First Tulips

Yesterday the sun shone and the first tulips of 2013 opened!  I am so happy!

The first tulip opens in 2013 - T. Persian

The first tulip opens in 2013 – T. Persian Pearl

Not just one, and doen't the new foliage of Sedum Matrona look nice with them

Not just one, and doesn’t the new foliage of Sedum Matrona look nice with them

Hyacinth Miss Saigon is opening more each day too

Hyacinth Miss Saigon is opening more each day too

Today is not sunny, this morning was grey and this afternoon there is steady gentle rain (good for the garden unlike the heavy rain and horizontal winds at the weekend) so the tulips aren’t open but Hyacinth Miss Saigon is opening more each day.

Thank you all for your response to my appeal for a plant ID.  Here is an image of the foliage so that even though the stems didn’t exude an orange liquid it seems clear this is a Celandine, just that it has pointier petals than any of the images I saw when searching.

Here's the foliage of the flower I posted about 2 days ago

Here’s the foliage of the flower I posted about 2 days ago

Talking of foliage just a quick reminder that it is GBFD on Friday 22nd please feel free to join in with anything that takes your fancy foliage-wise.

28 thoughts on “First Tulips

  1. Love these bulbs and am grateful someone has blooms to gaze upon. Cannot believe we are getting so much late season snow. The 8 inches from yesterday is supposed to be added to the next few days so I don’t see spring coming much before Easter weekend. We might even top out at 19 or 20 feet…amazing. That will teach us to have an early warm spring again like last year. 🙂

  2. Such pretty tulips, matching your anemones! We too have hyacinths just about flowering, but they still look a bit cold, they are reluctant to open! Glad you have sorted out your celandine, the leaves certainly clinched it.

        • Splitting, or producing outer bulb lets is natures way to increasing numbers of many bulbs, but the hybrids often stop flowering and just produce foliage, that’s why you read about everyone dividing their snowdrops etc. it isn’t worth the time and effort to lift and divide the tulips as they probably still wouldn’t flower, can’t decide whether I should plant more. C

  3. How beautiful. My species tulips are just leaf tips, but the older established tulips that I inherited are beginning to threaten to flower. I even have some with stripy leaves, which I shall share on 22nd. Very wrong looking to my eyes, but I love that deep purpley-pink of your wide-open tulips.

    • I love this strong magenta pink, like the Anemone and these tulips, this little section of the garden is now designed to give me this colour through to autumn, hopefully. C

  4. It’s such a stunning colour. I have some similar although their name escapes me at the moment. They aren’t flowering though. It’s been much too cold for that. In fact, like Janet, mine are only just poking through the surface of the soil. I’m getting very impatient now waiting for some true signs of spring.

Leave a Reply

