much bold and maybe boring somehow I probably use it too much these two colours! Your wisteria doesn’t last long enough to bore though so I guess this is a very happy match! I’m looking forward to have a little pergola too, I feel like sitting down under your beautiful gold bunny (I like this name!) with a cold drink and relax…

Leave a Reply

