The Slope on Thursday 17th October

Sorry this is a day late, but the images were taken on Thursday early in the morning so they are a true representation of the day.  I was away from home all day yesterday and most of today.

The weather has been interesting!  It rained heavily each day for a week with last Saturday’s rain being so heavy that the roads were more like rivers.  But Thursday and today, Friday, have been perfect days, blue skies with warm, warm sunshine – just wonderful; days like this make me really appreciate living here in Italy.

The early morning sun catches the stems of the Perovskia - still flowering!

The early morning sun catches the stems of the Perovskia – still flowering!

The lights also picks out the butterfly flowers of the Gaura

The lights also picks out the butterfly flowers of the Gaura

You can see the beads of water from the early morning dew on the stems of the grasses.

The slope faces west so most of it is in shade at this early hour (about 7.30) giving a very blue caste to the images.

For the first year there are Persimmon fruit on the tree, hopefully they will look like Christmas decorations when the tree loses its leaves

For the first year there are Persimmon fruit on the tree, hopefully they will look like Christmas decorations when the tree loses its leaves

What is the weather doing where you live?  Are you enjoying lovely autumnal days or feeling that winter is just round the corner?

16 thoughts on “The Slope on Thursday 17th October

  1. I’m glad your Persimmon tree has fruited. Ours has much less fruit on it this year which I put down to the very late spring. I presume you like the fruit, I love them but they are surprisingly not universally popular.

    • Yes, I do like the fruit, ours is very sweet, not sour like so many, but to be completely honest I planted the tree for the wonderful ‘Christmas decoration’ effect the fruit has on the tree in November and December so I may leave them rather thn eat them, I can always buy some fruit to eat!

  2. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a persimmon tree in Europe, assuming they only grow in the East. I bought one here once and was so disappointed – the ones I had in Japan were so aromatic but the imported ones are bland. How lucky you are to have them in your own garden!

    • There are lots grown here. There are at least two very different types, one remains very hard and is tannic, leaving your mouth completely dry, luckily I have the other kind that becomes deliciously sweet, the flavour always reminds me of dates.

  3. Christina, the morning sun on your Perovskia is inspiring. Glad you added the information about which way your slope faces–it finally dawned on me I should try mine in a different spot in my own garden! Have never tasted Persimmon but like the form very much.

    • I grow the Persimmon for the luminous orange fruits that can light up the winter garden, they taste good too, a little like a date but with the juiciness of a ripe peach.

    • There is certainly a lot of Perovskia in the garden; I used to think of Festuca gluca being my signature plant but they become ugly quite quickly so perhaps you are right – perovskia it is Janet!

    • The blue caste on the images is the very early morning light, in a shady area, we are lucky here in tht even in winter there are usually blue skies and sunshine but it is cold, almost nicer than summer really, Patrick.

    • Hi Charlie, If you’ve been following my posts about the slope you know the Perovskia has been flowering since June. It needs sun and free draining soil and thats it, a very easy plant.

  4. The Perovskia is so lovely! What variety of persimmons do you have? Our native American ones are bitter unless you eat them when they are very ripe. I planted two Japanese types, a Fuyu and a Tamopan. The Fuyu is delicious even when it is still firm, but the Tamopan has to be eaten after it softens. With all its fruit, the Tamopan especially looks like it has been decorated with little pumpkins!

    • I did plant mine mainly for the Christmas tree decoration effect, I don’t know the variety of mine but when we had one fruit it was sweet, but we did eat it very ripe.

  5. Watered gardens, blue skies, warm weather… forgive me if I’m a bit jealous 😉
    We are expecting our first frost this week and will likely descend into freezing weather and snow thereafter. But there should still be a blue sky warm day somewhere along the line!
    I love the look of persimmons on the tree. Saw it once and have been wishing for a spot ever since, mine would be the awfully face-puckering American sort of course 🙂

Leave a Reply

