Wordless Wednesday – Views I’m enjoying this week – Bright Light

I intended taking the photographs for this post yesterday evening but somehow it just didn’t happen.  This morning the light is very bright so the images are a little Chiaro/Scuro.

Chiaro/Scuro in the Back Border

Chiaro/Scuro in the Back Border

Miscanthus sin. ‘Morning Light’ is living up to its name.  The orange Abutilon’s colour is stronger in the shade.

Rosa Vielchenblau has been flowering for longer this year

Rosa Vielchenblau has been flowering for longer this year

Wisteria has begun its secondary flowering

Wisteria has begun its secondary flowering

I don’t notice the perfume of the secondary flowers in the same way as the first, probably a good thing as it can be overpowering.  The dappled shade is wonderful under the wisteria, I sit there as often as I can.

Yellow Hemerocallus, R. Molineux

Yellow Hemerocallus, R. Molineux in the foreground 

Acanthus spinosus, I really must cut the flowers before they seed this year

Acanthus spinosus, I really must cut the flowers before they seed this year

Caesalpinia gilliesii, the amazing bird of paradise tree

Caesalpinia gilliesii, the amazing bird of paradise tree

Caesalpinia gilliesii was a tiny cutting, given to me by a friend six years ago, now it is a proper tree.

What views are you enjoying this week, it there a combination of plants you are enjoying?

45 thoughts on “Wordless Wednesday – Views I’m enjoying this week – Bright Light

  1. The light really is fantastic Christina. I can imagine how lovely it must be to sit outside and enjoy the Wisteria too. I am enjoying the new shade bed I planted on the north side of the house right now – it gets sun (along with my dining room at breakfast time!) for just an hour or two in June. 🙂 Have a lovely Wednesday!

    • Creating a really shady area at the back of the garden is one of my options for changing the formal beds. Have a lovely Wednesday yourself. today is again very hot here.

  2. Beautiful! Could you tell me the name of the plant in the centre foreground of the first picture – spiky with little yellow flowers. I have this in my garden and don’t know what it is.

  3. I like the chiaroscuro effect – it really adds to the sense of high summer 🙂 There is still so much to see in flower and I like the mixes of the softer purples with the vibrant yellow and oranges. Caesalpinia gilliesii is new to me, it’s real stunner!

    • Vielchenblau is one of the later roses to flower, I think that’s why it did so well this year it missed the very hot couple of weeks that finished the other roses so quickly; now that it’s hot again I don’t think it will last much longer.

  4. Lovely pics – and nice to think of you sitting in the shade of the wisteria! Goodness – I wish my Veilchenblau would flower like that – it has sat and done very little for three years – looking healthy, with lots of buds, but still too small. Not like it grew for me in a previous garden. Is yours in the shade? It doesn’t look like it is, but my previous was and I’m beginning to think that was my mistake.

    • Vielchenblau is growing up the two pillars at either end of the terrace, which faces south east so receives lots of sun, but wisteria is also growing up the same pillars so the stems are shaded by foliage. But I think it needs full sun so yours may just need more time.

  5. You’ve got a bloomfest going, Christina! That gorgeous Abutilon is huge. Your photo of the Caesalpinia reinforces my “need” for one – unfortunately, the local garden centers don’t seem to offer them until summer, the worst time to plant.

    • you shouldn’t be envious of the Caeselpinia, the flowers are wonderful but the tree itself is quite ugly with foliage really only on the ends of the branches.

  6. My sisyrinchium striatum is finally migrating around the border…guess it’s time to start policing the area before it gets out of hand. Right now it’s perfect, like yours.

  7. Rosa Vielchenblau is spectacular. Sitting under your wisteria arbor sounds so lovely. One of your posts I remember from way back described how you carefully prune and train it.

    • Fortunately the training part is done; it just has to be pruned a little in summer to remove the very long growth (really only on the pillars) and again in January or February to take it back to the framework.

    • It may look lush but many plants are already suffering from lack of water! The wisteria is doing such a great job of shading the terrace the flowers are an added bonus.

  8. Under your wisteria sounds like a beautiful spot to sit! Ours is just starting its first flush! And I have never had a second flush. Lucky you! That Caesalpinia looks amazing – a new one to me.

  9. I would not have thought an abutilon would do well for you. I guess I underestimated them!
    Love your bird of paradise tree as well. I would love to bring that one into my garden and I heard it’s possible to grow as a half-hardy perennial… but I have enough things already to bring indoors each winter!

  10. Christina, Abutilon and the ‘Morning Light’ miscanthus is a wonderful combination. I also love the bird of paradise tree, something I have never seen before.

  11. Pingback: Before they go … | Garden Dreaming at Châtillon

  12. Nice! Love the Acanthus and Caesalpinia. I haven’t got a lot of colour happening right now but I am enjoying the leaf combo of hardy tapioca with palm grass.

Leave a Reply

