The Slope on Thursday – Happy August

It has been mostly sunny this week and hot in comparison to previous weeks but nothing like the usual heat we endure during the first week of August, hence my title! I’m happy.

The early mornings and evening are cool, wonderful!  I can work outside, I can sleep at night, there is nothing to not love about the weather so far this year.

The usual view

The usual view

Nothing usually actuals grows during July and August; if I’m lucky things are dormant if not so lucky they die.  So it is amazing to see that all the Box in the formal garden that were pruned in June are now covered in new growth; the Panicums on the slope, which in other years have caused some mirth to my readers because they are so short are growing and making good sized clumps.

Tulbaghia violacea is forming large clumps and flowering profusely

Tulbaghia violacea is forming large clumps and flowering profusely

Tulbaghia, Perovskia and Panicums making a strong  visual impact, the bees are happy too

Tulbaghia, Perovskia and Panicums making a strong visual impact, the bees are happy too

The Perovskia continues to produce its profusion of blue flowers; I think the fennel is determined to reach the sky and Solanum jasminoides ‘Album’ is covered with its white star-like blooms.  Note to self – I must take more cuttings of the Solanum, it would be a wonderful plant for the pots on the terrace, the only thing it lacks is perfume.

Lagerstroemia indica at last has some flowers, I was beginning to think I had a non flowering variety!

Lagerstroemia indica at last has some flowers, I was beginning to think I had a non flowering variety!

 

Looking up from the gate with the lovely white flowers of the Solanum on the rhs

Looking up from the gate with the lovely white flowers of the Solanum on the rhs

Prostrate rosemary is growing vigorously

Prostrate rosemary is growing vigorously

This spider's web must have been about 60 cm in diameter

This spider’s web must have been about 60 cm in diameter

Mirabilis jalapa, even this has more flowers than in other years

Mirabilis jalapa, even this has more flowers than in other years

Is there a plant in your garden that is flowering differently this year; is that because of the weather or some different treatment you’ve given it?

46 thoughts on “The Slope on Thursday – Happy August

  1. Your garden looks fabulous – it has indeed been a wonderful summer for it!

    We don’t typically receive the type of prolonged heat that we’ve gotten over July and into August – but I’m not complaining (although my garden may be!).

  2. The garden is really putting on a show this year. You have not mentioned your Wisteria lately. Mine usually has subsequent flowerings but this year it has not really stopped and I was wondering if yours was behaving the same. Amelia

    • My wisteria has had the secondary flowers almost from the moment the leaves appeared, they aren’t so noticeable because of the foliage hiding them and lots are actually on the top so not visible from underneath but I can see them when I look out of the upstairs windows.

  3. Glad you are having a good summer. We, too, have been lucky with the weather. Your garden is looking fabulous – I really like the Lagerstroemia indica. It is so very white! I had never heard of it before. Everything is growing well in my garden, but I have been totally amazed at the height of the verbenas. They must be about 8 ft! That is not what it said on the label. Someone suggested it might be the length of our summer days that makes things grow bigger here.

    • That’s an interesting thought about the reason why your Verbena are so tall, mine are about 6 foot 6 but that is due to the rain as other years they haven’t been so tall. The very first year I grew them and didn’t have much else so they were watered a lot they were taller than me, as they are this year. I love them being tall but transparent.

      • They are great structures, but I would have like the plant to have put more energy into the flower heads which are very small. Even my dwarf one has bigger flower heads! It could be the water too as we have had lots of rain amongst the sun. It will certainly be interesting to see what happens next year.

  4. Your garden is looking so happy too Christina! How lovely to have a summer like this to see your flowers at their best. We have also been fairly lucky, although the showers we are getting barely dampen the ground and it is very very dry again.

    • Just this week of hotter weather is already making a difference to some plants, but it haven’t irrigated most of the garden all summer, which is just amazing.

