The Slope on 21st August – Slipping slowly out of summer

It was hot in Italy while we were in the UK for a week, lucky me!

This week the temperatures are actually still lower than would be expected but the weather always changes at the end of August although usually becomes summerlike again after mid-September.  This year may of course be different.

What I noticed most was that the evenings have become decidedly shorter; where before going to England dinner was usually on the terrace without the need for artificial light until almost the end of the meal, this week the light has been required from the beginning.

The slope didn’t suffer as much as the rest of the garden from the hot days last week.

The usual view

The usual view

I am still enjoying this blue zone on the slope and may look for plants to add, possibly Festuca glauca of which I have plants that have been divided from others in the garden

I am still enjoying this blue zone on the slope and may look for plants to add, possibly Festuca glauca of which I have plants that have been divided from others in the garden

Solanum jasminoides Album continues to pump out the flowers

Solanum jasminoides Album continues to pump out the flowers

Chloris at The Blooming garden mentioned that her Solanum is perfumed, I had never been aware of any perfume from mine but I plucked some flowers to put to my nose to check – nothing!  Either mine is a different variety or it is a perfume not perceptible to me.

The Verbascum are fading now, just a few blooms on the stems, but lots of seeds are maturing ready to spread for another year.

The Verbascum are fading now, just a few blooms on the stems, but lots of seeds are ripening ready to spread for another year.

Eschscholzia californica with Euphorbia myrsinites

Eschscholzia californica with Euphorbia myrsinites

Have you noticed the evenings getting shorter? or longer of course if you’re in the Southern Hemisphere?

A quick reminder that it is Garden Bloggers Foliage Day tomorrow, I would be so pleased if you join in, just post and leave a link with a comment on my post.

22 thoughts on “The Slope on 21st August – Slipping slowly out of summer

  1. Hi Christina, yes I noticed our evenings getting shorter too this week. In Scotland we see more difference between winter and summer than the rest of the UK. The summers are great, but oh dear, the winters are dire. I tidied the garden a bit yesterday and was almost tempted to take out the bedding plants as I am sure Autumn is not far away. The garden is covered in leaves too from the recent storms, so it felt like the end of summer already. It did look so much better after even a small tidy up though.
    I love your little Eschscholzia californica and your slope still looks great.

    • I miss the very late light evening that even southern England enjoys because here it is dark much earlier but then it makes up for it in winter when the light is so much stronger and lasts into late afternoon even on the shortest day.

  2. the slope is still looking good Christina, I do like the blue zone, although it’s light till just after 9.30pm it still seems to be closing in, I think it’s more noticeable this year due to all the cloud and rain we are having, I’m actually at a stage of looking forward to winter when the weeds will finally stop growing, glad you had a nice time away, Frances

    • The weeds growing through summer has been the negative side of the cooler temperatures and rain and the grass has had to be cut under the olives 4 or 5 times instead of the usual once or twice. The weeds will continue to grow here during winter so there are some negatives sides to a warmer winter. It is always good to be able to catch up with friends and family; I’m sure it is the same for you living so far from your family.

  3. Just in the last few days we have noticed a tremendous difference evenings… The trees and hills around us cut out a lot of light late in the day anyway. Oh dear Christina. Why is spring and summer always too short?! I’d like an extra three months of early June please!

    • Two Mays would suit me, but I’m really not complaining about this year, if it were always like this year and I knew it would be I could be happy with the climate. My husband says that as we near the equinox the about of daylight does change dramatically, almost 10 minutes a day.

  4. Your blues look wonderful, and I think the blue fescue would work well. Southern hemisphere days are lengthening nicely, peonies are breaking bud, early bulbs are flowering and hellebores are in full flight, some very frosty mornings but all of summer to look forward to

  5. Its cooler here in the UK, we even lit a fire last night, my daughter came home and asked if we were getting old, to which we replied yes! I hope we get a late flush of summer in September too, I am not ready for Autumn yet. Your slope looks lovely as always, is that the very tall Verbascum you are growing there?

  6. Your slope looks fresh. Festuca glauca will be nice in this area. I’ve never grown it but should. This week we’re having 93F/34C and it is too humid to do anything outdoors.

  7. Yes, the shortening daylight hours are becoming noticeable here too and night-time temperatures are cool again. Fall is on its way, although, like you, we often experience short-term blasts of heat at intervals, sometimes as late as October.

  8. The evenings are suddenly getting darker a lot earlier… and colder, and wetter. We don’t just need a bit of extra light to sit outside late now – thermals and an umbrella too! Hope you get your September summer weather, it’s something to look forward to as autumn draws closer.

  9. Yes, the shorter days make me feel a bit wistful. Today and yesterday we are having some really hot days, which has been a rare thing this summer. I also like your blue zone. Do you have any leadplant – Amorpha canescens?

  10. It feels more like September here, with the hints of autumn starting to show. The weather, too, feels more autumnal, with lower temperatures, especially in the mornings. I have to keep reminding myself it’s still August!

Leave a Reply

