Evening Light

It had been a bad day! The washing line had broken, I had been locked out of the house on a scorching hot day but it all felt better when I looked out of the window at about 8 pm.

The light looked magical, I grabbed the camera and here are some of the results. It really lifted my spirit.

Lilium regale

Lilium regale

Formal bed looking along the central path

Formal bed looking east along the central path

Circular Rose bed, Allium and Gaura

Circular Rose bed, Allium and Gaura

All signs of tulips in the Small Island have disappeared under fast growing grasses and Achillea. The small tree,Caesalpinia gilliesii, is covered with its ‘bird of paradise’ flowers. Stipa gigantea is fabulous, but has been difficult to photograph but the light last evening was perfect, it is a grass I wouldn’t want to be without. What time does it get dark with you at this time of year, here in central Italy darkness falls at about 9 pm.

Small Isalnd

Small Island

Small Island, Stipa gigantea

Small Island, Stipa gigantea

Small Island, Caesalpinia gilliesii

Small Island, Caesalpinia gilliesii

Anemone coronaria, in the back border (spring walk), is still putting up some new flowers, I’m not sure if they are new self-seeded plants flowering or late developers from last autumn’s planting. The tall orange Hemerocallis have begun flowering joining the orange of the Abutilon giving a contrast to the blue Perovskia in the formal beds which is just beginning to look blue.

Back border - Hemerocallis and Abutilon

Back border – Hemerocallis and Abutilon

Calamagrotstis x acutifolia 'Karl Foerster' this grass needs irrigation here, it has died in other borders

Calamagrotstis x acutifolia ‘Karl Foerster’ this grass needs irrigation here, it has died in other borders

Lilium regale in pots on the terrace, looking west

Lilium regale in pots on the terrace, looking west

33 thoughts on “Evening Light

  1. All looking great, particularly in the evening light- beautiful! I really love your formal borders. Wish I could fit one in! Your Caesalpinia is new to me – too tender for here, I suppose? Here, it’s not going dark till after 9.

    • Caesalpinia is quite tender although it survived two cold winters, it needs free draining soil to survive cold. It isn’t that pretty when it’s not flowering.

  2. I have tried twice to say something here, the internet is so slow its not letting me, anyhow! I am sorry you were locked out but I love the evening light photos, I hope you post more at this time of time.

  3. How wonderful getting the sky to match the lily. That’ s what I call colour co- ordination. Awful being locked out of the house though. You poor thing.

  4. Still scorching hot here too – hope you weren’t locked out for too long in it. The lily photos are fabulous! 😀 Hemerocallis haven’t opened here yet, but the St John’s Wort started opening today – 2 weeks early!

    • Other Hemerocallis are opening their buds today, Cathy. I was looked out for about four and a half hours, luckily I had some water. The panic inducing thing was that I’d been cooking lunch and there were still things on the hob I was terrified there’d be a fire. Luckily I was able to turn the gas tank off so that was one thing less to worry about! The St Johns Wort is flowering this week here too.

  5. oh Christina what a nightmare, I usually have both doors unlocked so if one jammed I can get in the other one, and it is so annoying when the washing line breaks I hope it didn’t make things too dirty,

    those lily photos are beautiful, the evening light has given your garden a blue tint, really nice, as for when it gets dark, as we approach the summer solstice it doesn’t get properly dark here, the light starts to dim around 11.30, it is one of the things I love about being this far north the long hours of light at this time of year,

    I hope you had a better day today, Frances

    • Thank you Frances, today was much better. When I asked the question I was thinking of you, I love the long hours of daylight but I couldn’t cope with your winters which must be terribly dark.

      • they do Christina but they go so quickly, I think because the change from mid winter about 6 hours of light to mid summer about 20 hours of light is so great that you can see the change on the clock, as much as 30 mins difference from one week to the next, I found it quite weird at first, I equally found it weird when I had the holiday in Egypt May 2012 and it got dark around 6pm! they are so close to the equator that there is little difference between winter and summer, very strange, I would not like that, Frances

  6. So sorry to hear that you were locked out, but I’m glad you had some water with you and your day improved after that. The lilies look stunning against the pink of the evening sky – absolutely beautiful!

  7. Oh Christina – glad you got your silver lining after your mishap, with the wonderful light and those astonishing pictures of the lilies. So beautiful….

  8. Beautiful light. I’m eagerly anticipating the opening of my own lilies. It’s the first time I’ve grown them so I’m quite excited. It’s not getting dark here until well after ten at the moment which is lovely and we’re enjoying some fantastic weather too, after all the rain. We were on holiday on the Isle of Skye a few years ago and it never properly got dark. It was quite surreal.

    • I miss it staying light late in summer, it’s always dust by 9 ish. But in winter I really appreciate the extra daylight hours, so much so I never believe it is nearly Christmas becaue it is too light!

  9. The light really worked out for you, good thing too after such a crummy day. The colors in the lilies really worked out great with the sky! I’m trying to avoid lilies, I feel like I would go overboard… maybe in another year or so!
    Funny how I have the Karl Foerster grass and consider it to be one of the more drought tolerant plants out front!

Leave a Reply