  5. That spiderweb is huge, I hope it’s not hunting for gardeners!
    I do like the green slope better than the dry one. We seem to be drying out here, but fortunately don’t have any real heat. With a little watering most things can tolerate this dry spell. It will be different if it gets hot!
    The tulbergia really does have a long season, I feel like it’s been going strong since tulip time!

    • I couldn’t see t he spider but I suppose just because the web was large doesn’t mean the spider was? I’ll have to check when the Tulbaghia began flowering, I don’t think it was May.

      • Towards the end of summer there are always a few smaller spiders of some sort which span our porch, top to bottom with their webs so I don’t think you need to worry about any overly large predators in your garden. But then again my opinion of a small spider does not agree with everyone else’s. Even a barely visible spider found by others in the house falls under the category of “huge!” and demands emergency removal.
        You’re right about the tulbaghia, but it does seem to have a nice long season of bloom. I would love to try it but can’t justify yet another potted plant to bring indoors for the winter….

    • I will wishing it would be like this every year, but I know that it will be hot again next year, still, I know now how it could look if I gave it huge amounts of water!

  6. I was going to ask how big the spider was, but see you’ve already covered that… maybe it’s best not to know! The Tulbaghia looks lovely. I’ve just looked it up and the RHS say it needs winter protection in colder areas, but I think I’ll give it a try.

    • I think the Tulbaghia would be fine in very free draining soil. I find that the moisture content of the soil is far more important to plant survival than the temperature.

    • Thanks Charlie, I think the Lagerstromia needs light pruning in spring for it to flower well, but it would be great if it flowered better as no other trees flower at this time.

  7. I’ve the same problem with my two lagerstroemia and am beginning to think they need to be fed better than I thought because they were full of flowers when I got them. Your garden is looking great and the field next door is so green, unbelievable. Stunning web, well spotted 🙂

    • I’ve been told that to flower well the Lagerstromia needs al the small wispy bits to be pruned off the ends of this branches, I’ll try next year. The ones I see growing around the city walls aren’t touched of course but are well established trees so maybe it doesn’t matter then.

  8. Oh my, and to think I’m trying so hard to grow one little spring of rosemary! Shady gardens don’t lend themselves to blooms in summer, or rosemary at any time of year, I’m afraid. Sure enjoy looking at yours, though!

  9. We are also having a very mild August – on most days, at least. It is awfully nice! I love that Tulbaghia and Lagerstroemia – not plants that we see around here. The Lagerstroemia makes me think of popping popcorn.

  10. Its looking glorious Christina, and how lovely to be able to sleep at night. My main surprise this year has been the Achilleas, late flowering, and in two cases, non returning. I haven’t a clue why, either. Oh, and of course there is the fact that my Stipa tenuissima are determined to flop rather than producing the wonderfully upright vase shapes when flowering you see in photographs, including of your garden! No idea whether either/both have to do with weather, or soil, or something else, still all too new!

    • My Stipa flopped this year so I think we can be sure it is because of the rain. If I’m good I comb out the flowering stems and dead foliage to reveal the fresh green, if I’m lazy or in a hurry I cut them back as I did on the slope this year.

  11. Our evenings and very early mornings have been pleasant, too, though the rest of the day is too hot and humid to enjoy. We are predicted to have some spring-like temps later this week, which is very unusual for us in August. So I can’t complain much either. I love your prostrate rosemary! And that spider web is amazing!

    • I hope you enjoy some cooler days Debbie, humid weather is the worst, I can endure the hot weather we have as long as it isn’t humid, but then the plants like the humidity so at least your garden is lovely because of it.

  12. People laughing at your Panicums? Whatever next?! This post is such a good recommendation for perovskias and I really need to get some – not that it would the same if it’s not in a large clump like yours. The Tulbaghia violacea looks great too.

  13. It’s wonderful that you have been able to enjoy your garden so deeply this year. All the views beautifully reflect your handiwork. I find that Tulbaghia violacea very charming.

Leave a Reply

