GBBD There are blooms today!

The middle of November already, where has 2013 gone?  With such a gentle autumn with rain and sun and mild temperatures day and night there are still plenty of blooms in the garden.  Yes, there are the usual suspects, the plants that flower reliably for most of the year and they are not appreciated any less by me for that reason, they deserve their inclusion in GBBD as much as any prima donnas who excite with their rare presence.  I‘m joining Carol at May Dreams where gardeners from all over the world share what’s flowering today in their gardens.

Rosa mutabilis has plenty of bloom and is showing all its various colours because it is not hot, when they all tend to turn deep crimson very quickly.

Rosa mutabilis

Rosa mutabilis

Rosa mutabilis

Rosa mutabilis

Rosa mutabilis

Rosa mutabilis

There are lots of other roses flowering (as you will see in the slideshow), some are almost without foliage; this has been a bad year for black spot (usually there is virtually none), I will need to make sure the fallen foliage is removed and burnt.

Very unusually the Oleander is flowering again, I don’t often post about these, they form part of the windbreak at the top of the slope; they are a plant that is best viewed at a distance.  They are used here in the central reservations on motorways as they are evergreen, require little maintenance and are drought tolerant.  Most people don’t want them in their gardens for the reason they are commonly seen on motorways; I think you can learn which plants are easy by what you see growing in industrial situations.

Oleander

Oleander

Oleander

Oleander

The Buddleia is an example of a plant that I wasn’t pleased with where I had planted it in the Large Island but that is perfect somewhere else (the slope), where I see it when it is performing well but that disappears when it is not looking its best.

Buddleia 'Silver Anniversary'

Buddleia ‘Silver Anniversary’

Click on the image below of Buddleia ‘Silver Anniversary’ above to see all the other blooms in My Hesperides Garden this 15th November.

While I was on the slope photographing the he Buddleia I saw a snake slither quickly away, a good job it was so warm or it might have stayed where it was and bitten me!  I haven’t actually seen any snakes all this year; I only know there was at least one in the garden because I was bitten in spring.  I was wearing thick shoes and socks today so I would, hopefully, have not been bitten, it does make me realise that the joy of having all the soil covered with foliage and plants has its negative side.

39 thoughts on “GBBD There are blooms today!

  1. The quality of the sunshine in your photos is gorgeous. Oh what I’d give for some warm sunshine. 😉 As for blooms the dying embers of cosmos and the emerging flowers of winter shrubs such as sarcocca and Viburnum bodnantense are combining at the moment.

  2. Hard to believe it’s November when I look at all the flowers in your garden but then aren’t we blessed with the mild climate?! So many places had frost or snow already and we have so much to cherish. Enjoy!

    • Ah, but that’s the point isn’t it? One person’s common plants is anothers must have exotic; all the more reason to love what we have and grows well for us. As you know I have lots of plants like Verbascum and Cerinthe in the garden which everyone here thinks of as weeds!

  3. Such a lot of beautiful flowers Christina, you would hardly think that it is November. I don’t know which ones to pick out, they are all lovely. If we could grow Oleander, it would be in the garden here to remind me of Mediterranean holidays!

  4. The slide show is a a good way of showcasing all your lovely blooms – a blue sky like that would mean a very chilly night here, but still good to see anyway! I like your philosophy about the buddleia – that’s my way of thinking too, although I did manage to give away a black bamboo rather than compost it. Thanks you so much for sharing all your blooming joys, Christina.

  5. I can’t believe we are half way through November either, I’m sure somebody stole a month or two while I wasn’t looking. Rosa mutabilis is looking rather fine, I’ll have to wait until I am sat at my desktop machine to view the slideshow, like mine it doesn’t work on tablets, which is crazy because I can visit the flickr site and see your photos from there with no problem at all! Happy GBBD.

  6. Beautiful photographs, it is hard to think you are into November with all that colour around you. It is wet and cloudy here. The snake bite sounds nasty but I presume it isn’t a poisonous variety.

    • The sun being higher in the sky than further north makes a huge difference to the quality of light. When I was bitten it was a poisonous snake but a yougn one I think so it wasn’t too bad, just a bit scary!

  7. Rosa mutabilis is one of my favorites! I have only a handful of roses, but this one has my heart with its color-shifting blooms and steadfast countenance. You have many more blooms now than I do. Winter is about to catch up, though today was warm again. We have PILES of leaves!

  8. Beautiful November flowers, lovely roses on your slideshow! I bought a couple of oleanders this summer, I will try to keep them outside during the winter, they are not fully hardy for the weather here in London but it depends on what kind of winter we get. Funny to hear they are so common where you live that people don’t regard them as anything special, they are here, if they survive 🙂
    Happy GBBD!

    • The Oleanders should be okay in London is the soil is dry. We have quite low temperatures (sometimes minus 10 for a few days) but my soil is very free draining; they don’t like cold wet roots.

    • That is very typical of the way we all think, you shouldn’t worryas I said Oleander is much better seen from a distance than close too so better to choose something that will thrive rather than need coddling.

Leave a Reply

