In a Vase on Monday – Summer indoors

Monday comes around quickly again and its time to join Cathy’s meme ‘In a vase on Monday’ in which we pick flowers from our own gardens to fill a vase. Thank you Cathy for hosting this inspiring meme.

I didn’t know what I would put in today’s vase until I actually walked around the garden this morning. I thought that there might be some lilies to pick but only those in the garden are flowering; those in pots allocated for picking have buds but no flowers, maybe next week.

I picked Knautia, Gerbera and a couple of small secondary sunflowers from the cuttings garden but these weren’t enough to make a vase therefor the garden was raided to supply Nepeta, Achillea, Teucrium hyrcanicum, a couple of spikes of Salvia ‘Indigo Spires’ and as I felt some soft yellow was needed 4 stems of Sisyrinchium striatum.

The strong verticals of Salvia, Sisyrinchium, Teucrium and Nepetaallowed air into the composition, while the achillea and Kautia added some horizonal interest

The strong verticals of Salvia, Sisyrinchium, Teucrium and Nepetaallowed air into the composition, while the achillea and Kautia added some horizonal interest

Gerbera and sunflowers worked well as a more solid base to the vase

Gerbera and sunflowers worked well as a more solid base to the vase

P1160084

The flowers I picked suggested to me they should not look too arranged once they were in the vase, but of course, to look like that, I did need to spend some time playing around with the arrangement! To me it gives the impression of flowers in the garden jostling for their position.

Do visit Cathy at Rambling in the garden to see what others have put into their vases today.

21 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – Summer indoors

  1. This vase reflects your garden beautifully! I like salvia and nepeta in a vase, and will have to try that out at some stage. The Gerbera really say “summer”!

  2. Monday’s do come round quickly, although these days I almost feel not quick enough…! It’s strange to see that sisyrinchium again today, as I had not come across it before and here it is in TWO vases today! I love the close up view of the second picture and isn’t it intriguing how many different flowers you can use in an arrangement sometime? This works really well, and I look forward to having taller spikes to use later on, as most of my vases have been on the short side, like their owner. Do let us know how long things last in the vase, Christina, and thanks for joining in.

  3. What a lovely combination Christina – it looks just like a summer border. Sisyrinchium striatum is one of my favourites this year – it has been looking good with an orange geum for a few weeks now. Do you let it self seed at will or weed it out?

    • Hi Julie, I let the sisyrinchium seed where I want it and just remove it from the wrong places; I am liking it more and more. the yellow is such a delicate creamy colour.

  4. This is elegant Christina. The mixture of flowers has a summery, casual feel, but there’s a bit of formality in the way you used the tall white vase and tied the gerberas to the taller stems. Just beautiful.

  5. A lovely summery vase, are the Geberas hardy with you? Gorgeous colour combination, they all look lovely together. I find Sisyrincium striatum really useful in the summer border. And it is lovely in a vase.

    • this is the first year I’ve ever had Gerberas, I will try lifting them in autumn and putting them in the greenhouse, I’m sure it will be too cold outside for them.

  6. I really like this Christina, it does look very summery and pretty. I lost my terracotta Achileas a few harsh winters ago, but your vase remind me how lovely they are.

Leave a Reply

