The Slope on Thursday 9th January 2014

It is a lovely sunny, warm day today and I’ve been sowing some seeds! The days during the last week have been a mixture of warm and sunny and grey.  But it hasn’t been cold at all so much so that some plants are showing their buds for spring, especially the roses. The garden doesn’t feel wintery at all except for a few trees without leaves.

The Slope (usual view)

The Slope (usual view)

I saw some fejoa fruits on the ground under that silvery shrub in the foreground, I hdn't expected any fruit!

I saw some fejoa fruits on the ground under that silvery shrub in the foreground, I hadn’t expected any fruit!

Flowers include: Salvia, Teucrium, Rosemary, Solanum jasminoides Album

Flowers include: Salvia, Teucrium, Rosemary, Solanum jasminoides Album and centre picture Buddleia ‘Silver Anniversary’

Budlea ‘Silver Annivers

Pomegranate - can you see the new shoots

Pomegranate – can you see the new shoots?

Looking up from the gate

Looking up from the gate

If you are in the part of the United States that has been hit by the dreadfully cold weather I hope you are keeping inside and warm and that your plants and gardens aren’t suffering too much.  What’s the weather like with you today?

17 thoughts on “The Slope on Thursday 9th January 2014

  1. For a change Christina, it is warm and sunny! The garden has to dry out before I can think of doing some much needed work on it. Do you get pomegranats on your bush, are you able to enjoy the fruit?

    • Good it’s warmer for you. The pomegranate I moved is purely a double flowered ornamental, but I do have a proper tree and yes. We have lots of fruit that we enjoy it a lot, I also make juice from them but it isn’t easy to keep the bitter membrane out.

    • It might be a bit early but I’ve sown in seedtrays in the greenhouse with some bottom heat; various things that can be used as early salad leaves, including peas. Actually it is the time to sow peas here, I’m usually a bit late with mine so these might even get transplanted outside.

  2. You’ve got some lovely blue sky there Christina! We had a couple of days of sunshine, with a high of 11 degrees yesterday… not normal January weather! Today’s turned cloudy, but very mild.

    • Although I like winter to have a couple of weeks of very cold weather to restrict the survival of some insects, I’m enjoying the mild winter so far, I don’t enjoy being cold.

    • Yes, in South America they are quite popular, here they are small and don’t always ripen, I grow the tree and a bush for the EG foliage and amazing flowers that are a bit like caper flowers.

  3. Winter – even our version of it – seems to have passed us by so far in my area of southern California. We’re fogged in this morning and the temperatures have dipped a little below 70F but it generally feels more like early spring than winter. The bad part is there’s absolutely no rain in sight and we’re bone dry.

  4. We’re talking draught around here, but you wouldn’t know it from the last couple of days (soggy). Seems colder even than when the temps drop much further but the skies are clear. We have nothing to complain about, really, but it’s a gardener’s job.

    • I know about damp cold; when we were in England for Christmas it felt freezing because it was so wet all the time, when it wasn’t raining it was still damp. Keep warm!

  5. Today, Friday, we had 15 degrees and sunshine! It was so good to get out in the garden after the dull, wet spell. I started to sow a few seeds, experimentally inside when it was wet. I should not really start my proper ones before March.

    • It has been so nice to hear about the weather where are my blogging friends are. It makes me feel like we’re having a real conversation! No sun today here but it might return tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

