From the terrace looking west and the cutting bed

Yesterday evening there was a thunder storm that rumbled around for hours but sadly it rained for only a short time. The ground was wet this morning but has now dried out under the scorching sun; the weekend is forecast to be cooler with more storms; I hope they are right about the temperatures and some more rain would be lovely but storms I can live without because the threat of hail is ever present with a storm and strong winds are always cruel to the garden.

The most interesting part of the view is the Regal lilies in their pots on the terrace and then the eye is drawn almost immediately out of the garden. As I said last week, I’m happy to have the view so the problem could be worse but I do want to improve the planting just in front of the terrace which at present consists of Stipa tenuissima and ground cover Verbena. In September I will remove all this and add ????? not sure yet. It needs to be interesting in the winter as it is seen from the sitting room window and must be something that holds the eye in the garden before allowing it to wander out into the countryside beyond.

I took images early this morning at about 6.30.

West view from the terrace

West view from the terrace

Lilum regale are so much better than the Madonna lilies

Lilum regale are so much better than the Madonna lilies

Behind the Stipa are Achillea, Cistus and Lychnis coronaria

Behind the Stipa are Achillea, Cistus and Verbena bonariensis

The cuttings bed is beginning to have a few more things to cut. The Knautia is fabulous, I so enjoy having this, I wish the garden had more water so I could grow more of it there but never mind I can enjoy it cut in a vase.

I've moved some of the orange Cosmos so it forms a tighter block so I had more space to plant out the white Cosmos (it was late becaue I bought the seed in the UK at the end of April

I’ve moved some of the orange Cosmos so it forms a tighter block so I had more space to plant out the white Cosmos (it was late becaue I bought the seed in the UK at the end of April

Cosmos sensation definate candidates for 'In a vase on Monday'

Cosmos sensation definate candidates for ‘In a vase on Monday’

First flowers on the stocks (from seed)

First flowers on the stocks (from seed)

Knautia, much darker than it looks here

Knautia, much darker than it looks here

I'm so enjoying the sunflowers, not something I've ever grown before

I’m so enjoying the sunflowers, not something I’ve ever grown before

I hope you have a lovely weekend, gardening or otherwise.

32 thoughts on “From the terrace looking west and the cutting bed

  1. I hope you have a lovely weekend too Christina, the potatoes in my cutting bed are just flowering, but I am mad with myself for not growing flowers as lovely as yours! The 6.30 am light looks very peaceful.

  2. You have many nice flowers. Seeing the stocks brings back fond memories of my mother’s cousin, whom I think of as my gardening mentor. I need to make a note to grow them next year.

  3. Hope your weekend is lovely too Christina. The last photo is so pretty! I could imagine a figure/statue or a water feature in that view….

    • Thanks for that idea Cathy. One idea might be to re-shape the Island and Upper Drive borders to make a sort of separate garden in front for the middle and left hand ends of the terrace.

  4. I know that the weather is very different where you are Christina but I am always amazed when you show sunflowers – mine are just tiny seedlings. Also how lovely to have cosmos – I will have to wait a while for that. My knautia is flowering though and proving very useful in a vase.

    • Warm soil and hot temperatures combined with irrigation mean things grow very fast. The sunflowers were sown on 1st February (probably too early in a normal year) and planted out 19th March; I have followed your advice and transplanted the second sowings (2nd May) into the Asparagus bed they are already 60-70 cm tall. I saw a whole field of sunflowers yesterday all fully in flower.

      • Your second sowing is still earlier than my first sowing! I hope that you like the effect in amongst the asparagus – I am going to transplant my seedlings into the asparagus bed this week. Interestingly I found a self sown sunflower in a cutting bed yesterday that is already a strong healthy plant over a foot tall – the absence of late frosts has made such a difference.

  5. Ciao Christina, anch’io penso che la stipa sia troppo predominante per quello spazio. Il valore che ha per me la stipa è un po’ come l’accento in un testo scritto o musicale… Che cosa vorresti mettere in quella zona? Qualcosa che ti permetta comunque di vedere oltre…

    • Sì, Sì, non voglio perdere la vista solo di tenere I ‘occhio dentro il giardino per un momento. Voglio incorniciare la vista oppure fare due viste che sembrano diverse l’uno dal l’altro siccome c’è l’albero in mezzo (non ideale però non sarà possibile spostarcelo), forse un cespuglio a destra o a sinistra un po davanti l’albero per dare peso ad un lato.

  6. I always envy your view, but understand the yen for something interesting to arrest the eye before taking it in. I’m sure you sill keep us posted on your progress in making that happen.

  7. not sure I’d quite want hot but warm would be nice, I don’t actually have a fire on today but I am sitting in the house in a woolly jumper, such a contrast to you,
    Christina, the pots of lilies look nice though I see what you mean about the eye being lead out of the garden too quickly, I think the tall tree in the middle of the view brings the eye up and so over the garden, I’ll be interested to see what you come up with, Frances

    • We have rain this weekend Frances, well thunder storms actually so the garden is sort of sighing its contentment! The temperatures have dropped, it’s lovely! But jumpers aren’t required.

  8. The sunflowers look so cheery and summery, and the rest of your cutting garden has really come along. I’m still planning to put a few sunflower seeds in for a late bloom. I have iris to move out of the spot first so wish me luck.

  9. Sunflowers are wonderful. Stock does not grow well for me in the warm weather, I’m about to pull it out of our containers. And for some peculiar reason cosmos do not grow well for me. Love the regal lilies.

  10. Your sunflower is lovely and so early. I have mine still in pots to pop into a place soon to give some interest in the late summer. I have kept the seeds of Earth Walker which hopefully will stay dark and I am trying a light one Vanilla Ice to contrast with it. Amelia

  11. It hasn’t rained here for 2 weeks now and the ground at the plot dries out quickly so I’m doing a lot of watering at the moment. It’s fantastic having such gorgeous weather though. Lovely to see your flowers coming on. I love knautia but don’t have any – it’s on my shopping list for a future garden though. Hope you have a lovely weekend.

    • Thanks Louise I hope you have a nice weekend too. two weeks without rain doesn’t seem very much to me but we’re talking about a different country the flowers in the cuttings garden are fine I’m really happy with what’s happening big learning curve though.

Leave a Reply

