The Spring Walk – 11th April 2014 Even more colour

A little late today and no time to write much.

Just some images for you to see what I am enjoying at the moment.  I am so pleased with the how quickly the spring walk looks as I imagined that I am already planning to extend it this autumn and move and add some shrubs that I think will add to the effect.

Now that the Freesias have finished flowering (the species) I going to move some of them to add another layer (perfume) to the border; also some of the over-crowded Muscari can be moved now.

P1140368 blog

The Dutch Iris are in the small Island I will definately add some to the Spring walk in autumn

The Dutch Iris are in the small Island I will definately add some to the Spring walk in autumn

P1140369 blog

T. Ballerina, so elegant when they are closed

T. Ballerina, so elegant when they are closed

T. Ballerina and with the light shining through them

T. Ballerina and with the light shining through them

P1140370 blog P1140376  P1140375BTW this is my 401st post!

33 thoughts on “The Spring Walk – 11th April 2014 Even more colour

  1. Christina you may not be able to grow Narcissus very well but your garden and climate certainly suit Tulips, unlike my garden and climate,

    your spring walk looks beautiful and there is so much more variety of colour with tulips, Frances

  2. Between those tulips (I didn’t think they could get any better!), the wisteria, and the poppies, I don’t know how you manage to focus on anything else long enough to get any work done! It really looks great 🙂

  3. What a wonderful border full of colour, your tulips are so beautiful! I can imagine you wandering along just like I do in the woodland! I think drifts of flowers make such an impact, so much better than just one here and one there, but then, we are both lucky to have room to play with!

  4. Your spring walk is so beautiful – T. Ballerina is a favourite of mine that has just flowered here. I like all the Lily varieties, but Ballerina and White Triumphator are my favourites.

    • White Triumphator has always been a favourite of mine too, T. Ballerina is new this year and I think it is one of the most elegant tulips I grow. They have also lasted well, next year I will grow some to cut.

    • I don’t think I could live without tulips in the garden. I wanted the spring walk to be just a huge mix of colour but in the rest of the garden they are planted in groups of one colour.

  5. As soon as your blog opened on my screen I started making so much noise that P had to come and see what the ‘problem’ was… no problem, just a severe case of tulip envy. They are absolutely gorgeous!

  6. I adore tulips, and you have an enviable collection there. ‘Ballerina’ is my all-time favourite, for the form and for the scent. I was so annoyed when the combination of ‘Ballerina’ and ‘Doll’s Minuet’ I had ordered from Sarah Raven turned out to all be a pale pink tulip. Its rather pretty actually, and will fit into the front garden beautifully, but that’s really not the point! What will you follow the tulips with?

Leave a Reply

