The Slope on Thursday – A sunny October day

With wind from the NNE (Grecale) the temperatures dropped significantly this week with the high being about 17° C.  The clocks changed on Saturday night meaning that the mornings are slightly lighter but seem cold and each evening it becomes darker earlier.  Yesterday was cloudy so it was almost dark at 5.30pm; I think today the light will last longer, it has been a warmer sunnier day, but the wind is still blowing.  Still the house is warm enough not to need any heating; with walls of approx. 60 cm they absorb the heat during the summer and release the heat in winter like giant storage radiators.  But the floors are cold in the morning, I mentioned a while ago that I was going to look for my slippers, but then it warmed up for a while and I didn’t need them, this week I have gratefully put them on.

Not much difference on the slope this week, the persimmon foliage is colouring rather nicely so that is a bonus and the sunshine this morning has also picked out the golden hues of the Panicums.

The usual view the bright light castes shadows

The usual view the bright light castes shadows

The Panicums don't grow tall for me but their colour is great this year.

The Panicums don’t grow tall for me but their colour is great this year.

Erigeron karvinskianus - always flowering

Erigeron karvinskianus – always flowering

More back lit Pennisetum villosum, this time from morning light

More back lit Pennisetum villosum, this time from morning light

This is the best the Persimmon has ever looked in autumn

This is the best the Persimmon has ever looked in autumn

Beautiful shades of colour in the Perssimon foliage

Beautiful shades of colour in the Perssimon foliage

Do you have grasses in your garden, how do you decide where to put them?  Does the position of the sun in morning and evening help you make your decision?

24 thoughts on “The Slope on Thursday – A sunny October day

  1. That is a lovely photo of your Pennisetum villosum – I love it when the sun shines through plants. I recently put in some grasses at the side of my rockery. The sun will shine through them most of the day from different angles, but I am hoping the evening sun will be best. They will also catch the breeze quite nicely where they are. So if they take they should be in a good position to enjoy them to their full advantage.

  2. The Pennisetum really is beautiful. My actual rockery/garden is tiny compared to yours Christina, so space is the main factor when deciding where to plant anything. There are slight differences in soil too that play a role. The light has changed in the last two years or so as our trees have grown tremendously and many will need to be felled soon.

    • Space is true for us all, however large our gardens; I don’t think my garden is much larger than yours but I don’t have grass like you. Grass is just wrong in Italy but it lovely in your garden because it seems to give a centre to your space.

  3. I love your Pennisetum. Panicums are gorgeous, I have Heavy Metal, Warrior and Squaw and they are all lovely. My favourite grass which looks wonderful in the sun is Stipa gigantea.

    • I have Heavy Metal and Warrior too, but I think mine are probably much shorter than yours, but I still like them. Stipa gigantea is wonderful, I should look for seedlings from mine that could be planted to catch the light better; mine is in the shade in the evening in summer.

  4. I have quite a few grasses planted along Delusional Drive, where they benefit from both morning and evening light. In fact Miscanthis siculum ‘Morning Light’ was my favorite of the week in today’s post.
    We’ve pulled out the wooly socks, but are still a ways away from full sweater mode.

    • ‘Morning Light is my favourite Miscanthus although this year I can see that the clumps are too large and they have lost their beautiful form. I need to lift and divide them in spring. I look forward to your post.

  5. I just got my slippers out too! Our daytime temps are still warmer than yours, though. I do hope it gets cold enough to color up the leaves on my Persimmons before they fall this year but that’s not looking likely.

  6. Strangely, we are getting higher temperatures than you with sunshine and highs of 26 -27 degrees which makes it feel like summer although it drops to 10 overnight. I confess I have no grasses in the garden. I cannot get over the mental block, having pulled out so much grass as weed. I do admire the effect you have created by using it in you your garden, though. Amelia

    • It is a shame that grasses suffer from the opinion that they are weeds when they add so much movement and life to a garden especially in autumn and winter. You could start with Stipa gigantea which is very well behaved and looks spectacular.

        • If you are very lucky it might self seed but when mine has none of the seedlings have survived (I wish they would). So there is no need to worry. Also many ornamental grasses don’t have the kind of roots that weed grasses do. Just be wary of grasses that might spread quickly by runners (Gardeners Garters is one to avoid. Actually the Pennisetum villosum I’ve been showing has a tendency to run so I wouldn’t recommend that to you. Grasses are often liked by butterflies as the place for their caterpillars or chrysalises.

  7. I remember once reading a story from the South where the author described bringing the throw rugs back out for the fall, after enjoying the cool bare floors all summer. I’m sure that was back in the days before air conditioning…. Americans love their automatic climate controls these days.
    I’d love to find the room for a persimmon. We have the smaller fruited trees here as well as the Asian types. I’m not sure I’d like to eat either, but the foliage and fruits are so interesting.

    • My Persimmon is delicious, but I’ve only ever had a couple of fruit to eat. I wanted the tree for the decorative value of the fruits but I maybe have the wrong kind for that. They taste of dates when they are ripe and the fruit has the texture of a plum.

  8. Such wonderful colour on your persimmon Christina, and the backlit grass is stunning, proof that it is worth trying to plant grasses where they will reward you with that kind of magic. I’ve now got two miscanthus in my park border, but neither will supply much in the way of morning or evening backlit magic, but I have a spot in mind for a third that should catch the evening sun perfectly. I also have a stipa gigantea waiting to be planted in the front garden where it will catch the light, and added three Calamagrostis brachytricha, the latter are still very small, but hopefully next year their fluffy flower heads will catch morning and evening sun. The stipa gigantea at Harlow Carr, perfectly backlit and planted en masse, literally stopped me in my tracks.

    • You don’t think of something like Stipa gigantea being planted en masse but I can imagine it being wonderful. It has a long period when it looks great so it wouldn’t be a waste of space.

Leave a Reply

