The Slope on 20th February and a nice surprise

Yesterday was wonderfully warm and pleasant, even though I could see that on the hills in the distance is was misty or even, perhaps, raining.  I wondered about taking the photographs yesterday with some sun but I do always try to take the images for this post on the actual day to give an honest vision of the situation.  Today started with heavy rain improving during the morning to give a soft light that illuminated the blue flowers of Rosemary and Teucrium.

The Slope, the usual view

The Slope, the usual view

The river of rosemary is also showing more blue

The river of rosemary is also showing more blue

rosemary

rosemary

rosemary

rosemary

Looking up from the gate

Looking up from the gate

rosemary, flowering flowing over the wall

rosemary, flowering flowing over the wall

Euphorbia

Euphorbia

Euphorbia

Euphorbia

Euphorbia rigida, they are flowering everywhere in the garden now

Euphorbia rigida, they are flowering everywhere in the garden now

Euphorbia myrsenites also flowering on the slope but nowhere else yet

Euphorbia myrsenites also flowering on the slope but nowhere else yet

Teucrium fruticans covered in flowers now

Teucrium fruticans covered in flowers now

Teucrium fruticans

Teucrium fruticans

Teucrium fruticans  with humming bird hawk moth

Teucrium fruticans with humming bird hawk moth

Teucrium fruticans  with humming bird hawk moth

Teucrium fruticans with humming bird hawk moth

A quick reminder that it is GBFD (Garden Bloggers Foliage Day) on Saturday 22nd.  If you would like to join in with a post about the foliage in your garden or just one particular plant you’re enjoying at the moment because of its foliage all you need to do is add a link to me in your post and leave a comment and your link.  I look forward to seeing what interesting foliage you have at present; maybe it is some new shoots that are filling you with hope of things to come or perhaps a stalwart evergreen in your garden that has help the structure together during the bleak days of winter (or summer of course if you’re in the Southern Hemisphere.

35 thoughts on “The Slope on 20th February and a nice surprise

  1. the slope is filling out nicely with the warmer weather Christina, I’m afraid I found the bright green of the field beyond your garden something of a distraction in the first photo, I like the rest though some beautiful masses of wee blooms, you have captured the hummingbird moth beautifully, Frances

    • Thanks Frances. The moth moves so fast it is almost impossible to get a really good shot I need to have the camera set for fast shots and when I find a butterfly or bee, quickly change the settings

  2. Seeing all your Rosemary flowering away, I went and had a look at ours, it too is covered with flowers, and there I was thinking of cutting it back soon! I have never managed to photograph a hummingbird hawk moth, well done, they move so quickly, it must be a couple of years since I have seen one here.

  3. Really lovely close up photographs Christina, that must have been very exciting to capture the Hummingbird moth, in the UK I have only ever seen it once and of course no camera in hand. The Euphorbias both look gorgeous with rain drops.

  4. I can almost smell that rosemary. It is so attractive. Maybe I’ll try again to establish some in my garden. The few times I’ve seen hummingbird hawk moth it has been much later. Great shot.

  5. You have a lovely sea of blue flowers there – I’m sure the moth and other early pollinators really appreciate them. I don’t know if we have hummingbird moths here in Scotland, I must look into that. Well caught – I don’t often have my camera when I see an interesting creature in the garden.

  6. Back to the gloom and rain here so your photograph with the hummingbird hawk moth was much needed for some cheer. I have never seen one as early as February and I always associated them with the heat. However, it overwinters as an adult so I could see it here on warmer days. Amelia

  7. Is there anywhere where it isn’t raining? 🙂 Still your plants are lapping it up and happy Christina. I have never seen a humming bird moth here in the north west of England but have come across them further south and in France when on holiday. Obviously good flying weather for them and you are providing a most attractive nectar bar.

  8. Those hummingbird moths are fascinating! It would be wonderful if we received some rain but there’s none in sight – our drought seems determined to remain in place.

  9. Such a beautiful moth, how lovely to catch it “in the act”. I found lots of moth pupae in some discarded seed trays yesterday, hopefully they will be pupating soon when the weather is more consistently warm. Lovely to see the blue tinge to the slope intensifying. I am really looking forward to planting out my teucrium this spring and seeing those flowers for myself.

  10. I never get tired of seeing your rosemary, it’s perfect for the site and seems to love it there. Mine appears dead btw. It did not appreciate the shelter of the garage as much as I thought it would 😉

Leave a Reply

