Blue Suede Shoes

No, not my preferred footwear when gardening but another Iris I bought from Cayeux while at the Courson plant fair last autumn.

For its first year it produced just one stem, nothing very special about that except that to begin it had 5 flowers open at the same time, spectacular, I was imagining future years when with more stems it would be amazing especially planted near the paler blue I. Jane Philips; the flowers dies back, again no surprise there but then and this, to me, was astounding it produced another 6 or seven flowers again all open at the same time!

Iris Blue Suede Shoes

Iris Blue Suede Shoes

Iris Blue Suede Shoes

Iris Blue Suede Shoes

Iris Blue Suede Shoes

Iris Blue Suede Shoes

Iris Blue Suede Shoes

Iris Blue Suede Shoes

Iris Blue Suede Shoes

Iris Blue Suede Shoes

Iris Blue Suede Shoes second flowers

Iris Blue Suede Shoes second flowers

Iris Blue Suede Shoes second flowers

Iris Blue Suede Shoes second flowers

I am so happy I bought this Iris.

Is there a purchase you’re particularly pleased with?

Don’t forget Garden Bloggers Foliage Day (GBFD) on the 22nd.  I know you all have so many flowers at the moment you’re not thinking about the foliage but if you do, I think you might be surprised.

23 thoughts on “Blue Suede Shoes

  1. Wow! What spectacular photos of Blue Suede Shoes. I might try to find that one for my garden. Hope I can find it. Marion

  2. That is one luscious iris. Regarding my recent purchases, I’d say wall iris, even though it hasn’t bloomed yet. However, I just planted it last fall, and I can already see it has quite a few flower buds.

  3. Beautiful photographs and a really spectacular iris. Apart from all the other things the colour is a very rich blue. I haven’t bought anything for a while but as I am in the UK, I might be tempted.

    • The company I mentioned Cayeux also sell by mail order. They are based in France so the postage should’nt be high as they are usually sold as corms, Christina.

    • As much as I would like to accept your praise, I don’t think it has anything to do with my skill as a gardener, I think it is the quality of this particular iris. It would be good to hear if it grows as well for other people. Christina

  4. You certainly got plenty of iris for your pennies! Amazing that it has so many flowers all at the same time, such a beautiful blue too, thanks for sharing it with us.

    • I do think that blogging is a great way to spread the word about especially good plants; you can’t always believe everything you read in magazines or certainly not in catelogues! Everyone should share good as well as bad news. Christina

  5. Thanks for that, Christina – if I can get this iris, I’m definitely going to buy a few! The purchase I’ve been most happy with this season isn’t a plant, but a tool – a fork from Bulldog Tools – no more bent tines, even in my clay!

Leave a Reply

