The Slope on Thursday on Friday

I am a day late with ‘the view’ this week.  I could tell you I was so busy I had no time to take any photographs; I could say it was raining so heavily that it was impossible to go outside but the truth is that neither justification is true.  The simple truth is I completely forget and by the time I remembered it was dark!

The weather this week has been warmer except for Saturday when it was cool and we suffered a heavy thunder storm, so heavy that I read that 7.8 mm of rain fell in about two hours (that’s nearly 3 inches).  The sky has had a few fluffy white clouds and as you can imagine after so much rain it is very humid and the mosquitoes have been biting even during the day.

The usual view, the fennel is encroaching onto the drive and will have to be cut back soon

The usual view, the fennel is encroaching onto the drive and will have to be cut back soon

Looking slightly to the left, the Perovskia is flowering beautifully

Looking slightly to the left, the Perovskia is flowering beautifully

The Gaura which usually dies back on the slope during summer is continuing to flower

The Gaura which usually dies back on the slope during summer is continuing to flower

Gaura with the soft seed-head of a Perovskia showing the seeds are ready

Gaura with the soft seed-head of a Perovskia showing the seeds are ready

Tulbaghia have stopped flowering, I probably should dead-head them but the strong smell of garlic when you touch them rather puts me off

Tulbaghia have stopped flowering, I probably should dead-head them but the strong smell of garlic when you touch them rather puts me off

This is a Phlomis cutting I planted out two years ago, it is growing strongly

I planted this Phlomis cutting  out two years ago, it is growing strongly and forming a nice bush

 

Mirabilis jalapa with Solanum jasminoides Album

Mirabilis jalapa with Solanum jasminoides Album

Mirabilis jalapa, as soon as the sun hits this in the morning the flowers close until the evening

Mirabilis jalapa, as soon as the sun hits this in the morning the flowers close until the evening

Looking up the slope from the gate

Looking up the slope from the gate

38 thoughts on “The Slope on Thursday on Friday

  1. I was intrigued by Mirabilis jalapa, as its not a plant I know, so googled it, your photo is a lot nicer than the RHS one! I love that hot pink especially at this time of year, it makes me feel summer is not over.

    • Although not a native here, this plant grows everywhere it has very succulent roots that store water, it even grows on the sides of roads where it has escaped from gardens.

  2. It may still be hot, but I think your light is changing too Christina. Love the photo of the jasmine and mirabilis…. with some queen anne’s lace creeping into the picture too. 🙂

    • Last year there was one Queen Anne’s lace, I hoped it would seed and it has, I will have to be careful that it doesn’t take over but I do like the flowers very much and the seed head too is very attractive.

  3. The leaves on your phlomis are so nice and velvety. I hope it really does well for you, it’s such an interesting plant. I have a few seedlings of a pink type (not sure right now what species) but I wanted the yellow for that foliage. Has it bloomed yet? I’m not sure if it would be hardy for me.
    I can’t get over how nice the creeping rosemary is week after week. I’m again jealous 🙂

    • The Gaura is a great plant it will continue to flower until it gets very cold, although in the past I’ve chopped them back in late September because I wanted to tidy the rose bed (where most of them are) it will be interesting to see how long they flower after this earlier chop.

  4. 78mm, I think, Christina, not 7.8!! That’s a lot, if that’s what it was 🙂 The gaura is so lovely, isn’t it? Something I have not had success with, but perhaps it’s worth trying again..?

  5. Lots of lovely views there, Christina. The Perovskia (obviously!) creates a beautiful lilac haze en masse. And it makes a pretty picture with your Gaura. Mirabilis is a real beauty, with its wonderful evening perfume. I love the last view, up the slope. What is that cascading plant? Magnificent!

  6. The Mirabilis jalapa is called Belle de Nuits over here, I never realised it had a perfume in the evening. I think the Phlomis looks lovely and would do very well in my garden – another one for my wish list. Amelia

  7. I love that last view of your slope! As always, your slope is beautiful. I can feel your heat and humidity. It takes no imagination! We had about half an inch of rain yesterday. I wish we had your three!

    • Today, Monday, it is raining again and forecast for much of the day, but that may not happen. I think you have a lot more rain than us Deb, even 2 inches is rare, extremely rare in August.

  8. I love the way the slope changes as you move along it Christina, at the top it’s cool light and airy, then changes to bright magenta and looking up from the bottom it has a more formal air with strong shapes and texture, beautiful as always, Frances

  9. That’s a lot of rain, and the mosquitos don’t sound much fun… I love the hot pink of Mirabilis jalapa. What phlomis is it? I’ve not come across one with silvery leaves before, but have just bought some ‘Amazone’ for the front garden for the whorls of soft pink flowers and the wonderful seed heads. I finally managed to visit RHS Harlow Carr the other day, the have a wonderfully dramatic mass planting of perovskia running along a building clad in grey, it works beautifully. My cuttings are failing, but I am already planning to plant more, it is a wonderful plant.

Leave a Reply

