The Spring Walk May 16th

I thought that last Friday would be the last of the regular Friday posts about the spring walk; the tulips are just a lovely memory and the Anemone coronaria are only producing sporadic blooms now, not that I’m complaining they have been fantastic value!

The Ixias are opening more and more on their long filament-like stems, it is good that they are planted with Hemerocallis which help support them; they remind me of Angels fishing rod which I’ve never grown but have always rather hankered after.

Looking towards the fig tree from the Mulberry

Looking towards the fig tree from the Mulberry

Standing half way along with Miscanthus 'Morning Light', Abutilon, looking towards the fig tree

Standing half way along with Miscanthus ‘Morning Light’, Abutilon, looking towards the fig tree

Anemone coronaria 'Mr. Fokker'

Anemone coronaria ‘Mr. Fokker’

Anemone coronaria still producing some blooms

Anemone coronaria still producing some blooms

P1150483

Hemerocallis

Hemerocallis

c

c

Ixia

Ixia

From the fig looking towards the mulberry

From the fig looking towards the mulberry

Ixia

Ixia

Ixia

Ixia

Promise

Promise

After a bit of cajoling on my part the view from next week will be with my back to the terrace looking west, this is also the view from the sitting room window so one that needs to be interesting at all times, we’ll see if it is, I think the area close to where I was standing when I took the photo yesterday needs some improvement.

this was the image I showed yesterday:

Standing in front of the Clair Matin looking west

Standing in front of the Clair Matin looking west

I think I’ll stand a bit further back maybe right be the window which will open up the foreground and you’ll see part of the Upper drive border and some of the Large Island, it also links to the long view that I show on the first of the month.

15 thoughts on “The Spring Walk May 16th

  1. I should like figs that size for the middle of May, actually I would be happy with that size at the end of August. Enjoy your weekend Christina.

    • Easy to grow and not expensive, so a good option for you to try in your garden too, the stems really are thin as a needle so they need other plants around them for support.

  2. The appearance of Ixia was a surprise here, I had no idea what it was when it popped up last year. Aren’t they lovely. Miraculously our mice seem to have missed it.
    I would be very happy with your sitting room view, just as it is!

    • I have to admit I didn’t really know much about the Ixias when I ordered them, they are a delight especially as they flower now that the tulips havefinished and the hemerocallis have only just begun.

  3. An excellent choice with the view beyond the garden too, putting it into cntext. We should also be able to see your cutting garden – or is it vegetables in the raised beds? I wonder if you get enough figs to eat from your tree?

    • With a wide view you’ll just be able to see the cuttings bed. There are two of the vegetable beds there too but hidden by the planting in the upper drive bed. We have lots of figs to eat from this tree, with the bonus that it fruits twice, once in July (maybe earlier this year) and again in September.

  4. You’re right about the timing differences between our 2 gardens, Christina. The Ixia in my backyard border bloomed more than a month ago – those flowers and my Anemones are long gone. I do have some spring-planted Ixia in the side garden that might still make an appearance, although with the recent heat that may be expecting too much.

    • Do you do anything to support the Ixias? I love the they way they bend but if I hadn’t planted them so close to Hemerocallis they wouldn’t stand up at all.

  5. I’ve always admired ixia but never thought it would do well here because of summer heat. Maybe I was wrong! It would need to be planted in the spring here and grow while it’s already hot, do you think it would make it?
    I just saw today that my fig is sprouting a few green shoots form the base. I guess the winter did not kill it after all…. but edible figs this year might be a stretch of the imagination 🙂

  6. I’ve never come across ixias before, they look as if they would mix well with grasses too. Your border looks amazinglybtidy given it was so full of tulips, the hemerocallis really works well. Looking forward to learning about a new area in your garden, but I hope you will follow your spring border again next year, I would enjoy seeing it evolve.

    • The tulip foliage seems to die back more quickly here than I remember in the UK. Yes, the Ixias would work well with grasses, anything that will give them some support. I saw them on someone’s blog last year I think or maybe at Chelsea.

Leave a Reply

