In a Vase on Monday – Flowers, flowers everywhere flowers

The cuttings beds are full of flowers that need cutting otherwise they will make seed and stop flowering so it was necessary to cut as many as possible for my vases this Monday when I join with Cathy at Rambling in the Garden as she encourages us all to pick flowers from our gardens to enjoy in the house.

For the weekend I had put together a large arrangement in the same huge bowl I used last week, I didn’t photograph until today and it isn’t looking quite as amazing as it did when it was first completed but I thought you might like to see it anyway.

Blue and White - I love this colour combination

Blue and White – I love this colour combination

The base of the base is Philadelphus, it smells wonderful but doesn’t last long as a cut flower, but I couldn’t resist using it anyway.

White Antirrhinums, White Gladioli 'The Bride' and Blue Larkspur

White Antirrhinums, White Gladioli ‘The Bride’ and Blue Larkspur

Last week’s vase with the Alliums is just hanging on, it might last another couple of days.

Gladioli 'The Bride' is a beautiful elegant flower that returns each year in the garden and is lovely in a vase

Gladioli ‘The Bride’ is a beautiful elegant flower that returns each year in the garden and is lovely in a vase

I have also had a bowl of roses in the sideboard since last Tuesday but somehow the images of that are completely out of focus and so I can’t share that with you, but on to the proper vases for today.

The blue Larkspur is a wonderful dark colour, it hasn’t photographed that well as the kitchen is quite dark (but cool) now that the wisteria is covered in leaves; the Larkspur is combined with yellow Antirrhinums and Sisyrinchium striatum which are spreading around the garden, its obvious they like the conditions.

Blue Larkspur combined with yellow Antirrhinums and Sisyrinchium striatum

Blue Larkspur combined with yellow Antirrhinums and Sisyrinchium striatum

Blue Larkspur combined with yellow Antirrhinums

Blue Larkspur combined with yellow Antirrhinums

You can see how beautiful the blue larkspur is, I will definitely plant more and also try white next year.

Also in the kitchen, this time on the mantle shelf is a mixture of almost everything in the cuttings beds.

Knautia is suddenly flowering prolifically

Knautia is suddenly flowering prolifically

The Alliums are from last week.

Peachy pink small gladioli, I don't like them as much as the white

Peachy pink small gladioli, I don’t like them as much as the white

The small gladioli are the small colour as one of the Antirrhinums.

Dark Cosmos, Knautia, Ixia

Dark Cosmos, Knautia, Ixia

Dark Cosmos, Ixia, Antirrhinum

Dark Cosmos, Ixia, Antirrhinum

The vases are a alternate Campari bottles and square form vases from Ikea.

The kitchen mantle shelf

The kitchen mantle shelf

Do visit Cathy today, she’s zinging with colour today, better still why not nip out into the garden and pick something pretty and join in this week, Cathy will make you very welcome.

35 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – Flowers, flowers everywhere flowers

  1. You really do have a lot to show this week, it shows just how far ahead your season is to the UKs. I really like the row of small vases.

    • Thanks Helen, I like repetition in vases and in the garden too. Our seasons are often similar until May arrives and then it really warms up here and everything flowers at once.

  2. Wonderful to have such an abundance of flowers. The Blue Larkspur is such a deeply rich blue–perfect with the white or yellow themed vases. That first blue and white arrangement is completely professional, with great proportions and harmony.

  3. I was going to say the same as Helen – this is so noticeable now I am growing many of the things that you have used. It will be along time till my larkspur matches yours – they have only just got their first true leaves! If they can be Autumn sown I shall definitely be doing that this year. All your vases are so lovely – I love the abundance of the blues and whites in the first one, the various matched combinations in the little ones and of course blue and yellow always looks good. I assume they are quite a tall Sisyrinchium? Thanks for sharing your bounty today Christina!

    • I did autumn sow the Larkspur, but I would probably leave it a little later next year. The ones sown in February haven’t yet been planted out. I am so enjoying all the flowers in the house, especially in the kitchen.

      • Hmm, mine were a late addition so weren’t sown till the end of March and they have a very long way to go so perhaps Feb would be early enough here too. I shall have to start having some extra vases too as I can be confident I will never run out of material or ideas (or actual vases!)

  4. How wonderful to have so much choice, I am kicking myself for not planting Gladioli ‘the bride’ after seeing it your blog last year, something I will remedy. Your Campari bottle bouquets are really pretty, I could definitely make room for that here.

  5. You’ve got a gorgeous collection of vases this week, Christina. Your kitchen mantle is wonderful to behold. I wish I’d planted larkspur this year. And I’m surprised to see you already have gladiolas in bloom!

    • The gladioli are the dwarf very simple varieties closer to the wild one that grows here and has already flowered and finished. The hybrids are still just leaves and will flower next month.

  6. It’s a fine problem to have: so many flowers that must be cut. You put yours to excellent use. I must remember to scatter some larkspur seed.

    • I think Larkspur needs some cold to push it into germination, and the rates of germination weren’t great, I think scattering it might be a bit optimistic.

        • I put the seed in the fridge for about three weeks before sowing it in the greenhouse in a propagator but in the house should work too, its the cold that is the important part it breaks the dormancy.

  7. What a lovely collection of different flowers and vases this week! I do love those little vases on your kitchen shelf. Cosmos and Antirrhinums will take ages to flower here – I looked for some of the latter today in a garden centre and they were still tiny plug plants! That first arrangement is quite something – you are getting so good at this Christina!

  8. Oh such riches Christina – you must be spoilt for choice 🙂 Your garden sings of summer whilst here in the UK we are still very much in spring mode especially as May has been so cool up to now.

    • Our spring was cool Anna right up until the first week in May then it became more like summer, we are promised cooler weather later this week and rain, I have my fingers crossed.

  9. And I thought my 5+ vases accumulated over years was alot! Then again, your garden puts yours to a good use…stunning, relaxed combinations you have…my vote is for the ones with dark cosmos…

  10. Pingback: In a vase on Monday – Botanically Brewed | Frogend dweller's Blog

Leave a Reply

