In a vase on Monday- 1, 2, 3 and 4!

Monday is the day Cathy at Rambling in the garden asks us to share a vase of flowers picked from our own gardens.  During the winter this has been hard, sometimes very hard!  But spring has arrived and the garden is providing us with its bounty.

I picked and arranged all the vases I want to share with you today on Friday so that they could be enjoyed over the weekend.  All are looking as good today as they did on Friday and I expect most of them to last about a week.  Last week’s birdcage continued to look pretty until Friday and the Cerinthe from the vase of tulips has been reused in the basket today, although I did have to strip off the lower leaves which had turned yellow.

After my post on Friday you might be anticipating vases of tulips, but apart from the ones I’ve rescued after having their stems eaten through, I decided to enjoy the tulips where they are in the garden.

My little Campari bottles with tulips, wall flowers and Freesias on the kitchen mantlepiece

My little Campari bottles with tulips, wall flowers and Freesias on the kitchen mantlepiece

I planted one pot of Dutch Irises in the greenhouse

I planted one pot of Dutch Irises in the greenhouse

Also included are white Ranunculus and Ami majus

Also included are white Ranunculus and Ami majus

They were described as white but they have quite a lot of yellow too

They were described as white but they have quite a lot of yellow too

Again in the kitchen I have a vase of Narcissus, these seem very late, I think they need a long period of cold so they will always flower after or alongside the tulips

Again in the kitchen I have a vase of Narcissus, these seem very late, I think they need a long period of cold so they will always flower after or alongside the tulips

I photographed this basket outside in the bright sunshine this morning

I photographed this basket outside in the bright sunshine this morning

Orange Ranunculus, Cerinthe, Freesias and masses of Wall flowers

Orange Ranunculus, Cerinthe, Freesias and masses of Wall flowers

The basket comes from Eritrea and inside I have used some other tiny baskets with lids as props

The basket comes from Eritrea and inside I have used some other tiny baskets with lids as props

What can you find in your garden today?  Do share and visit Cathy to see what she and others have found today.

A vase of flowers cut from your own garden is a wonderful way to start the week.  Have a happy gardening week and let’s hope the spring weather continues so that we can all enjoy our gardens.

33 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday- 1, 2, 3 and 4!

  1. The white and delicate yellows in your iris arrangement are so lovely. The garden here is full of daffodils and muscari planted by the previous owners… not quite as subtle as you irises, but a nice reminder that spring really is here.

    • How lovely for you to be discovering all the treasures that are in your new garden Sarah. I’m sure there will be some varieties of Iris that will suit your conditions. they are such a useful group of plants.

  2. Such an abundance! How I love Mondays and seeing everyone’s vase as well as making my own! I love the row of bottles on the mantlepiece but your ‘white’ vase is just so elegant and stylish – and then there is your basket too…. It really shows that whether it is just a single or a few blooms or something bigger and more elaborate it will still bring pleasure – and that is what everyone who contributes on a Monday has come to realise even if they didn’t think so before. Have a great week with all your lovely flowers Christina!

    • Before taking part in your meme, I’d never thought of putting a collection of small vases together; I love the effect and the kitchen mantelpiece is the ideal place. I can see them all the time I’m in the kitchen and because they are quite high it is easy to see and enjoy them.

  3. That’s a florapalooza, Christina! Everything’s so pretty – I’m almost speechless. The basket arrangement is over-the-top, like something a professional florist might produce (at considerable expense). Altogether wonderful.

    • I just couldn’t stop picking, it was so wonderful to have so much choice! The basket wasn’t difficult to do I put a glass vase in the basket and used the Oasis from last week’s bird cage.

  4. I really love the less full vases (I think I’m a bit of a minimalist). Although with the abundance that’s available in your garden it must be very satisfying to fill a huge vase every monday.

  5. I bought an iris that looks very much like that last year, but am still waiting for it to bloom. A short purple bearded iris is always the first, and I spotted some bulging buds yesterday. The ongoing parade of irises is definitely a high point of spring for me. I could use a few more nooks where I could place vases with all of the present abundance. Each of your displays has its own personality, each impressive in its own way. No favorites here…I love them all.

    • The iris is I. Apollo, the colour is interesting, I thought it would be white with just a splash of yellow but it actually has some of the petals a slightly bluey grey colour. Irises are such an amazing family of plants. I think it might almost be possible to have an Iris flowering every day of the year.

  6. Each arrangement is wonderful in its own right. The richness of color and variety of flowers in the basket is spectacular. I also admire those beautiful Dutch Irises.

    • The Irises don’t seem to need a cold period to set them into growth, just the warmer conditions in the greenhouse have speeded their flowering; I think the ones in the garden will be at least another couple of weeks before they open, the bearded Iris will probably be flowering at almost the same time as many are showing fat buds.

  7. You really are enjoying lots of garden bounty at the moment Christina!! It will probably be at least a month before I have so many blooms to choose from. I loved seeing all your different vases this week – the campari bottles always work so well and the iris arrangement is just beautiful. I must remember to plant some dutch iris in the greenhouse this year. I have lots of the same narcissi in flower here too and they do always coincide with the tulips. As for that basket- I am speechless – it is truly amazing and you are so lucky to have all those flowers out in April!

    • I know it was all a bit over the top this week; but it was so lovely having so many flowers to choose from. I am so enjoying having the house filled with flowers. Also with such bounty it is easier to understand which flowers I actually like the most, and which look better in a vase alone and which in mixed arrangements.

  8. They are all wonderful! I like the way you have lined up your campari vases… a very good idea to use identical little bottles or jars. But the iris wins this week! It is absolutely gorgeous! The whole arrangement is so graceful and fresh. 🙂

  9. Oh what riches Christina. Spring must be definitely in full gear in your part of the world. The colours in that basket work so well together and your pickings must throw off some rather delectable scent. How long does ranunculus last once picked?

    • The wall flowers are rather disappointing regarding fragrance, I will have to look for other varieties for next year. The Ranunculus last more than a week in a vase, some have been moved from one arrangement to another and must have looked fresh for two weeks.

  10. What an abundance of flowers! I love the Campari vases and the basketful of flowers is amazing. The delicate colour scheme of the Iris and Ammi is divine.

  11. Wow! A gorgeous series of vases. All lovely, and all so different. I’m definitely planning on getting some of those white ranunculus. I love all the jewel-like colours in the basket. Nice to see the Campari bottles again!

    • The Ranunculus have been great value, I’ll certainly grow them again next year and I’ll plant these out into the garden when they’ve finished flowering. Luckily the weather is warming up and it will be time to drink more Campari! I don’t like it when the weather is cold.

  12. I love the colour and abundance of your vases, especially the colourful basket and the white and elegant irises. No irises here for a while yet, tho the wild yellow flags have enjoyed winter wet, and are sending up spears everywhere…. What a good plant that ranunculus is.

    • It is so wonderful to have so much flowering in the garden again. The wisteria is also now in full bloom and the perfume is intoxicating when you are anywhere near it. Tulips and wisteria what more could I ask?

  13. Hello Christina, I have missed a few weeks of your posts, my fault not yours but what a post to come back too. These vases are gorgeous, you have such an abundance of choice, looking forward to catching up with your garden to see how that’s looking too.

Leave a Reply

