The Slope on Thursday – Evening Light and Sun

It is a year since I began posting weekly report about The Slope, I actually began posting on Tuesdays but changed day at some point. When I began I imagined I might change the view after a year but as this area in still changing I will continue until I feel it is no longer interesting to my readers nor informative for me.

The weather this week has been incredibly hot, in the greenhouse there was a high of 44.2°C way over 100°F, outside the greenhouse the temperatures are in the mid to high 30°s. I am now getting up earlier each day so that in theory I can finish working outside before it gets unbearably hot; in reality I usually stay outside until about 1 pm! So I think I can report that summer has arrived.

I think the slope looks very different this week. I took most of the images last evening at about 8.30 pm so the flowers of Eschscholzia californica are all closed, but many are now just seed-heads ready to burst, spilling their seeds to produce new plants for next year; if I cut back the plants (many are brown and shrivelled now) they will often re-sprout and to flower again in autumn when the rain arrives.

The usual view now features Perovskia, which is hiding other plants from our view

The usual view now features Perovskia, which is hiding other plants from our view

Nerium oleander is flowering now to compliment a similar coloured salvia

Nerium oleander is flowering to compliment a similar coloured salvia

There is now blue on the Perovskia

There is now blue on the Perovskia

In the evening the Eschscholzia flowers are closed

In the evening the Eschscholzia flowers are closed

This is such a good value plant, it flowers for most of the year, Solanum saminoides Album

This is such a good value plant, it flowers for most of the year, Solanum jasminoides Album

Regal lilies putting on a lovely show

Regal lilies putting on a lovely show

Until the hot weather arrived ten days ago the foliage of the acanthus was still luxuriant green, the foliage is now ugly and yellow but the flower spikes look stunningly architectural.

Acanthus mollis, they are growing in virtually no soil but still flower every year

Acanthus mollis, they are growing in virtually no soil but still flower every year

Acanthus mollis

Acanthus mollis

On the wall by the gate is a cactus; we have Opuntia, Prickly pear or Fig of India as the Italians call it; but this is different, a miniature version that doesn’t produce fruit but does have these delightful flowers, but don’t touch, they are covered in needle-like hairs that are impossible to remove once imbedded in a finger.

Cactus

Cactus

P1160281

 

If you would like to see how the slope differs today to a year ago you can read about it here.

22 thoughts on “The Slope on Thursday – Evening Light and Sun

  1. It’s good you have plants that can take the heat – nice Opuntia, by the way, and I imagine you find the Perovskia very useful. Your regal lilies have lots of flowers per stem, I am eager for my lilies to start blooming. While you are having extreme heat, we are having a much cooler June than normal. Can’t we just get a happy medium?

  2. We are enjoying warm days here too, but nowhere near as hot as you have it in Italy. Its forecast to become cooler at the weekend. Solanum is a lovely plant, we grew one up the wall of our last house, are you growing yours as a shrub? I enjoyed the look back as well to a year ago.

    • I’m growing the Solanum as a shrub, it is a scrambler rather then a true climber so works well like this if you have the space mine must be 2 metres or more spread by about a metre and a half tall.

  3. Yes, it really is all relative – it has been over 40 degrees in the greenhouse, but only into mid 20s outside so not nearly as hot as you have had it. There is a noticeable change on your slope this week, isn’t there? I noticed today we had an acanthus spike – but only one, unlike yours!

  4. Wow–a year already! It was interesting to look back at your first post featuring the slope. Solanum is lovely. I’ll have to check if it’s something that might grow for me.

    • I’m sure the Solanum would grow for you Susie, it is not fully hardy but will come back from the base even in a very bad winter, and it grows so quickly that it wouldn’t matter if it lost some of its top growth. It is so generous with its flowers, 10 months a year.

  5. Christina it’s interesting how there are so many blue toned views of the slope then the pop of sunshine in the cactus,
    the Solanum jasminoides Album that flowers so well in your garden I wonder if that is because the climate and conditions are just right, it would not do that in other gardens, I say this because I have noticed in my garden climate and conditions that plants said to be shade lovers only flowering in spring etc. flower all season here, the native primrose in particular, which is why I leave them or move but never discard them, Frances

    • oophs I meant to add I took a look at this time last year, there is quite a difference but also the photos were at a different time of day giving a different over view, Frances

    • I meant to say theat the cactus I took in the morning because the flowers were closed in the evening and I wanted to show them as I rarely think of them on the wall. Do you sleep just a few hours in summer and longer in winter? I think I would hibernate altogether in winter and probably hardly sleep at all in summer!

      • no Christina my sleep pattern doesn’t change due to the amount of light, I find once we pass the winter solstice the days get lighter very rapidly and there is always lots I can do in the house, I don’t notice the dark as much as I thought I would, Frances

        • That’s good, I’m sure it changing so quickly does help, because you know that it is getting more light rather than it seeming to be dark for ever.

  6. Your views of the slope do remain interesting, which is interesting to me because Delusional Drive looks pretty much the same from week to week. I only photograph it monthly, and even then the change is not dramatic. I’m hoping that adding a few flowering things will change that some.

    • The slope has so many plants that flower for shortish periods that the scene does keep changing and I want to add more cistus and other shrubs so I will continue to show the slope while that change slowly begins.

Leave a Reply

