New Iris purchases

Yesterday afternoon I went to visit an open garden!  For UK readers it  will seem strange that I put an explanation mark, but here in Italy visiting a private garden is unusual and even it a garden is open it is often a disappointment; yesterday was not a disappointment at all.  The garden was open for Charity (again UK readers will not think this exceptional); the garden is planted in English style but with the addition of many plants that are more adapted to the climate here in central Italy.

When they moved from England they bought many plants with them including some Irises, which have been added to over the years.  Many Irises were also for sale (again the proceeds going to support a dog rescue charity based in the area).

Did I succumb to buying more Irises?  Yes, of course I did!  Because they were lovely and because it was a good cause.

Here’s what I bought.

Iris 'Hoist the Sails'

Iris ‘Hoist the Sails’

Iris 'Fair Rosalind'

Iris ‘Fair Rosalind’

Iris 'Brassero' - I did n't actually buy this one but I thought you'd like to see it anyway.

Iris ‘Brassero’ – I think this will be good cut in the sitting room.

unnamed peach, I'm not so sure where I will plant this one but it is so lovely I couldn't resisit it.

unnamed peach, I’m not so sure where I will plant this one but it is so lovely I couldn’t resisit it.

I also bought a dwarf variety that I didn’t photograph because they were flowering in the pot, today the flowers have already dropped but the colour was similar to I. Rustic Jewel that I showed the other day. If it flowers again I’ll post it and ask for an ID.

17 thoughts on “New Iris purchases

  1. Love the first one, Hoist the Sails, do any of them have any perfume, I was very pleasantly surprised with one I bought last year that had a stunning perfume? So glad you enjoyed your day garden visiting!

  2. Oooh, I sympathize completely with your love of Irises. I succumb to their lure every year, but really, I fear ending up with a garden overwhelmed by Irises and little else! However, I think you’ve convinced me to add some more this year.

    • Yes, there is that fear but as I love the foliage too and they grow easily here with little work from me, there is still room for a few more to prolong the season. Christina

  3. It must be so interesting to visit a local garden to see what things they have chosen that are a success. I can understand you being tempted by the iris. I read the comment above and I would love to hear about perfumed irises as I never had associated them with a perfume.

  4. Your irises look beautiful, I can see you are really taken with these irises, aren’t you?! 🙂
    But you will going to make a post on the garden you visited, right?

      • Christina, I think that is nice and respectful, I sometimes see things that would take interesting rustic photos but I don’t as I see it as an invasion of privicy, we have to think about what we post of other people and their lives,

        sounds like you had a wonderful time, lovely purchases and helping a good cause, a perfect day, Frances

  5. Your recent acquisitions are great Christina! Each is very different. I’ve always liked irises but this year I am smitten and feel I must have more. Susie

  6. Glad to hear you got in a spot of garden visiting. It’s strange what we take for granted in Britain. We lived in Germany for a while and were so frequently disappointed when we visited places that were the equivalent of our National Trust. The gardens could never compare which was strange because a lot of Germans love gardens. Maybe it has changed over the last 10 years. Anyway, gorgeous irises. Still waiting for mine to show.

    • I’d say not being able to visit gardens is the thing I miss most about living the UK. There you could visit a new garden every day for the rest of your life and probably not see them all! Christina

Leave a Reply

