The Slope on Thursday – There is change today!

There is a change in the weather and in the appearance of the slope this week.

It isn’t so much that the day time temperatures are higher, although it is slightly warmer, but at night the temperatures are not dropping so much. I have noticed some plants are telling me they need a little irrigation, the moisture in the soil is diminishing and without addition water non drought tolerant plants would begin to shrivel.

However the slightly lower temperatures this spring mean that there is still a good display everywhere in the garden.

The usual view, but noticably different this week

The usual view, but noticably different this week

The usual view is different today, suddenly the Perovskia has grown and is blocking the view of what was visible only a week ago. In the formal beds this may be the first year when the Perovskia and Lavender flower at the same time.

Gaura waving around in its delightful butterfly way

Gaura waving around in its delightful butterfly way

Regal Lilies perfuming the air

Regal Lilies perfuming the air

Regal lilies planted here last autumn (having been in a pot last year) are making a strong statement, lifting their trumpet flowers above the surrounding plants.

On the slope the poppies are still flowering their socks off and surprisingly the small Cistus cuttings are still pumping out new flowers; it is difficult to imagine how such small plants can continue to produce new blooms over such a long period.

Perovskia, poppies and Stipa tenuissima always look great together

Perovskia, poppies and Stipa tenuissima always look great together

One of the more interesting Eschscholzia colour combinations

One of the more interesting Eschscholzia colour combinations

Verbascums are rising above the surrounding plants full of promise of what is to come

Verbascums are rising above the surrounding plants full of promise of what is to come

Wild alliums have chosen some good places to sow themselves

Wild alliums have chosen some good places to sow themselves

Cistus. still growing and still flowering

Cistus still growing and still flowering

Has summer arrived in your garden; are there sudden changes that suddenly make an impact?

 

29 thoughts on “The Slope on Thursday – There is change today!

  1. Plants are behaving oddly over here. The mild winter and spring have brought a lot of plants into flower early. And because last year’s spring was so cold the contrast between the 2 years is remarkable. On the other hand we’ve had a very wet and cool spell for the last few weeks so it doesn’t feel like summer has made it to Wales yet. Your garden is looking beautiful, as always. 🙂

    • Thanks Louise, weather is so strange isn’t it? We had a very mild winter but followed by a coolish spring, so somethings are very early but others just flower at the same time regardless.

  2. The West Country is much the same as Wales, it feels distinctly unspringlike at the moment never mind summer.
    The cistus is beautiful. It does have a Mediterranean look about it, I wonder how successful it would be for me in a cooler wetter climate.

  3. Christina, I like that second photo with the gaura and is that the perovskia in the foreground? it looks lovely anyway, the perovskia, tenuissima and poppies are lovely too, as is usual here in the UK, yesterday was lovely and I spent the day and evening in the garden today is rain and rain, Frances

  4. I can see how much the Verbascum has grown, and the Perovskia too! Mine is also putting on new growth. I think the main change here is my lavender opening… 🙂

  5. I must admit the most sudden and visible change I’ve seen in the garden, is how the couch grass and nettles are now as tall as my fruit bushes, almost overnight. Some hard work in store! Your differences are much more appealing! I love Perovskia and I like the thought you might have them flowering in your parterre at the same time as the lavender.

  6. I can see the change in colour, in a week the greens seem less intense but a lovely mellow feel to them. The Gaura is a lovely plant, I have two trays of small plants I have grown from seed, waiting for some some sunshine to get them really going.

  7. I can see evidence of summer’s onset in your garden, Christina. I hope your temperatures don’t climb as high or as fast as ours did – those sudden shifts, especially when combined with higher than normal night-time temperatures, do take a toll. Our spring arrived early and departed quickly. Summer conditions prevailed throughout late April and May, making it seem more like August. June, so far, has been slightly cooler, although still in the low 80s Fahrenheit (27C+) most days.

    • I really hope the temperatures don’t rise too quickly. Yesterday (Thursday) was quite hot, I saw on a road-side themometer that registered 30° C at 6 pm. I hope your cooler weather continues for you. high temperatures and no rain are difficult to contend with for very long.

  8. hi christina-its nice to see the sun in your pictures.Summer only makes a sporadic appearance here so far. Lovely tho to hear of harvesting tomatoes!

    • Hi Linda, the tomatoes are soooo good; I’ve been picking some every couple of days now, so I can really say the harvest has begun. I hope you get some sunshine soon.

  9. Summer is arriving slowly. The cooler temperatures have slowed things down a bit. What kind of Verbascum is this? Lovely combinations as always. I saw a garden filled with cream coloured Eschscholzia the other day and fell for them.

    • All cream Escscholzia would be amazing! The verbastum is a wild one blown into the garden a few years ago; it is probably V. sinuatum which is a bit like chaxii in its habit.

  10. The temperatures are rising slowly, the wind and the rain are quite warm! Everything is growing so fast, including the weeds! Slowly we are making headway in the garden. Your slope is looking so summery but your temperatures of 30C would be too hot for me to garden, I would be in the shade with a long cold drink!

  11. I think that summer is almost here Christina but not quite yet. Earlier this week wearing a fleece was the order of the day. The season definitely seems to have arrived in your garden though and looking at your photos makes me feel pleasantly warm. Thanks for letting me know about the problems you had commenting on my blog and for persisting. I will have to investigate yet again.

    • A week ago I was wearing a fleece indoors, but then I think I have become a bit soft as regards to temperature so that I don’t enjoy the cold as much as I did and enjoy warmer (but not extreme heat) much more.

Leave a Reply

