Happy New Year 2015!

New Year, new beginnings and a new calendar to brighten up the kitchen or office wall.

This year I had a calendar printed to give to friends and family so that they could imagine my garden here through every month of the year.  Here are the images I chose to remember each month.

Something I learned when looking for the images to use is that I take the majority of my photos in portrait rather than landscape; something I need to rectify if I want to use my images for presentations or another calendar next year.

January

January

February

February

March

March

April

April

May

May

June

June

July

July

August

August

September

September

October

October

November

November

December

December

Happy New Year to you all and may it be a great gardening year for us all!  Thank you for following my hesperides garden, if you do, and for all your very much appreciated comments.  Best wishes, Christina

43 thoughts on “Happy New Year 2015!

  1. What a nice calendar! I love that there are so many longer views as well as the colorful close ups. I forgot how nice the spring was with the anemones and then the tulips, and the snow…. Well I guess it’s better than the hail 🙂
    Happy new year!
    I may copy this idea, not for my own calendar but just because I like how it highlights each month in one post. (I may limit the snow images, even though I could easily do five months worth in 2014!)

  2. You have chosen lovely images for your calendar. I bet the whole thing looked as good as any you can buy. It is interesting how you take more portrait photos – I am the opposite! I work on a Mac and I suppose landscape photos look better on the screen. Thank you also for your support of my blog over the last year – you were one of the top commenters. I really appreciate it. Happy New Year to you and your family!

  3. Beautiful photos, especially the August picture of the Perovskia with hedges of lavender (?). Though I realize August is not your favorite month. I hope 2015 in your garden is just as beautiful. Happy New Year!

  4. You were one of my best discoveries in 2014. Your friends are lucky, indeed, to be receiving such a beautiful and personal gift.
    I gravitate to the portrait mode also, and it seems to work best for the blog. Many other uses favor landscape mode, as you have noted. Life is never simple…keeps us on our toes.

  5. Lovely idea, Christina – and how nice it was to be reminded of some of the highlights of your garden all in one post. Interesting discussion about photo mode – I invariably crop mine and often have to square them off if I am going to use a PicMonkey collage. Look forward to seeing more of your photos throughout 2015!

  6. I’m sure that the recipients of such a gift will be delighted Christina. Reading this has also provided a timely reminder that I do not have a calendar or a diary yet for the new year. Fortune would have it that I received some Waterstones vouchers for Christmas so I know where I will be heading this weekend 🙂 Wishing you all the best for 2015 – may it treat you and your garden kindly xxx

  7. Happy New Year to you too, Christina. For a couple of years I made a calendar for the owner of the Priory using photos I’d taken throughout the year. You’ve inspired me to do so again. Dave

  8. Beautiful images Christina, what a lovely idea. We were given a calendar of photos of one set of nephews and nieces which is going to make me smile all year, they are a cheeky bunch, but yours reminds me of the ‘Gardener’s World’ calendars I used to get, full of beautiful images to inspire any gardener. I love the two contrasting images of the formal garden.

    I had to smile when you said you mostly photograph in portrait, I have the reverse tendency, I am curiously reluctant to use portrait, even when I know it would suit the subject better!

    Happy 2015, I hope you and your garden thrive, whatever the vagaries of the weather!

    • Thank you Amelia, I hope 2015 sees many more bees visiting your garden. Today, in the greenhouse there was a Carpenter bee, that had come in through the roof lights fertilising the limes and lemons, amazing to see them flying when it is so cold here.

  9. What a wonderful review of your garden year! I think I like January and April the best. And December! Your friends and family are fortunate to receive such a lovely gift. I know each one will enjoy it! Happy New Year!

  10. What a beautiful selection of photos. They must make a beautiful calender. I have toyed with the idea of doing one for my Cuttings Calender,, but wasn’t sure if my friends and family would really appreciate it. I’ll just do one for myself, maybe!

Leave a Reply

