First of June First Tomatoes!

OK I know it isn’t the first of June today but for record keeping it is important that I know the date I harvested the first tomatoes that were enough for a small salad and not just the odd one plucked from the vine as I’m passing. First two courgettes too, small, but I like to always pick them small, were cooked in a little olive oil and tasted nutty and good. The spinach on the plate is the harvest from a pot. I find it easier to grow spinach this way, so far in the greenhouse but from now on I’ll let it germinate in the greenhouse and then put the pot in a light shady position.

The last of the peas and broad beans have now been harvested. The best ever pea crop and the beans did well too. Having tried the dwarf variety I think I’d grow them again and the beans seemed to stay the size I want to eat them longer and remained green rather than that inedible grey skin forming.

5 different varieties of tomatoes, the largest is tigerella (so not large at all)

5 different varieties of tomatoes, the largest is tigerella (so not large at all)

A little tomato salad with basil flowers and leaves and our olive oil

A little tomato salad with basil flowers and leaves and our olive oil

When the flowers are in good condition like these are, I tear them and add to the pan just before serving

When the flowers are in good condition like these are, I tear them and add to the pan just before serving

Spinach and courgettes

Spinach and courgettes

I’ve had to harvest a lot of the onions because they have thrown up flower stems; they are small but that’s OK as during summer I like roasting them whole with other vegetables but I hope the rest will swell to produce some larger onions to store.

What are you picking from the garden at present? Do you keep records that will help you in future years?

33 thoughts on “First of June First Tomatoes!

  1. You are way ahead of me, my cougettes are coming on nicely, I’m just waiting for my first flower! All your different tomatoes look delicious, I will just have to imagine the taste!

  2. It looks as though you’re going to have a very good year, Christina. Other than some artichokes I’m allowing to flower and Mandarin oranges, I’ve got nothing but herbs available in my vegetable garden at the moment. I planted some corn and beans from seed and the seedlings are coming along, though. I’ve skipped tomatoes this year, which I may regret.

    • Vegetable gardening is more work than the flower garden but I enjoy it; if you have a good market nearby it can seem like a lot of work for not much gain.

  3. Wow, brilliant tomatoes, they look delicious and mine are only just producing flowers! So far, peas, lots of rocket and Misticanza, radishes, Chard, lots of herbs, and strawberries are just turning red. I do keep records in a diary sometimes its a bit erratic though.

  4. I do keep a record. Bumper year for broad beans, terrible start for tomatoes. I love my garden tomatoes and they are not doing well this year. The strawberries are off to a good start and the peas are almost there. Your garden seems so advanced for the start of June. Amelia

    • Because the winter was so mild I risked a lot and planted out some tomatoes at the end of March – that is too early really as any cold spell will make them stop growing, but this year I waas lucky. Peas are always sown in November here (I sowed in January and planted out in February). The peppers are early as there are small peppers forming on several plants.

  5. I try to keep a record but every year ends up a little different anyways! The blog helps with that. I love that you use the flowers of the zuc when you cook them and that you roast the little onions whole. I will have to remember these great ideas! Your tomatoes look EXPENSIVE, you would have to pay top dollar for that mix of colour here in the grocery store. Delicious!

    • If you grow your own it’s always worth growing varieties you can’t find easily in shops or markets, I have about 20 different varieties of tomato this year. Thanks for visitng my garden and leaving comments.

  6. a nice little crop Christina, I had some chard for tea yesterday, it’s like spinach, these were from plants that didn’t die off during winter and have produced new shoots this spring, they are starting to run to seed now, I’m also still cropping from some of the broccoli and the ‘winter’ greens have just provided their first crop, I’m so pleased bloggers like you encouraged me to start growing veggies, Frances

    • Chard is a great crop, the small leaves are good in salad and the fact it usually stands through winter means a crop then followed by more spring growth before it seeds. I plant rainbow coloured chard, which do you plant Frances.

      • I didn’t know it would stand through winter so it was a nice surprise for me, I bought, swiss chard (red) and chard spinach (rainbow colours), people talk of rainbow chard yet I didn’t see any seed for it, as the spinach chard is like a rainbow of colour I’m wondering if they are the same, Frances

    • I try to get some very early into the greenhouse as later it’s too hot for pollinators to go in, as spring has been cooler there is quite a few fruit set. I will stop the plants growing when the last flowers are pollinated.

  7. Most of my veg have been eaten by slugs … but the broad beans have survived and the swiss chard from last year (Rainbow) has been very useful.
    I like your idea of spinach in a pot – how big should the pot be?

    • I use about 30 cm size pots for spinach abd carrots. I have trouble getting spinach to germinate so I am quite liberal with the seed, it can always be pulled out very small for salad should there be too much.

  8. I’m envious of your pickings. We’ve had lettuce, radish, lots of pea shoots and herbs but wait in eager anticipation of the rest. i’m giving tomatoes another go this year. Fingers crossed we won’t get blight. I’d love to be more organised a keep a record of the first crops but it never happens unfortunately. One day ….

    • That’s a good start Chloris. chard is such a good vegetable to grow, easy, versatile to cook with and last almost a year in the ground; I think everyone should try it.

  9. Cathy has taken the words right out of my mouth 🙂 Feeling most envious of your pickings. What variety is the pear shaped tomato Christina? Here my tomatoes are only just beginning to flower whilst the first courgette is but a speck. However I had a mid morning snack of strawberries at the allotment yesterday which was most delicious.

    • The small yellow pear shape is from a tomato given to me 4 years ago and each year I’ve saved seed. I also have a small red pear that was an heirloom variety from the States called rather unimaginatively small red pear! I grow a lot of different small tomatoes as I think they’re great in salads.

  10. OK my husband and I are drooling as we just planted our small tomato plants and our zuke seeds….so we will have a harvest in August…we eat from the garden in June, July and August …..my tomatoes are still small as I just planted them in mid-May….and my garlic will be pulled in about a month or sooner….I love this time of year!!

Leave a Reply

