The slope on Thursday – Growth

Another good week for gardening!  How wonderful is that?  It is still quite cold but the sun has been shining and as long as you are in the sun it feels quite warm.  This morning I was pruning the wisteria on the pergola around the terrace.  It takes a long time to prune back every side branch but at least now I am past the stage of having to tie new branches into the structure.

There is noticeable growth on the slope, the Eschscholzia californica (Californian poppies) are now quite large and I am thinking about looking for buds!

The bright green patches are the Eschscholzia

The bright green patches are the Eschscholzia

The prostrate rosemary continues to please the bees by producing more and more flower.

My river of Rosemary flows down the slope

My river of Rosemary flows down the slope

Flowers on the prostrate Rosemary

Flowers on the prostrate Rosemary

Looking up to the Melia

Looking up to the Melia

Look at the colour of the sky, no wonder I’m feeling energised.

The birds have discovered the Melia azedarach berries, this is the first year they have been eaten

The birds have discovered the Melia azedarach berries, this is the first year they have been eaten

I am ready to say goodbye to the dead stems of the grasses (mostly Panicum) and the Perovskia; it is time to prepare the garden for spring and spring bulbs which are beginning to push through.

The usual view

The usual view

 

Sadly rain is forecast for the weekend but in tiny amounts so that often it doesn’t actually rain at all but there will be some cloud.

What is the weather doing where you are?  I know that North America has had more snow and very cold temperatures; I hope it improves soon for you.

Sunday is the 22nd and Garden bloggers Foliage day, I hope you will be able to join in this monthly celebration of foliage.  Just post linking to my post and leave a comment with your link.  I look forward to seeing what your ‘take’ on foliage will be this month.

53 thoughts on “The slope on Thursday – Growth

  1. The sun does wonders to improve the spirit – as well as the sight of all the new growth and bulbs pushing through. The Rosemary, which I’ve so often admired, is looking even better now it’s flowering. Here, we have just had two beautiful sunny, spring days, but, sadly, the rain is back for the weekend!

  2. Jealous that spring is well on its way in your part of the world. Interesting that it took the birds some time to learn that they like the Melia berries. I had a similar experience with red elderberry.

  3. Experience would seem to indicate that the gophers steer clear of bulbs that are intermingled with herbs, so more of the prostrate rosemary is in my future, especially after seeing yours. It has been unseasonably warm here this month. Hope it holds so I can get all the weeding and pruning accomplished.

    • I hope your weather stays good too Rickii. I’ve tried moving some of the Madonna Lilies to very close by the rosemary in the hope of confusing the lily bettles, which I have already seen in parts of the garden and the lilies are hardly showing their shoots yet!

  4. It sounds like your cold weather was just long enough for you and the plants, actually I bet a week less winter would have suited you just fine! The change in your tone is such a night and day to the gloominess of just a few weeks ago, and I’m glad to hear it 🙂
    I think my favorite plants in your garden are the wisteria and rosemary. The wisteria puts on such a show, but the rosemary never fails to look good…. and the fragrance is a bonus.
    I can’t wait to see your spring bulbs, if it’s half as nice a display as last year (I’m expecting the tulips to come back slightly weaker) it will be a fantastic show.
    Have you ever tried hippeastrum outdoors? They or amaryllis belladonna might really enjoy your climate.

    • I don’t mind it being cold I just hate it when I can’t see the sun! I have planted amaryllis belladonna but I think they weren’t good bulbs, after some years, last year one flowered, at the moment I can see the foliage from three bulbs which is what, I think, I planted. All the plants that give me most pleasure are the ones suited to the climate and conditions, even those that are on the edge of being suitable don’t really perform that well.

      • We have plenty of sun today, it’s nearly blinding reflecting off the snow!
        That really doesn’t sound hopeful for the amaryllis, I also lose patience with unhappy plants. If you ever happen to have a spare hippeastrum give that a try, they actually handle a bit more frost than you’d think, but also don’t mind some drought. Here they do well across the south, yet the belladonna only does well in parts of California, so maybe it’s fussier.

