Plant of the Day – Sedum

In truth Sedum is a plant that gives pleasure over a very long season, not just for a day.  The newly emerging foliage in early spring already adds beauty to the planting scheme.  I like the thick, moisture retaining leaves; I like their colours which range from bright green to bluish to purple.

By Mid-September the flower heads are present but they take a while to actually open, several weeks even.  Bees and butterflies find them irresistible.  Better still it is so easy to take cuttings, pieces of stem or leaves will all grow to produce new plants if just pushed into some sharp compost.  The cuttings I took early this year are even flowering; I’ll be planting them all this week.

Sedum spectabilis ‘Iceberg’

Sedum spectabilis ‘Iceberg’ – I like the pure white flower

…and that all the parts of the flower are white, so not distracting from the overall effect

This was given to me by a friend, who doesn’t know the variety – it is one of my favourites, bright green foliage, bright pink flower heads that change to a satisfying deep red.

Starry flowers attract bees and butterflies

Sedum Matrona combines well with grasses, here with Penesetum villosa in the small island and Stipa tenussima

I’m not so sure about the colour combination of purple leaves and ‘brown’ flowers in I think S. ‘Purple Emperor’

Two varieties (one is S. Matrona) mixed with Miscanthus and ground cover Verbena in the LHB.

22 thoughts on “Plant of the Day – Sedum

  1. Thank you for reminding me of the other values of Sedum, I should be more grateful towards mine. I have only one large variety which I think is the same as your pink which turns very dark as it matures. It does not attract the butterflies and bees in the garden, I do not understand as they literally fly past it. I love your Iceberg. I also have smaller varieties in the rockery which I appreciate for their flowers and tenacity.

  2. I will agree Christina that Sedum is a wonderful plant and so easy to make new plants. We all know that they like sun and well drained soil, somehow I have quite a lot in the shade on top of the underground stream! They can only have come via the compost, from when I have cut others back. They are doing really well but I think they should be moved to the bed I am re-doing at the moment. Your white one looks lovely so I think I will include that as well!

    • I think they are adaptable plants that will grow almost anywhere. In wetter conditions they can flop as I mentioned in my comment to a French garden, below. Christina

  3. They are lovely at this time of year. Your pink one reminds me of our ones, which I think are S. spectabile Autumn Joy, turning a lovely dark red as autumn proceeds. Ours are always covered in bees and butterflies, standing room only. Your white one is pretty too, the flowers look fluffy from a distance. I keep toying with adding a different one, haven’t decided which yet, but I think one of the darker ones (though perhaps not with brown flowers!).

    • Yes – they’re Autumn Joy – we have tons of them in Western PA. When they dry on the stems – I spray paint them for winter. Yes – I leave them outside, and they look like they’re blooming! It doesn’t hurt them at all, I cut in Spring and they come back with a vengence!

  4. They’re great plants, although they don’t do as well in my heavy clay as they do with a more open soil. But they are insect magnets! There are insects I have only ever seen here on the Sedums, no other flowers, so they’re worth growing from the point of biodiversity alone.

  5. I especially like the white sedum, I don’t have this in my garden but I’m very tempted after seeing it and hearing that it attracts bees and butterflies.

  6. Sedums are wonderful, provided you prevent them from becoming too leggy. The appearance of the rosettes of new leaves appear in Spring is always a magical moment. Had completely forgotten about “Iceburg”, which is ridiculous, so thank you for the reminder, it would be perfect in the front garden.

Leave a Reply

