The Spring Walk and back border 8th May- The end of Spring

This will be the last weekly post on the spring walk, spring is over now and so I’ll choose another view of border to show you each week.

I’ll still show what’s happening here but probably not in a post of its own.

The tulips are all finished, I broke the last seed head off yesterday; I’m immensely pleased with the Spring walk so I’ve definitely decided to extend it next autumn to as far as the plum tree (which I might actually remove and plant something else I’d love an Amelanchia if I can find one).  To achieve this I’ve straightened the path so that it is now straight from under the Mulberry as far as the plum. It means that the right hand side as seen from the middle of the terrace is almost double the length of the rhs but as it isn’t visible from the terrace anyway it doesn’t matter.

From the Mulberry tree looking towards the plum tree in the distance

From the Mulberry tree looking towards the plum tree in the distance

Rosa 'Old Blush'

Rosa ‘Old Blush’

Rosa 'Old Blush' with Heuchera 'Stormy Seas' and Festuca Glauca

Rosa ‘Old Blush’ with Heuchera ‘Stormy Seas’ and Festuca Glauca

This year, after our very wet winter I am aware just how much the walnut trees have grown, they are now giving quite a lot of shade so that I may be able to add some different plants that wouldn’t have tolerated full sun; the bed has some irrigation (not where the tulips are planted so I’m planning on dividing the existing Heuchera; it’s also possible that the Hemerocallis that predominate won’t flower as well in shade and so I may need to re-think the area behind the tulips and other bulbs.

From mid-way looking towards the mulberry

From mid-way looking towards the mulberry

Abutilon

Abutilon

Rosa 'Rush', I'm not over keen on this any more.

Rosa ‘Rush’, I’m not over keen on this any more.

Anemone especially the red and white are still flowering here with Ixias a plant new to me this year

Anemone especially the red and white are still flowering here with Ixias a plant new to me this year

Another Ixia, the crimson ones would be perfect in the crimson zone but they only came as a mix

Another Ixia, the crimson ones would be perfect in the crimson zone but they only came as a mix

Standing under the fig tree, the Heuchera here is already flowering, I'm not sure of the variety of this one, I might try saving some seed and see what colours I get - could be fun

Standing under the fig tree, the Heuchera here is already flowering, I’m not sure of the variety of this one, I might try saving some seed and see what colours I get – could be fun

Next week I’ll cut all the flower stems of the tulips but I’ll leave the foliage hoping that the fast growing Euphorbia myrsinites will disguise the tulip foliage as it dies back and that other plants will take the eye away from them too.

Do you still have spring flowers in your garden?

 

19 thoughts on “The Spring Walk and back border 8th May- The end of Spring

  1. You haven’t walked up and down it with sandwich boards saying ‘The end of spring is nigh’, have you?! Even without tulips this is such a nice path and I look forward to seeing occasional views of what it is like later in the year. That’s a really pretty heuchera – the leaves set off those pink flowers brilliantly.

  2. There is definitely a feel of early summer to your photos. The filtered light under your trees looks so inviting. Do your walnut trees bear many nuts? My heucheras will start flowering soon, and the last two tulips are hanging on. The weather is still like April at the moment though!

    • The weather is very hot one day followed by cool the next so I suppose still spring weather but the flowers are summer. The walnuts don’t produce many nuts, I think it is just a bit warm for them here, just a little bit higher on the hills they are one of the main crops. If they hadn’t been in the garden when we came I probably would have planted something different by they are doing a good job now of providing summer shade.

    • The plum is a wild tree and doesn’t give reliable fruit, plus there are others growing along the lane that I can pick when there is fruit. An Amelanchia has pretty delicate spring flowers, good foliage spring and autumn and there’s fruit too although I’ve read very mixed reports of how palatable they are.

  3. It’s definitely a success and I can see why you love it. All these grasses will be lovely soon too. Yes, we still have spring flowers especially the lily-flowered tulips last for ages but the roses are out and summer isn’t far.

  4. I love that Heuchera ‘Stormy Seas’ with the festuca and the pink rose, lovely combination. I don’t know if it is just the particular photo, but I agree, that rose doesn’t sing out in the way most of yours do. I really like the way you are developing your spring walk. I still have tulips – the purple ones in the front garden – but have been snapping off the heads from all the others. But it is still definitely spring here!

    • Here it is definately summer with all the roses now flowering, even those that usually flower after Chelsea! All the flowers will be finished by the end of May, I think but hope very much not!

  5. Spring has just started and we will be moving quickly from faded bulbs to spring perennials as our weather has heated to the 80s and high 70s and will be like this for several days into next week…I am watching lots of growth everywhere.

  6. Christina, your spring walk is still looking lovely! I really like that last view with the flowering Heuchera. In my own garden, the afternoons are hot and muggy, and summer is definitely almost here, with spring barely clinging to the mornings.

Leave a Reply