  5. I’m glad you’ve been able to enjoy the good weather and your garden. Don’t bemoan the rain, Christina! – it’s a precious resource (if sometimes inconvenient). Too bad you can’t direct it our way. While Northern California had heavy rains the week before last, SoCal got none of it and we are parched! Forecasters say there’s a “slight” chance of “drizzle” on Sunday (of note to non-gardeners only because it impacts the Oscars event).

  6. Yes, I am in the process of cutting down the grasses- miscanthus Morning Light and Malepartus ,plus various Panicums. I always think perhaps I could thatch a small hut with them! Alliums coming through and the first daffodils flowering. Weather is changeable, but lots of rain. Lilies and dahlias arrived, so lots of potting to do.

    • What dahlias have you chosen Linda and where did you buy them. I went to Pienza today and passed the road up to where you were staying; that was such a lovely day I spent with you.

      • peter Nyssen for dahlias and lilies. The dahlias are Bishop of Canterbury and Masquerade- bright colours for contrast in the dark border,with some dark foliage, and the lilies are Bright Diamond and a new one for me, Beverley’s dream- cream with a chocolate/purple centre. No doubt exciting food for the lily beetles!

        • I’ve already seen lily beetles on the Madonna lily, which it seems to love more than anything else to the extent that I am considering removing them altogether.

  7. Your sky is a stunning colour for February and your rosemary makes a wonderful waterfall of colour.
    We got up to fog this morning but the sun soon burnt through and it looks as though we might get a nice day after all.

  8. A lovely blue sky, what a joy it is to be getting on in the garden at this time of the year. We have had some days like that recently. Your Rosemary river looks fantastic.

  9. Christina your river of prostrate rosemary does look lovely, the spiky leaves and tiny flowers made me think of the similarity in look to ericas, the weather here this week has switched and changed from bright sun to rain and at times sleet, the switch has been so frequent some days that there have been rainbows, I did manage an hour at the tree edges a few times this week but each time forgot to go to the side of the house and dig up some leeks, Frances

    • The Rosemary was just called prostrate, the nurseries here aren’t really into having special varieties of things like rosemary! there are specials that may be worth searching out.

  10. Do you just prune your wisteria once a year, Christina? It’s a job I enjoy doing, even though it involves extending the ladders and getting The Golfer to hold them while I climb up to the apex of the extension. I find the end result very satisfying – do you? I now have another prostrate rosemary – they are quite hardy here I believe and I only lost the last one as I moved it but didn’t remember to water and nurture it.Yours always looks so lovely. Mixture of sunshine and brief showers here today, but not wet enough to keep me away from work on the raised bed – due to be wetter tomorrow though and back to colder nights.

    • I usually prune off very long shoots of the wisteria during the summer but now that the structure is there I only do one complete prune and yes, I do find it very satisfying and lovely seeing where I have finished. I need some dry windless days to finish it now!

  11. What a difference a week or two makes! Our temperatures have cooled down slightly – which was a relief as I have been setting out young plants I grew from seed. They have enough to deal with just from the intense sunlight… Your rosemary gives such a nice sense of flow to the slope, and it’s wonderful to see it in full bloom 🙂

  12. Hi Christina! It’s raining here this morning so I have the time to do a little catch up with the blogs instead of rushing outside and prune roses… I love your rosemary stream, I wish I could roll down that slope, over the rosemary and smell like rosemary for the rest of the day! 🙂

  13. Dreary, dreary, rain, and cold here, but very typical of our winters. I want to see the sun! It must be such a joy to see all the signs of spring in your garden!

  14. It’s so good to be able to get outside and enjoy the spring sun and new flowers-really blows away the winter blues and gives you the energy to get through the last blast of winter. I enjoyed seeing your slope bathed in sunshine and the river of rosemary. I can imagine the smell of that foliage from here.

Leave a Reply

