The Slope on Thursday 11th December

At the end of last week there was rain, quite heavy rain but this week has been sunny with blue skies, but it has also been cold, very cold, nearly but not quite touching zero during the night.  Today, though, has been sunny and pleasantly warm, the north wind dropped and it was a lovely day to be outside, hence this post is a bit late.

The slope isn’t very different today but the yellow berries on the Melia azedarach are turning a lovely yellow and look wonderful against the blue sky.

The usual view.  Look at the field beyond the garden, it is a wonderful almost emerald green

The usual view. Look at the field beyond the garden, it is a wonderful almost emerald green

I'm going to cut down the stems of Verbascum, there are enough seedlings emerging and I want to clean up the view

I’m going to cut down the stems of Verbascum, there are enough seedlings emerging and I want to clean up the view

The strong bright greens are plants of Eschscholzia californica

The strong bright greens are plants of Eschscholzia californica

Looking up the slope from the gate. The solid forms of Quercus ilex have a real pressence now

Looking up the slope from the gate. The solid forms of Quercus ilex have a real pressence now

The prostrate rosemary continues to attract the odd bee with its pretty blue flowers.

The prostrate rosemary continues to attract the odd bee with its pretty blue flowers.

These views of the slope continue to please me especially when I remember there was nothing growing here at all  until October 2009

These views of the slope continue to please me especially when I remember there was nothing growing here at all until October 2009

I love to see the yellow berries of the Melia azedarach against the blue sky

I love to see the yellow berries of the Melia azedarach against the blue sky

Do you still have bright berries to reflect the sunlight?  Is there a part of your garden that gives you pleasure all through the year?

31 thoughts on “The Slope on Thursday 11th December

  1. Your garden does look invitingly sunny and warm, Christina! It’s gloomy and cold here (or at least our version of cold). There’s a major storm and rain on its way, already wreaking havoc to the north but not expected to land here until midnight, which gives me time to get some more plants in the ground if I get off the computer and back to work. We still have berries on the Toyon and our Nandina – in fact, I plan to cut some to add to my Christmas wreath. Surprisingly, there are no berries to be found on any of the Arbutus trees, just lots of flowers, but perhaps that’s a side effect of the pruning earlier this year.

    • I think you’re right about the reason you don’t have any Arbutus fruits, They take a long time to develop, a year from the flowers so it is easy to prune them off. My exisitng tree needs pruning soon so I won’t mind using the foliage and fruits in arrangements this winter.

  2. Those golden berries on the Melia are wonderful to see. As you know, I do have some red berries, but after your comment the other day, I am seriously wondering whether I was wrong about it being Pistacia lentiscus 😛 Will have to continue investigations… The green from the eschscholzia is striking; I am wondering how long the plants last in a garden setting?

    • The Eschscholzia are very short-lived perennials, I think they last about two seasons in my garden; though this is partly because they become woody and ugly and I pull them out. But they self-seed prolifically so as long as you have free-draining soil you won’t ever be without them once you sow one packet. Look out for the hybrids too, I’ve written about Thai Silk which are in the large island, there is also a very elegant cream but is lovely planted en mass.

  3. You have created a wonderful place Christina. Amazing the slope is since 2009. I see lots of Ilex verticillata (winterberry) around town, but no berries much left in my garden.

  4. Looks so fresh and washed there. Not so much here…your placement of the Melia is far better than where I live, a few plus volunteers in the courtyard. But the beries are stunning gainst the sky at least!

  5. Lovely to see some blue sky and green green grass setting off your garden so nicely. Such a wonderful view you have! The berries really are pretty. Our berries have all been eaten, but there are still a few in the hedgerows around us. The only thing in my garden that looks nice in winter is the moss on the rocks and the golden Euonymous at the top of the rockery, which we can see across the patio from the house. It only rarely loses its leaves in winter if it gets very cold.

    • The grass always surprising me in winter, silly really, it makes sense that it is green in winter when it is brown in summer (this year it was quite green of course). The views of your woodland are lovely in all seasons.

  6. your garden looks so calm and sunny Christina such a contrast to the ferocious storms we’ve had this week, there were lots of bright red berries on the dog roses but whether or not they are still there now I haven’t been able to see yet, the third photo down, looks like spring at first the tree at the top looked to me as if it had flowers, I now realise it is beautiful berries, it’s lovely, Frances

  7. You made me think about where my favourite part of the garden was but I think I must be a bit of a nomad. I tend to favour particular areas in different seasons and sit and eat in different areas. It may be as well that it is a new garden and I am still conquering areas rather than refining them. Amelia

    • But that is good, Amelia, only the slope and the formal beds are good all year the rest come into their season throughout the year. We have tables all around the terrace so we can choose sun or shade at any time of the day and year.

  8. Christina, I remember when you started planting your slope. It has come a long, wonderful way! I love those yellow berries and that very blue sky! Here, we have bright red dogwood (Cornus florida) berries that look fabulous against the blue sky.

  9. Lovely views and look at that bright blue sky!

    We have a neighboring pine that delights all year long. It attracts birds and squirrels and the occasional cat traveling along the back fence. It smells wonderful after a rain and provides lovely shade each summer.

Leave a Reply

