More Irises and a correction

Here are some more of the Irises flowering at the moment in the garden.  I needed to check on the name of some of the ones I bought from Cayeux at Courson last autumn.  I incorrectly labelled one yesterday, I’ll go back and correct it and show it again here with the correct name.  When I checked on the Cayeux website I found about 15 warm tone yellow tall bearded iris so that although I knew the names of the ones I purchased it was still difficult to be sure that I was even sold the correct ones!

Iris Grand Canari, planted close to Rosa Molineux, almost exactly the same colour

Iris Grand Canari, planted close to Rosa Molineux, almost exactly the same colour

Above is the real Grand Canari. Below is the iris I featured yesterday and is Iris Dear Jean, sorry for the confusion.

Iris Dear Jean just unfurling

Iris Dear Jean just unfurling

Iris Dear Jean

Iris Dear Jean

Iris Dear Jean

Iris Dear Jean

Iris Chelsea Blue

Iris Chelsea Blue

Iris Chelsea Blue

Iris Chelsea Blue

The above is a real beauty; I can’t wait for this to increase.  At the moment it is in a bed near the vegetable garden, when there is a big enough clump I will plant somewhere much more prominent.

Iris Rustic Jewel

Iris Rustic Jewel

Iris Rustic Jewel

Iris Rustic Jewel

Iris Rustic Jewel

Iris Rustic Jewel

Iris Rustic Jewel is in the large Island, it seems that I am putting a lot of my Irises there.

What’s flowering today in your garden?  Do you have any special treasures that you want to share?

14 thoughts on “More Irises and a correction

  1. Fabulous photos again! My tulips are flowering nicely at the moment – I will post some pictures soon. I have one early iris which is pale yellow and very short. No idea of the name! The others still need a while to flower. It is nice to know the names of them all, to be able to recommend them, but at the end of the day they are all lovely. The Dear Jean one is my favourite of those you’ve shown so far – I think! 😀

  2. Normally I am not a big fan of two coloured iris (I mean one colour above and another contrasting one below) and I always think ‘how could you pair that iris with anything else in the garden?’ But I must admit that all the grey and lushness of leaves you have in your garden mediate quite enough even to the more bizarre tints. I like the idea of mixing iris and roses of the same colour. I guess Molineaux isn’t in bloom yet, will they catch up?

    • I agree I’m not always a fan of all the strange combinations, but I do like two different tones of one colour. R. Molineux is already in flower I just took the picture from the wrong angle. I’ll post one of them together next time. Christina

  3. I have some sweet miniature iris blossoming. One is blue and white and the other is a soft yellow. 6 – 8 inches tall. Neither are named because they were gifts from friend’s gardens. Much of my garden reminds me of the people who shared their plants with me. Keeps their memory in my heart. How do I post photos to your blog? Or into this comment?

    • I only have one miniature one and that came and went in a week, but again it is new so may last longer when there are more. sorry I don’t know how to post photos to comments. Christina

  4. Your photographs are just wonderful of these pretty treasures and make me want to start ordering more irises. Each one is admirable in its own way. Iris Rustic Jewel is so richly colored, very appropriately named.

    • Rustic Jewel was another from a friends garden. This weekend he’s opening his garden to see and buy his Iris in aid of a dog charity he’s involved with. Maybe I’ll add to my collection….. Christina

  5. I’ve grown tulip ‘Verona’ for the first time this year and it’s a stunner. A beautiful ivory colour that fades to the colour of butter, frilly and slightly scented.

  6. What a splendid iris collection you have! The colors are literally mouth-watering. They look so happy in your garden – they obviously love your soil!

  7. Wow! you have a wonderful selection of varieties. I think I like ‘Grand Canari’ and ‘Dear Jean’ best – ‘Dear Jean looks like she is looking through yellow eyeglasses.

Leave a Reply

