The Slope on Thursday 27th March

The weather has been wintery since last Thursday; it seems unusual to have such a long period of cold temperatures in March but I don’t think that is true, it can snow in this part of Italy in March!
So it is lucky I didn’t have time to plant some of the tomatoes out as I had intended, fortunately the sunflowers are tougher than I suspected and are still alive, but they haven’t grown at all this week. On Monday night the temperature in the greenhouse fell to 2.8° C and there was frost on the solar panel, which it has to be said seems to have frost on it when nothing else does, there must be some logical reason for this but nothing springs to mind.


The cooler days mean that there aren’t yet as many Eschscholzia californica as might be expected, and they only open their faces when there is sun so this week most have remained furled when they do open the bees are happy.
I am always a little surprised by the Muscari; when they the first colour appears I am always disappointed as they seem less than impressive but then slowly more flowers open up the stem and the colour becomes more intense and then they go on and on giving so much more than say the crocus which are over in a trice.

The usual view, you can see how dark it is today!

The usual view, you can see how dark it is today!

P1130939

Eschscholzia californica with Muscari and Euphorbia

Eschscholzia californica with Muscari and Euphorbia

Eschscholzia californica with thyme which is about to open its buds

Eschscholzia californica with thyme which is about to open its buds

Eschscholzia californica

Eschscholzia californica

Eschscholzia californica with prostrate rosemary, which flowers for at least 3 months

Eschscholzia californica with prostrate rosemary, which flowers for at least 3 months

Looking up

Looking up

Solanum jasminoides 'Album'

Solanum jasminoides ‘Album’

Cerinthe major

Cerinthe major

The wild irises are just opening

The wild irises are just opening

Diana at Elephant’s Eye on False bay said that they were thinking of a fire because it was winter if that is the case it should be summer here but instead I’m going to light a fire this evening too!  Is it spring-like weather where you are? Or autumn? Or still winter? My awareness of other climates has increased enormously since I have been reading gardening blogs worldwide; it makes me appreciate the climate here even when we have a cold grey week as this has been. The colour has been lifted by the colour of opening tulips and I even saw some red European poppies on the road verge this week.

 

20 thoughts on “The Slope on Thursday 27th March

  1. Even with all the cold nights your garden is looking so green and flouroshing – and irisies are opening! Wonderful! Sunshine has returned here, and the weekend should be much warmer again. It’s still around freezing point at night though. We usually only light a fire when it is below zero in the daytime, as the heating seems enough otherwise. It feels strange leaving the doors open in the day at this time of year and then huddling up with the heating on at night!

    • This week has been too cold to have the doors open even in the middle of the day but hopefully the weekend will be better. The tulips and Californian poppies brighten the drab days.

  2. Your slope is looking so pretty, all the blues with your poppies is stunning. I see you have some special muscari the same as some that I have here. As you say, they are far more sturdy than crocus that can be flattened in a strong wind.
    Our weather is back to winter with frost at night and a cold wind from the north and east, March came in like a lamb but is going out like a lion!

    • March (I kidded myself) came in like a lion but it seems to be going out like one too! Our forecast is that the weather will change at the weekend, so the proverb may prove correct after all!

  3. I can see the cold temperatures in the light of your photos today. We had snow on the ground this time last year, and today more rainy hail and cold enough for a hat on whilst working outside. I am growing to really appreciate Muscari through your blog.

  4. I’ve been seeing references to Cerinthe major and I think you used some in your vase this week, so it’s helpful to see this fine photograph. I have a better understanding of how it grows now and it’s striking. The muscari I grow here is minute compared to yours. Is it a special kind? The views are great, despite your cold weather. We’ve had another cold blast this week but today started out at 27F (-2.7C) and should get up to 60sF (15.5sC).

  5. It’s turned cold here too but then it is only March. I love your orange Escholzias with the blue Rosemary and Muscari and your foliage always looks so good..

  6. Christina the slope still looks lovely whatever the weather, I like your wild blue iris, there are british native yellow iris in the field next to me (I can’t remember their name),
    maybe you had better be sitting before I tell m my weather ….. we have had dry sun for 2 whole days! a cold north wind probably the same as Pauline’s, so it has been quite cold but I’m just reveling in dry,
    a couple of years ago I scattered packes of california poppy and cornflower seeds, I found it weird that the poppies I wasn’t expecting much from were brilliant and the cornflower being a native I was expecting would do well, only one cornflower grew, my reason for mentioning is I found the poppy bud and seed shapes fascinating, especially the buds, the witches hats as they push up and popped off, I’ve a simple mind, as summers are not very warm the seed pods didn’t ripen,
    keep warm, Frances

    • I love the way the poppies open too; last year I posted all the different stages. Here there is no problem with the seeeds ripening or only in the sense that there could be too many. But they aren’t difficult to pull out if they’re in the wrong place. I’m so glad you have some sun Frances!

  7. Those bright spots of orange and blue could light up the dreariest day. We have gone from a fire every morning to take off the chill to the occasional blaze to warm our hearts.

  8. The poppies will be so nice when they finally get a little sun. Between all your tulips, anemones, muscari and poppies it must be a real pleasure to stroll through the gardens at this time of year, but a little warmer would be nice!

Leave a Reply

