The Spring Walk and Back Border – the story continues

Well I was wrong again! At least half of the Spring Walk continues to give satisfaction.

Sisyrinchium striatum is flowering, managing to hide and distract the eye from dying tulip foliage, so these combined with Stipa tenuissima, to add movement, plus the first flowers of Hemerocallis ‘Happy Returns’ mean the ‘walk’ continues to have flower colour; the Ixias are also still flowering.

Looking west from the Mulberry

Looking west from the Mulberry

A few Anemone coronaria (here Mr. Fokker) are still opening almost each day

A few Anemone coronaria (here Mr. Fokker) are still opening almost each day

Heuchera, Ixias, Hemerocallis ‘Happy Returns’ and Sisyrinchium striatum

Heuchera, Ixias, Hemerocallis ‘Happy Returns’ and Sisyrinchium striatum

P1150603

Aren't the Ixias amazing, I'm so glad I planted them

Aren’t the Ixias amazing, I’m so glad I planted them

I will show the spring walk and back border as new plants begin to flower and if there are none, then I’ll still show it once a month. Do you still have spring flowers; what do you use to cover tulips foliage while it dies back to make the bulb strong for next year?

24 thoughts on “The Spring Walk and Back Border – the story continues

  1. My tulips are in an area with a lot of hardy geranium, principally Roxanne and a smallish blue which I inherited, not Johnson’s as far as I know. The geraniums grow up very quickly to hide the worst of the dying tulip foliage and also help with the alliums which are in the same bed. My main problem with this bed is how early summer focussed it is. Not a lot happens after August. I have had a go with rudbeckia but not very successfully!

    • I like the idea of some places in the garden not being so important at some times of the year. Asters would be an obvious choice for late summer colour but you could add grasses to give a more subtle effect. Christina

  2. My spring flowers have all gone over now and the tulips in tubs removed. Your Spring walk has lovely dappled light, which makes it inviting even without the Tulips. The yellow of Sisyrinchium striatum is one of my favourite colours.

  3. The ixias are delightful indeed and your spring border is still looking good. The Stipa is bringing so much movement into it. No hemerocallis and sisyrinchiums are flowering yet but it won’t be long. I’m still in a rose frenzy! Tulip foliage is quickly hidden by all the other plants …actually I’m wondering where it’ll lead if things continue at this rate!

  4. Th Ixias are amazing indeed and I like the Sisyrinchium striatum as well. Didn’t realize Mr. Fokker would still be going–does it usually bloom so long?

    • Mr. Fokker is new to me this year so I’m not sure if this late for it to continue flowering or not. Each corm has produced so many flowering stems it hardly seems possible that it has enough energy. I’m hoping they will seed themselves around even more for next year.

  5. Your sisyrinchiums look lovely. It is a good example for me of plants in the wrong place. I took mine out last year but some have survived so I will try and re-house them, I tried to squash them into a border with too many other things and I can see they need room. Amelia

  6. Your blue anemone is a lovely colour – I have never had much luck with anemones – apart from the little anemone wanda and wood anemones. As for spring flowers I still have some tulips going strong – my big Dutch ones have been amazing as they have grown so tall and have withstood all the wind and rain. Some of my rhododendrons are still going too. Well it really isn’t summer here yet, but some summer herbaceous plants are in bud already: lupins and delphiniums for example. I have a garden party in August and am seriously worried there won’t be any plants still flowering at this rate.

      • Oh dear – lets hope things just last longer than normal – or maybe they will all have second flowerings! At least many of the annuals usually keep going here until the frost gets them.

  7. I agree, the Ixia really are lovely, and the anemones of course! My tulip foliage mostly blends in as other plants grow or is covered by other plants like Lysimachia or Geranium macrorrhizom.

  8. Sisyrinchium are just starting to flower here too, they are such a useful plant for filling forgotten spaces, poor plant, it deserves a better description than “useful”! Tulips have been lifted and are drying in the greenhouse, the spaces will be filled with dahlias.

    • That’s a lot of work, Pauline to lift and replant the tulips! Have you ever thought of planting them in pots to plunge in into the borders then just lifting the whole pot when the tulips are finished, if you hide them away somewhere that they don’t get any rain you could replant in the same way another year.

  9. Hmmm…I like your advice to Pauline. Right now, the zauchneria is doing a pretty good job of disguising the dying tulip foliage. Just foliage right now, but bright orange flowers will show up soon and last into autumn.

    • Hope it works for you. I do think it is a lot of hard work to lift and re-plant, especially when you can’t be sure they’ll flower for a second year after they’ve been lifted. I’m going to check on zauchneria, I would love something orange that flowered all summer!

  10. Love the ixias Christina, Lychnis is doing quite a good job of disguising the tulip foliage at the moment, and next year hopefully the stachys and geraniums will do that too, but I really like how well the Sisyrinchium striatum fits in, and think that has just leapt up my “must have” list. Wonder if I can grow it from seed…

Leave a Reply

