In a Vase on Monday – Pure White

Monday means flowers from the garden in a vase for Cathy at Rambling in the Garden.

After a glorious weekend that couldn’t have been better weather-wise Monday is again cloudy.  I wanted to use flowers from the Chrysanthemums I purchased last week.  I have already taken some cuttings from the edge of the pots; in fact they aren’t really cuttings as they already have roots.  As the plants are in full flower I decided not to plant them directly in the cuttings bed as I think they would be difficult to water adequately so they are in the greenhouse, where the bees are finding the smaller flowered one a huge attraction.

I was sent a link to the Sara Raven video about growing Chrysanthemums which you might find interesting.

Photographed in the garden, I like the textures in this vase

Photographed in the garden, I like the textures in this vase

small flowered Chysanthemums

small flowered Chysanthemums

Foliage of B

Foliage of Buddleia ‘Silver Anniversary’

Solanum jasminoides Album

Solanum jasminoides Album

I picked lots of foliage material today to help the arrangement light.  I picked Asparagus foliage for the first time plus the spent flowers of Lemon Basil and the white woolly foliage of Buddleia ‘Silver Anniversary’.  Sadly the larger ‘mums have very short stems so I hope when they are grown in the ground they will grow taller, I’m sure the pots were forced into flower and treated to remain a tight mass of flowers.  This meant that they really didn’t reach the water in the vase unless they were placed right in the neck of the vase so I brought out my little Campari bottles and displayed them individually in those.

Last week’s vase was only dismantled this morning so there is a nice continuity of flowers on the side table in the sitting room.

The final arrangement

The final arrangement

 

Do visit Cathy’s post today to see what she and others found for their vases today.

35 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – Pure White

  1. I love this Christina and always like it when you create a white flowered arrangement. The Silver foliage and the lemon basil creating the downfalls are really lovely, what a great way of using that.

  2. A beautiful vase, Christina! The foliage accents are perfect. I enjoyed Sarah Raven’s video too. I never see tall Chrysanthemums like those here – just runty-sized plants in small pots clearly forced into bloom that never last long. Perhaps I’ll try growing “florist-sized” plants for next year. Raven’s greenhouse was especially impressive – how nice to be able to grow in the ground inside under cover!

    • I think white is my favourite flower colour for inside the house, but its good to have other colours too so it doesn’t become boring. SR is married to the man who would own Sissinghurst garden if it hadn’t been given to the National Trust! She was trained as a doctor but developed an interest in growing flowers that were not the usual florist’s flowers. She has now branched out into selling seeds, bulbs and small plants. I think she is quite funny on some of the videos because it is rather obvious that she doesn’t do much of the actual hands on gardening herself but likes to give the impression that she does. She wrote a book about a cuttings garden ages ago before anyone had thought of it and she now runs courses as well. There are lots of videos to watch, you might enjoy some of the others.

  3. Lovely! Subtle shades of white, beautifully set off by the foliage. I really like those mini chrysanths. I must check out the video, I bought some chrysanths from Sarah Raven, but they have only just started flowering, and apparently they grow better from cuttings rather than over wintered…

  4. Stunning arrangement, Christina. I love all your lovely white chrysanthemums and the foliage you’ve chosen looks wonderful with them. I’d love to grow chrysanths but I believe you need a cold greenhouse for them and, as yet, I don’t have one. That’s Lemon Basil and Buddleia ‘Silver Anniversary’ added to my wish list now!

  5. A beautiful arrangement Christina. I love white flowers too and I am crazy about your white vase.
    Lovely foliage. I was trying to puzzle out what the Lemon Basil was. It is so effective.

    • The lemon basil was just a lucky glance in its direction when I was walking around looking for foliage, it has the feel of a colourless salvia whorl. Necessity is the mother of invention they say and think it is true in this case.

  6. I was going to mention the lemon basil too – it’s an inspired addition. And I think I might agree on the concept of white vases, regardless of all the others that have been successful there is something about the simplicity of white. I have noticed what looks suspiciously like buddleia popping up in one of my cutting beds and thought the foliage would be useful – but I am not going to nurture it just for that reason. There was very little in the way of plants here when we bought this property but the previous owner did like his buddleias – which rapidly popped up all over the place so I removed the all ages ago – or so I thought! How long do you think the solanum will last in the vase – does it have a woody stem? Thanks for sharing.

    • The foliage of B. ‘Silver Aniversary’ is quite different to the usual buddleia so I think you are right to remove yours before it gets a hold. This is the buddliea that was in the large island but was relegated to the slope as it really doesn’t look good all the time, the dead brown flowers against the silver are not a thing of beauty.

  7. That’s lovely again Christina. Your use of white flowers in a white vase is very effective and I love the basil seedheads and the silvery buddleia foliage too. A wonderful display with the little vases separate. 🙂

  8. I found your blog by way of Rambling in the Garden, and I was pleasantly surprised! I am American, living in central Spain, where the winters are cold, the summers are brutal, and the wind is fierce all year. It’s so nice to find a garden in a similar climate. Mine is still taking baby steps, and yours will be an inspiration. I’ll be poking around your blog…
    Saludos desde España, Karen

    • Hi Karen, I’m glad you found me. Yes, my garden is windy all year and I think the summer hot wind is even more damaging than the cold winter one. You are very welcome to My Hesperides Garden.

  9. I’m partial to white flowers, so this arrangement really grabs me. As with Cathy’s this week, the shadows on the white vase add a little bit of mystery in the first photo. Such fun to see the Campari bottles in the last photo, arrayed like handmaidens around the star of the show. I’ve heard that white flowers tend to be more fragrant than their more colorful compatriots. Do you find that to be true?

    • I’ve been thinking about white flowers and their perfume since I read your comment last night; I don’t think it is true, although they say white wisteria’s perfume is better than the mauve, but mine isn’t. Winter flowers tend to be small but strongly perfumed because they must attract the bees from far away and they are often white.

  10. You seem to have got us all going with the lemon basil, Christina – what an inspired idea to use the foliage like that. I thought at first it was a Ballota or something … Interesting to read your chat with Cathy about the buddleia ‘Silver Anniversary’ – I’ll take your comments on board, but must watch out for it. Such a lovely vase; it seems so ethereal and uplifting on a damp November morning (here!). Also liked the little Campari vases!

    • Today we have sun and showers and WIND! The remains of the basil seed heads were a thought of the moment but I will certainly use them again and even leave some plants to form their flowers to have them next year. If you do a search you’ll find out more about the ‘Silver Anniversary’, I think the post may have been titled, “to go or not to go”.

  11. So cool! Beautiful! I think the simplicity of white daisy flowers takes some beating. Who’d have thought that basil flowers would have created such a magnificent display? I must confess, that at first glance, I thought that was stachys foliage rather than a buddleja. How unusual! I can see now I was wrong. Your Campari bottles are definitely serving you well!

Leave a Reply

