The Spring Walk more and more tulips 4th April

The title says it all.

I walk the WALK at least twice a day; I am so pleased with the effect of this. I’m not sure that I mentioned before that there were two inspirations, well three if you count Sissinghurst but I can’t really aspire to that Spring Walk (it must be the most beautiful in the world!); no the idea of having such a mix of colours, pastels to strong oranges all mixed came from 1) a similar effect created by tulips and multi-coloured Eschscholzia in the Large Island bed purely by chance as I didn’t really expect them to be flowering together; and 2) I think it was Island Threads who put a whole lot of unknown tulip bulbs into an old tub and the result was stunning. So thank you Frances.
So no more words except the names when I know them.

T. Ballerina

T. Ballerina

Usually I would hate pastels with orange and yellow

Usually I would hate pastels with orange and yellow

A riot of colour

A riot of colour

Looking towards Mulberry

Looking towards Mulberry

Anemone coronaria mixes well with brightly coloured tulips

Anemone coronaria mixes well with brightly coloured tulips

T. Double Dazzle

T. Double Dazzle – maybe not see below

T. 'Purple Jacket'

T. ‘Purple Jacket’

Pastels

Pastels

These three flowers are from one bulb

These three flowers are from one bulb

Still unknown, rather beautiful - any ideas for an ID?

Still unknown, rather beautiful – any ideas for an ID?

Frank at Sort of like suburbia thinks this is T. Hocus Pocus, it is certainly similar but more creamy than strong lemon yellow, but until I get an ID from the nursery that's what I'm going to call it.

Frank at Sorta of like surburbia thinks this is T. Hocus Pocus, it is certainly similar but more creamy than strong lemon yellow, but until I get an ID from the nursery that’s what I’m going to call it.

I've been saying this is 'double Dazzle but I ordered T. 'Purple Jacket' and I think its that!

I’ve been saying this is ‘Double Dazzle but I ordered T. ‘Purple Jacket’ and I think its that!

 

25 thoughts on “The Spring Walk more and more tulips 4th April

  1. What a happy lot! It is Ballerina by the way which I referred to the last time – she’s one of the best and multiplies happily. Tulips must like your soil.

  2. You certainly have the WOW factor here! Such a riot of colour looking beautiful in the sunshine. I think I like Purple Jacket the most, but they are all lovely mingling with your anemones.

    • Sadly the very heavy rain and strong winds during the night have left some of the tulips looking very bedraggled! There are more to come though, thank goodness!

  3. Christina thanks for the credit but it wasn’t me, I don’t have an old tub and only have a few tulips as there are only a few places where the conditions are right for them, I hope you find out who it was,

    I love these photos of your spring walk, I particularly like that one end is loud and the other quieter, a nice complement to each other, Frances

    • The tulips are a little early this year but not by very much. They often flower at different times to those stated in the catalogue. I’m actually surprised that they had enough cold this year.

  4. There’s much to be said for excess, and I don’t think you can ever have too many tulips! What a perfect spring display, the overall effect is great and you’re right, I wouldn’t normally put those colors together either but this time of year it works. Plus a single color sure would have been boring 😉

Leave a Reply

