GBBD – May Profusion

I usually try to post every bloom there is in the garden for GBBD (for my own record of what is flowering if nothing else), but I’m beaten today!  There are just too many flowers and to be truthful even though I love every single bloom it is the overall effect of the garden that is giving me the most joy.

I will try to post about more of the flowers individually during the next month. Cistus, Eschscholzia californica (and not just orange), Roses, Iris – all deserve their own post.

Thanks to Carol for hosting.  You might want to peek over the garden wall at some blooms in other gardens so do visit Carol at MayDreamsgarden.

So here (grab a cup of tea maybe) is My Hesperides Garden on GBBD in May.  I hope your gardens are giving you as much pleasure as mine is to me, happy bloom day.

Rosa mutabilis on the wall that divides the vegetable garden from the drive

Rosa mutabilis on the wall that divides the vegetable garden from the drive

Large Island

Large Island

Iris Kent Pride with white blotched with brown Cistus

Iris Kent Pride with white blotched with brown Cistus

Philadelpus scenting the garden

Philadelpus scenting the garden

Iris Before the Storm with Eschscholzia californica

Iris Before the Storm with Eschscholzia californica

The slope

The slope

This cistus is one I took as a cutting

This cistus is one I took as a cutting

The slope

The slope

The slope

The slope

Eschscholzia californica, on the slope

Eschscholzia californica, on the slope

20130514_9999_43 20130514_9999_42 20130514_9999_41 20130514_9999_40 20130514_9999_39 20130514_9999_38

Buddleia alternifolia, I am tryijng to train as a weeping tree

Buddleia alternifolia, I am tryijng to train as a weeping tree

20130514_9999_36 20130514_9999_35 20130514_9999_34

The pillars on the west facing side of the terrace with Rosa Clair Matin

The pillars on the west facing side of the terrace with Rosa Clair Martin

My favourite rose

My favourite rose

Rosa Romosa, South facing Terrace

Rosa Rimosa, South facing Terrace

20130514_9999_30

Large Island

Large Island

Large Island

Large Island

Large Island

Large Island

20130514_9999_26

Large Island

Large Island

Large Island looking towards the formal beds

Large Island looking towards the formal beds

Large Island

Large Island

20130514_9999_22 20130514_9999_21 20130514_9999_20 20130514_9999_19

Looking along the back border from under the fig

Looking along the back border from under the fig

20130514_9999_16

Looking from under Mulberry along the back bed

Looking from under Mulberry along the back bed

Left Hand Border

Left Hand Border

Under Mulberry

Under Mulberry

Left Hand Border

Left Hand Border

Left Hand Border

Left Hand Border

Left hand border

Left hand border

20130514_9999_9 20130514_9999_8 20130514_9999_7

Rosa Stanwell's perpetual, Triangular rose bed

Rosa Stanwell’s perpetual, Triangular rose bed

Sambucus with lovely dark foliage, Triangular rose bed

Sambucus with lovely dark foliage, Triangular rose bed

Triangular rose bed

Triangular rose bed

Triangular rose bed

Triangular rose bed

Triangular rose bed

Triangular rose bed

Triangular rose bed

Triangular rose bed

The quality of the images isn’t as good as usual as today was very sunny but rain is forecast for tomorrow so I needed to get them today.

42 thoughts on “GBBD – May Profusion

  1. I enjoyed seeing your garden from these varied perspectives. Your black or deep purple iris in “Iris Before the Storm with Eschscholzia californica” is remarkable.

  2. Wow! I drank my whole cup of tea while perusing that. Your garden is just amazing. I especially love the black-purple irises among the bright california poppies – popping color. And what roses!

    • Thank you for the ‘stunning’; I have some help with the heavy work, cutting the hedges including the lavender and with the preparation of new beds. I do all the planting, dividing, pruning and care of the wisteria etc. Christina

  3. You’ve left me breathless Christina – what a magnificent garden! I particularly love the slope with grasses and californian poppies sweeping across it. And the allium are also very effective. Admirable and impressive! Thanks for sharing – your garden is very inspiring!

    • Thank you Cathy, I love the bank almost more than any other part of the garden and it is almost all self seeders from other parts of the garden; I also like that it changes every year as different plants make themselves visible. Christina

  4. wow that’s just a fabulous garden! Loved seeing how you grow the grasses in between the plants too in those large drifts especially all those poppies. My garden in Scotland is tiny compared to yours and I’ve most done close up photos as so much is still to appear as we’re about 6 weeks late with the season.

    • I usually take close-ups too, but this month there are just too many things blooming. For most of spring we’ve been behind a couple of weeks but it seems to have caught up suddenly, hence the vast amount of flowers. Christina

  5. Couldn’t wait to get a cup of tea, I knew I was in for a treat Christina. Your garden is fabulous and your slope just amazing, no wonder you love to be in it. Showing us long views gives us more of an idea as to how your garden is laid out and how you put plants together forming lovely tapestries of foliage, it’s a delight!

  6. I now wish I took a cup of tea too…
    There is only one word for your garden now and it’s A W E S O M E
    I loved in particular the pictures with the dark iris, californian poppies and stipa, I think dark purple/black is the perfect match to orange (also with the physocarpus in the other picture it is perfect indeed!), very fresh and new.
    Another perfect match, much more subtle though is the iris Kent’s Pride with that white cistus. Brava!

  7. E’ vero che quando è molto soleggiato le foto risultano più piatte, ma la bellezza del tuo giardino si vede lo stesso; anche a me piace molto la foto con le iris scure e la stipa; trovo che la stipa sia uno sfondo luminoso perfetto per far risaltare alcune fioriture dai colori particolari.

    • Nel clima adatta la Stipa è una pianta che abbina benissimo con tante alte piante. La Gaura, Tulipani, Perovskia, etc.etc. però è anche molto bello piantando da sole in un contesto dove il vento soffia. Christina

  8. Really beautiful. I’m envious that you look like you’ve got summer whilst spring has been such a struggle here. Such gorgeous vibrant colours I can feel the warmth coming through my computer screen.

    • that was on the day I took the photos the last two days have been overcaste, cold and many gardens have plants blown over by the strong winds from an unusual direction (south). Not that I am complaining, we have at least had some beautiful days. Christina

  9. I have loved Iris Kent Pride for a while and you have just made me more determined to get some. Like lots of other people, I love that black iris with the Californian poppies – a knockout combination. Enjoy all your wonderful flowers!

Leave a Reply

