So much going on!

There is so much going on in the garden this month that it is hard to include everything I would like to share. Especially as I don’t want to just show individual blooms, however lovely they may be, you can find those everywhere on the net from the RHS site to the web pages of growers who are selling the plants.

But as I walk around the garden there are combinations and ‘moments’ I would like to share.

Hermerocallis Stella d'Oro (hiding old tulip foliage completely), Salvia, Nepeta and ever present Eschscholzia

Hermerocallis Stella d’Oro (hiding old tulip foliage completely), Salvia, Nepeta and ever present Eschscholzia

Achilea 'Paprika' with Stipa tenuissima

Achilea ‘Paprika’ with Stipa tenuissima

Madonna lilies with R. 'Clair Matin'

Madonna lilies with R. ‘Clair Matin’

Rosa 'Sally Holmes' and R. 'Gertrude Jekyll'

Rosa ‘Sally Holmes’ and R. ‘Gertrude Jekyll’

Flowering much earlier than in other years Rosa Veilchenblau is doing just what I hoped when I planted her. This is without doubt my favourite rose. I did very carefully tie some branches into the wires on the pergola but those branches have more or less died back; no she will grow and flower where she likes and I will enjoy her where ever that is!

Rosa veilchenblau

Rosa veilchenblau

More information about Rosa veilchenblau here.

Rosa veilchenblau draping itself wonderfully on the pergola

Rosa veilchenblau draping itself wonderfully on the pergola

Rosa veilchenblau, my favourite rose

Rosa veilchenblau, my favourite rose

Is there a plant that is capricious in your garden, dying where you want it but thriving just where it wants to thrive?

33 thoughts on “So much going on!

  1. Beautiful pics, as always.

    In my garden aquilegia grows as a weed and self-seeds in random places. But I never have any luck when I try to grow it where I want it!

    I was in your part of the world recently (well, sort of – Sicily) and really enjoyed the wild flowers, many of which looked like close cousins to things we grow in the garden here.

    • Sicily at this time of year is wonderful, the Greek temple sites were full of flowers when we were there last year. I have to sow aquilegia and plant where there is irrigation so I’m envious!

  2. Yes, that has happened to me too with my yellow Achillea. I moved it because it was too tall, but I must have left some of the root in the ground by mistake as it appeared as always in the wrong spot, healthier than ever, and the replanted one died. I tried this twice and the same happened again! This year I have given it the Chelsea chop… I wonder if it will restrain it! Now your short red Achillea would be much more suited – very pretty! I really love that rose Veilchenblau too. So many blossoms and lovely elegant growth. How long has it taken for it to get to that height?

    • The Veilchenblau was planted in autumn 2008, so five and a half years to be so exuberant, I will try to train it more carefully becasue it would be lovely if it grew all along the front edge of the pergola.

  3. The Veilchenblau rose is stunning, I clicked on your link but something is astray and its not working, it looks especially lovely with the yew and rosemary, the foliage of those two does the rose colour justice.

  4. It looks just as lovely with a Cypress, which if I put my glasses on properly I can see now! I also really like the Sally Holmes Rose, you grow them well, your roses remind me of visiting Ninfa.

  5. The Welsh Poppy, Meconopsis cambrica, is everywhere here so much so that I have to dig it up. Not easy either as it has a long tap root. But if I harvest the seed and try to establish it in a more suitable location? Not a one.
    Your rose is beautiful. It looks as though it is doing an excellent job supporting itself!

  6. Plant combinations are the true beauty of gardening. Rosa veilchenblau is such a beautiful rose with such an unusual colouring. It looks gorgeous even though it won’t behave! Borage is one that seeds itself all over newly dug areas in our garden, just like field poppies, but try and transplant it to the herb garden? – Forget it!

  7. I love to find out people’s favourite plants! I would never have guessed your favourite rose would be veilchenblau – I would have guessed a larger, perhaps cream one. We have had heavy rain and the first flush of the roses has been washed out. I have veilchenblau too and I can also confirm it survives in shade as well as full sun. Amelia

    • I suspect I love Veilchenblau the most because it only flowers once and is therefore a fleeting pleasure and I don’t expect it to flower a second time only to be disappointed. I also like very dark roses (Tradescant and William Shakespeare).

      • I know what you mean about a fleeting pleasure. It makes them even more special. I was given my first orchid before Christmas and started looking after it with great care. The thing is still flowering and looks the same day after day except for new buds slowly appearing at the tips of the two flower stems. It seems like one step removed from having plastic flowers.

  8. Thank you so much for showing the lovely pictures of Veilchenblau – that is what I have in one of my bottomless pots with the intention of it scrambling over the shed – it has some buds on it now, so this will be the first time it has flowered. Thank you for the taster!

  9. Lovely plant combinations – most of mine happen by accident, but I am trying.
    I planted a honeysuckle to grow up a trellis on a wall – it started off looking promising, but now all the growth is above the top of the wall and it is bare at the bottom. It is waving about wondering where to go – wouldn’t it be nice if it would start growing back down the wall!

    • Honeysuckle does have a tendancy to do that, but if there isn’t anywhere for it to go it might fall back down in waving strands – nice but a bit untidy. You could grow a clematis up the bare stems.

      • I think I will enjoy the waving strands until after it has flowered then I will give it a good pruning to try to encourage it to produce more lower shoots. I think it might actually be too dry for it where it is as it keeps getting powdery mildew. It might need to be moved somewhere else. I do want more clematis too so that is a good idea also.

  10. Rosa veilchenblau is a real beauty – strong scent, only semi double so still OK for butterflies etc, and no thorns, sounds like a perfect rose. I’ve not got anywhere to put ramblers as yet, but I still plan to put a small pergola for height in the front garden, perhaps that would work well. it must be my age, but I am tending more and more to the wafty pretty things in the garden, albeit contrasted with good architectural foliage, and although the roses I inherited all seem prone to blackspot and lack scent, I can see me buying the odd one or two. Or three…

    I appear to have verbascums popping up all over the place, I presume the common native yellow one, will have to wait and see. I’ve not spotted verbena bonariensis self seeding as yet, but poppies appear to, and of course the forget-me-nots., Happily they all turn up in places I am content to let them colonise, but it is the red tulips that are set to become the bane of mu life I think! Actually, I don’t mind the red ones, its the yellows that sneak in alongside them. Very “municipal planting”, and not in a good way.

    • As you say most self seeding plants really help us gardeners by planting themselves in more interesting places than we would have put them and most aren’t difficult to pull out if they are in the wrong place.

  11. I do like the picture of the lilies rising up out of the sea of grasses! I saw something similar (and much brighter) with a sea of brown and golden rudbeckias with spires of bright red cardinal flowers rising up through them. I wish I could recreate either in my own garden.
    Veilchenblau has those sprays of blooms which I really like. I’m trying to find roses for my own garden which give a similar look but because of our humidity I want to stick to the most disease resistant ones…. that kind of eliminates many really special roses.
    Some species roses have been invited into the garden here. I’m hopeful for them but also can’t help but notice rose rosette disease spreading through the local rose thickets. This threat keeps my rose fanaticism from becoming too severe.

    • Roses are prone to all kinds of problems, sometimes I wish I didn’t have any. This year even the usually very tough and resistant mulabilis has something that is makign the buds and leaves drop and as I don’t like to use chemicals I’m not sure what to do.

Leave a Reply

