The Slope on Thursday – Blue and Orange again but different

At last it really does feel like spring weather has arrived.  For the first time this year I have actively sought out a shady spot when I’ve been in the garden because the sun is so hot.  The images for this post were taken on Wednesday late afternoon, at about 5.45 and just look how bright it is!

There is no ground to be seen on the slope now so that when I want to plant out my Cistus cuttings I will have to clear them a space and mulch well so that they have a good chance of establishing.

The usual view

The usual view

The thyme is suddenly flowering

The thyme is suddenly flowering

I love the flowing forms here with the sword like Iris leaves the bright hit of orange from the Eschscholzia and the cushion of flowering thyme

I love the flowing forms here with the sword like Iris leaves the bright hit of orange from the Eschscholzia and the cushion of flowering thyme

Last week I showed you the elegant spires of the Iris stems, this week as I predicted some of the flowers have opened.  These are the native Iris here in Italy and you often see them outside people’s gates.  They are the favourite food of the porcupine who will dig and make a dreadful mess to get at the rhizomes; luckily they can’t get into the garden so these are safe.

The warm sunshine has brought the native irises into bloom

The warm sunshine has brought the native irises into bloom

Every day there is more and more orange from the Eschscholzia californica

Every day there is more and more orange from the Eschscholzia californica

DSC_0929_20150415_0082

Star of Bethlehem  stems grow longer if they need to grow above surrounding plants, rather clever!

Star of Bethlehem stems grow longer if they need to grow above surrounding plants, rather clever!

The sudden warmth has spurted all the trees into blossom of foliage and more and more tulips are blooming so I think another post about the spring walk and other tulips is in order for tomorrow, plus the wisteria flowers are finally fully open and the intoxicating perfume is just wonderful.  What new scented planted are flowering in your garden this week.

32 thoughts on “The Slope on Thursday – Blue and Orange again but different

  1. I love the contrast between the upright blades and large flowers of the iris backed by the smaller leaves and flowers of the prostrate rosemary. The Osmanthus burkwoodii here is full of sweetly-scented flowers which greeted me this morning with the scent of jasmine.

  2. I love that hit of orange among the blues and those amazing purple irises. Those colours work so well together-I can’t understand how some people will not have a particular colour in the garden You have the placing and proportion just right.. Here the Vibernum Bodanense wafts scent everywhere when the sun shines, also the lovely tulip Ballerina is sweetly scented.

    • I have to admit I haven’t noticed the perfume of ‘Ballerina’ I will go and check now. I used not to like orange and some reds but in the strong light here, you need strong colours, I am drawn more and more to many shades of orange.

  3. I’m so glad your Iris can’t be attacked by your wildlife. Your Californian poppy adds a lovely touch to the blue of the plants with it.
    The main perfume in the garden at the moment is from Euphorbia melliferra which wafts its perfume across the garden. Just today I noticed Narcissus Pipit have opened and they have a gorgeous perfume, but you have to get close and personal!

    • I definitely need to track down a Euphorbia melliferra; I’ve never seen one here but that doesn’t mean it won’t grow! Do you think it would grow from seed as I can always get seed sent to me.

  4. My thyme has just started to bloom yesterday you seem to be a little forward, as usual. What is that rounded glossy leaved shrub above thyme? Can’t be an elegant, it’s so tidy!

  5. The slope is looking beautiful. The Wisteria at the back door fills the area with its heavy perfume. My Choisya Sundance is flowering too but it can’t hold its own against the Wisteria. Amelia

  6. Lovely irises – they look just like our Spanish irises. I’m letting them take over certain parts of the garden because they do so well here.

    Your slope is quite well filled in and looks great. I see that there are drought tolerant plants. Do you use any drip irrigation there, or do they do well on their own?

    We had a gale for 8 days, so my wisteria is shot. Have to wait until next year. Enjoy yours!

    • No, there is no irrigation on the slope, I only irrigate small parts of the garden and the vegetable and cutting beds of course. I chose plants that had done well in other parts of the garden when I began the slope as I wanted it to take care of itself which it pretty much does. Sorry to hear about your wisteria, I lost some buds to the wind but luckily if wasn’t actually flowering when we had gales here.

  7. How your garden has come alive with the sunshine. It looks wonderful; well it does all year round, but there is an extra zing now with all the colour. We have had a fabulous couple of days here too.

  8. The thyme and rosemary are a lovely backdrop for the irises, and the splashes of orange in between bring it to life! It’s been very warm and sunny here too. Look forward to seeing more tulips! 😉

  9. The slope is looking great – the plants are so healthy and full looking – especially without any extra water. I love the Thyme, Rosemary and Irises…all blue together and then that punch of orange. Just lovely!

  10. I love the combination of the purple Iris and the orange California poppies! Despite putting down loads of poppy seeds last fall, I’ve got nothing to show of them – all were planted in areas dependent upon rain and what little rain we received during our December-March rainy season was insufficient to get them going (although a few self-seeded flowers returned in the veg garden where the irrigation helped things).

  11. like Cathy I was surprised when you mentioned porcupines, good job your garden is suitably fenced Christina, blues and mauves/purples being my favourite colours I love the flowers of the slope and the dashes and dots of the orange poppies make a nice contrast, Frances

    • Porcupines are an ever present animal here in central Italy; they are rather fine if you see them, especially if they have babies with them, but they do a huge amount of damage if they get into a vegetable garden, but their favourite food seems to be irises.

Leave a Reply

