In a Vase on Monday – Yellow and Gold

It is Monday again and Cathy who is rambling not in her garden today but in the wilds of Shropshire asks us to fill a vase with flowers from our own gardens.  She prepared a vase earlier for us so we shouldn’t miss our weekly fix of picking and enjoying some flowers in our homes.

Last autumn the lovely woman whose family run the best cheese and gelato shops in town gave me some odd looking tubers which she described as being tall yellow Marguerites (to most Italians anything vaguely daisy-shaped is a Marguerite!).  I immediately recognised that they were in fact Jerusalem artichokes, something my husband desperately wanted me to grow as he has fond memories of the ‘delicious’ soup that can be made from them (you can tell from that comment that I don’t share his love of this particular soup).  We said that we ate the tubers to which she answered that they WEREN’T something that was eaten in THIS area and that she just enjoyed the tall flowers.  Well they are certainly tall, well over 2 m.  I have been looking at the buds for a while and this weekend the buds opened to reveal the pretty yellow flowers, so ideal candidates for today’s vase.

A vaguely triangular form for the hearth.

A vaguely triangular form for the hearth.

I thought I would keep with the warm yellow and orange tones of sunflowers (Earthwalker again) and Rudbeckia plus a few of the red annual dahlias.

Sunflower Earthwalker, Annual Dahlia, Rudbeckia Marmelade and Jerusalem artichoke

Sunflower Earthwalker, Annual Dahlia, Rudbeckia Marmelade and Jerusalem artichoke

Rather than keep with the same basket base vase I’ve used for the past few weeks I searched the house for another suitable container and in the spare bedroom I found this lovely Eritrean handmade basket.  It is very closely woven and strong so I put a simple glass vase inside with the last remains of the Oasis I’ve been using and set about arranging the flowers.

Tightly woven basket from Eritrea

Tightly woven basket from Eritrea

Sunny yellow daisies!

Sunny yellow daisies!

P1130106 blog

Do check out what others have put in their vases this week by visiting Cathy’s post, by the wonders of modern technology she is able to coordinate everything from here phone!

36 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – Yellow and Gold

  1. This is lovely Christina, I enjoyed your story too, it must be wonderful to live somewhere where food is held in such high esteem, even if not the Jerusalem artichoke soup. I had no idea they produced such pretty flowers.

  2. Lovely sunny arrangement to cheer me up on a very grey day here in Aberdeen. It feels all the worse for having just got back from The Dordogne and a fortnight of sunshine.

  3. Beautiful basket of sunshine. Having never eaten Jerusalem artichoke I am intrigued as to what this homemade soup might taste like. The plant’s flowers are attractive at any rate and work seamlessly with your other colorful composites. I like how you added the red dahlias for companions. They both complement and contrast with the other colors.

      • Thanks for the link. That was interesting but not sure I would seek them out. That article said in England the plant will spread like kudzu, which sends up alarms as I’ve seen kudzu swallow homesteads in a short time! Thanks again. Have a good week.

        • As I’ll be digging most of them up to eat it should keep them under control, but you’re right they do spread, in much the same way potatoes would if left in the ground. I’ve also planted them where they are in competition with the Leylandii hedge so that should kerb their growth a bit too.

  4. Christina you remind me that I have wanted to plant the Jerusalem artichokes here…this is another stunning vase that shouts, ‘it’s the last blast of summer here comes fall’. Really exquisite in that basket which I never thought to use with a vase inside. Thanks for the idea. I might try it in the future.

    • Yes, I’d agree with that – autumn is in the air just a little, although the days are very pleasantly warm and sunny. But because I haven’t dead-headed enough I soon won’t have any flowers and I don’t know what I’ll do then.

  5. Lovely colours. I do love that sunflower and the vase is gorgeous.
    A friend gave me some Jerusalem artichoke tubers a few years ago and they are terribly invasive. Every year I think I have dug them all out only to find thy are running around stronger than ever. They do make nice soup though. And they are nice roast along with other roast veg. The trouble is that the human stomach doesn’ t have the right enzyme to digest them and the result of eating them can be -shall we say – anti- social.

    • I’mhoping I have planted them in quite an inhospitable site, next to the Leylandii so their growth may be impeded. Not that you’d notice though as they are at least 2 m tall! The enzyme problem is one I will have to learn to live with I suppose unless when he eats them Richard finds they aren’t as good as he remembers!

  6. I think your yellow daisy is the same as mine I used today Christina, and I was wondering if mine is the Helianthus that is called topinambur here… is that the same as jerusalem artichoke? The roots are apparently a delicacy, but I have never tried them… Love your mix of all those yellow “daisies” ( 😉 )and the dahlias give the whole arrangement a warm glow. Well done!

  7. I used to grow JAs at one time – and finally got rid of them because of their takeover tendencies, plus the fact we didn’t eat them often enough to justify the space, not to mention their other issues – but can’t remember if I ever saw a flower on them. What a great addition to to your display though – and I am wondering what your local friend thought of you for having eaten what she sees as a purely ornamental plant 🙂 Th resulting combination is brilliant, and what a great idea to use that basket (lovely shaped) – it will encourage us all to scout round for other containers that we can put a vase or jar INTO. Thanks for sharing.

  8. How lovely and cheerful! I didn’t realise that Jerusalem Artichokes were noted for their flowers – that’s a surprise! Dual purpose! 😉 at least you get some pleasure out of them without eating them. They do look good with all your other warm and sunny “daisy” flowers.

  9. Oh Christina, this post really made me chuckle! Firstly, lovely vase, both the flower arrangement and the vessel. Jerusalem Artichokes… I grew them at my allotment because I love them roasted, or mashed with potato, or, indeed, roasted and made in to soup with garlic and cream! But oh that enzyme issue… Apparently you can build up tolerance, by starting eating in small quantities and building up gradually. I had promised myself that I would never grow them again because I got such bad stomach cramps, but got seduced in to it this year by the thought that they are delicious to eat and trouble free to grow. Except that I forgot that here everything grows taller, so now I have JAs over 2m tall, that were battered by the turbulence caused by the wind swooping over the building in the park next door. They look a mess, completely hide a great chunk of the back border, and make the garden seem smaller. I’m looking forward – with some trepidation – to eating them, but will aim to eradicate them this year. Wrong plant for my garden… And they haven’t even flowered yet, but apparently picking the flowers is really good as it concentrates the energy into developing the tubers… Enjoy 😉

  10. Hi Christina, gorgeous vase and great story. I had no idea artichokes had such a pretty flower. And I like the basket – it makes a very attractive container for your pretty and colourful arrangement.

    • These are the flowers of Jerusalem artichokes not globe artichokes which you might be more familiar with. JA you eat the knobbly roots that are a little like potatoes in appearance.

  11. Another beautiful vase. The sunflowers keep going on and on don’t they? My patch is calling it a year, a few last blooms but it’s mostly for the birds now.
    I liked your artichoke story 🙂

Leave a Reply

