In a vase on Monday – Dried-up!

On Monday we are invited to find material for a vase from our own gardens or nearby by Cathy at Rambling in the garden.  This has become one of the most addictive memes maybe because it gives the contributor pleasure all week.

I am one of those who never wanted to pick flowers from the garden thereby depleting the borders, but I have always loved to have cut flowers in the house.  Creating a cuttings bed last year was a great beginning to not feel guilty about picking for the house.

But there comes a time when there really is nothing fresh to pick.  I didn’t want to use the same evergreens again, even though I’m sure I will use them again soon, when hopefully I might have thought of a new way to arrange them.

So today I turned to seed-heads.  I picked lots of seed-heads from the garden when I was tidying some of the plants; I also left lots in the garden too.  The Alliums I chose to use in my arrangement today I actually picked two years ago and I am amazed that they have kept in such good condition.  They have been in small vases high up on shelves in the kitchen, but I thought they deserved better treatment; I have therefore placed them in one of the large vases you saw at New Year.  To add some solidity I added some Sedum flower heads that will soon need to be cut back anyway as the rosettes of new foliage are already pushing up through the soil.  In the background is a single stem of the very airy Eragrostis spectabilis, it doesn’t add much in the images but I like it in reality.

P1140357 blog

Allium schubertii

Allium schubertii

Allium christophii

Allium christophii

Eragrostis spectabilis

Eragrostis spectabilis

3 varieties of Allium are included

3 varieties of Allium are included

Three varieties of Allium are included, Allium schubertii, A. christophii and A.aflatunense.  they are almost worth growing just for their seed-heads but of course they are wonderful as flowers too.  I planted many more Alliums last autumn, it will be lovely to have them flowering in late spring and summer.

Do visit Cathy to see what everyone else has found today.

 

25 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – Dried-up!

    • I have lots of grasses still standing but they will need cutting back soon as they are beginning to grow from the base. I save good stems to use as dried arrangements, I’ll probably be using some very soon.

  1. One of my favorite flowers is allium in all its ornamental or edible splendor depending on the variety. But in my need to clear the garden of spent blooms and plant material this fall, I cut them all back. Usually I leave a few for winter interest and will have to next year now that I know I can create so many wonderful vases through winter. I usually plant more every fall too as I never seem to have enough.

    I love the ones you chose Christina, especially Allium schubertii which does not always return for me. And the vase you chose seems a perfect match to complement the beiges and browns in the arrangement. Beauty in all its dried and natural grandeur.

    • A. schubertii never returns for me and most of the others only occasionally, strangely most Alliums need more water than occurs naturally here! But they are worth planting each year as they last for years dried if picked and for many months dried in the garden apart from the lovely fresh bloom themselves.

  2. You’ve done a great job arranging the seedheads Christina. I covet Allium christophii – fresh and dried – but have never been able to grow it successfully.

  3. I love it Christina – and although I have a christophii head from a number of years ago I forgot to pick any new allium heads this year. This vase is perfect for them, both the colour and shape. I gather you are still not fully recovered from your flu – do take care. I hope it’s not getting you down too much

    • Thanks Cathy, I feel fine now, just my voice suddenly disappears, not good while teaching! Talking also makes me cough. But really I do feel fine! I think there will be more vases of dried flowers and seed heads but I’ll try to make them interesting.

  4. This is a nice reminder of the blooms to come! I planted a few more Alliums last autumn, but no more of these schubertii as they just don’t do well in my soil. Too dry probably! The red vase is very impressive too Christina.

  5. How lovely Christina. I recognise those alliums. I admired them when I saw them in your kitchen. I love the vase you have used, it goes so well with the dried flowers.

    • Thank you Liz, you are very observant to have noticed the Alliums, high up on their shelf! As there are no fresh flowers to pick I think it will be dried arrangements for a few weeks to come.

  6. Like many others, I love the Oxblood vase. It’s a color I also love in a lamp base when I can find it. It sets off your natural seed heads and dried flowers beautifully. What is winter like in Italy this year–you are in Lazio, is that right?

    • Yes, that’s right, I live in northern Lazio. The weather has been quite cold so far this year. We’ve had many nights of sub zero temperatures (°C), the average daily temperature has been less than 10°C. The last week and the week of New Year have been very windy which makes it feel even colder.

  7. Oh wow, that IS cold. Although I remember one winter in Rome when the plants froze in the bedroom! We were renting an old farm house out in Morlupo and we used bombola’s for heat because it was too expensive to heat the entire old and huge house. It was beautiful…but with lots of tile, very cold. Christina, I got your message about how you dry lemon rind with salt. You said you would be willing to send me your recipe. I’d rather have yours than something I find online. I’d LOVE to have your recipe. It would make it personal. Especially from someone in Lazio, which is still so dear to my heart. You can put it in the blog post or email me. Thank you very much.

  8. I have stashes of dried material that I am loathe to part with. I use them to tie onto packages and a Allium schubertii sits atop a kitchen cupboard. I love your use of them in that dramatic red vase.

Leave a Reply

