Plant of the moment – Acca sellowiana (Feijoa)

Common Name: Pineapple guava

Acca sellowiana (Feijoa)

Acca sellowiana (Feijoa)

Height: 1.5 – 2 m x Spread: 1.5 – 2 m Small tree or shrub that can be pruned to the desired size

Position: Sun

Period of Interest: All year

Flowering Period: Late summer in the UK, in Italy it flowers in June

Acca sellowiana is an evergreen shrub with grey-green leaves densely white-felted on the underside. In summer, flowers with four red petals, white on the outside, appear in the leaf axils; occasionally produces edible, red-flushed green fruit.  You probably need two plants to produce fruit.

I have a bush form on the slope and a standard tree that is not doing at all well at the centre of the circular rose bed.

This year the bush is covered with the flowers which I think look a lot like the flowers of capers.

Acca sellowiana (Feijoa)

Acca sellowiana (Feijoa)

Acca sellowiana (Feijoa) looking up the drive

Acca sellowiana (Feijoa) looking up the drive

Bush form of Acca sellowiana (Feijoa)

Bush form of Acca sellowiana (Feijoa)

Acca sellowiana (Feijoa)

Acca sellowiana (Feijoa)

Acca sellowiana (Feijoa) looking up the drive

Acca sellowiana (Feijoa) looking up the drive

22 thoughts on “Plant of the moment – Acca sellowiana (Feijoa)

  1. I love that flower – never seen one although I think I can grow that because I am sure I have heard Texans mention it? Beautiful! I love the leaves too – they remind me so much of salvia discolor . Hey, what is that super tall purple flowering plant in the background?

  2. How amazing, my climate is very similar to yours so I am off to the internet to see if I can get it to grow in my garden. I think it could even make it through my winter as an evergreen. Thank you for the information.

  3. Forse xericstyle si riferisce alla verbena bonariensis … La Acca Sellowiana è interessante, sicuramente da provare. Ne sento parlare da qualche anno, ma ho cominciato a considerarla dopo averne visto degli esemplari alla Landriana.

  4. New Zealanders love Feijoa. We like to grow it every where and especially we like to eat the fruit. It’s a favourite.
    There is a post on my blog about feijoa. “The Field of Gold” try this link
    http://thefieldofgold.blogspot.co.nz/2012/04/new-zealanders-love-feijoa.html?utm_source=BP_recent
    Summer has just ended here and about a month ago the Feijoa were ripe. Wonderful.
    Also the Feijoa is related to the Pohutukawa Tree. Also known as ‘the New Zealand Christmas Tree” Our northern coats at Christmas are ablaze with the red of this huge tree with just those sort of flowers

    • Thanks for the link. I’m not sure it needs another cultivar just one than one tree. They only had one kind where I bought mine but all the trees were full of fruit. Christina

  5. I have a couple of large feijoa trees in the garden beneath my terrace. The owner told me they were from Brazil, and gave me some of the green fruit , perhaps it was not yet ripe for the taste was not very appealing.

  6. Hi Christina! I love this plant and tried to grow it a couple of times with no success. I guess it needs better drainage or warmer/drier winters to survive. In the south they make marmalade with its fruits…

    • I think it is on the border of its hardiness here. The one in the rose bed suffered a lot from the cold two winters ago and strangely from the drought last summer. Christina

    • The fruits mine has produced are always small and not wonderful but if you check out the link below from “The field of gold”, you’ll get a better idea.

Leave a Reply

