In a vase on Monday – Airy Perovskia

For the first time in months I didn’t have to go into the garden at first light to pick flowers for my vases to join with Cathy at Rambling in the garden’s Monday meme; today is cool with a strong wind that manages to desiccate the plants as much as the hot sun but it is better for me!

The last of the Perovskia was being dug out today so I thought it would be opportune to use some of the stems as the supporting cast for both my vases today.  In the end I have kept a couple of plants as I think they may be in the correct place for the new planting; I’ve also retained a couple of lavender plants hoping they will give some maturity to the new planting, but I digress.

When I went out to pick for today’s vases I wasn’t actually very hopeful that there were very many flowers apart from the Zinnias, but once I began I reaslised I had enough material for two entirely different vases.

Firstly the last of the sunflowers, and yes, I know I say they’re the last ones every week, but they keep surprising me with a few more stems.  After cutting out all the spent flowers on the Tithonia last week I was gifted with plenty of fresh flowers this week; I added some orange Zinnias.  Everything is supported by the Perovskia stems laid across the vase.

Sun flowers, Tithonia, Zinnias and Perovskia

Sun flowers, Tithonia, Zinnias and Perovskia

The Perovskia stems support the other flowers even the quite heavy sunflowers

The Perovskia stems support the other flowers even the quite heavy sunflowers

There is also a stem of Leonotis leonurus

There is also a stem of Leonotis leonurus

The second vase is a symphony in pink and blue and I have to admit to being particularly pleased with this arrangement; it seems to me to be better proportioned than my usual vases and I like the different feel of the airy Perovskia combined with the more solid other flowers.

A symphony in pinks

A symphony in pinks

A symphony in pinks and some blue

A symphony in pinks and some blue

White and shades of pink Cosmos, Zinnias in pale pink and crimson, Aster Monch, White Dahlia and D. Bishop of Canterbury?

White and shades of pink Cosmos, Zinnias in pale pink and crimson, Aster Monch, White Dahlia and D. Bishop of Canterbury?

This may be my favourite vase so far

This may be my favourite vase so far

Do visit Cathy to see her amazing tree lily and what others have found in their gardens to share today or why not pick something yourself and join us!

43 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday – Airy Perovskia

  1. These are both wonderful Christina. I’d have a hard time choosing between the two vases. The Perovskia makes a great filler to show off the colorful composite shaped flowers. That was a great idea to use Perovskia stems as supports too. I was not familiar with Leonotis leonurus. It makes a strong statement in your arrangement.

  2. Yes, the perovskia combines so well with the other blooms and although I prefer the pinks of the second one I like the wider and less tall effect of the first in your lovely rectangular vase – it would have been interesting to compare the same contents in the other vases! I must look into perovskia as it is not something I have. How long does yours flower for on the plant?

  3. Christina I adore these vases with Perovskia…each gorgeous in colors and shape. I love seeing all the pinks in that second vase too! The shape of the Perovskia is perfect as a backdrop for any vase. I have had no luck growing this in my garden.

    • I don’t think Perovskia is suited to your climate Donna; it won’t stand wet around its roots and I don’t think it would rnjoy being covered in snow during the winter.

  4. Both vases are beautiful, Christina, but I admit to a slight preference for the second myself. The Perovskia works very well in a vase, adding the perfect airy quality. I wish I had more success with that plant. It’s drought resistant but still it struggles here – I’m planning to make further improvements to the soil in my side garden in the hopes I can get the plant to establish this fall.

    • I am surprised that Perovskia doesn’t do better for you; our friends in Grand Junction had it in their garden and it was doing well despite much hotter temperatures than here.

  5. You still have plenty of flowers to choose from in spite of your very hot summer weather! I am trying very hard to get Perovskia to establish in my garden so I am jealous of you having to dig it out! I read about your plans though and I am sure your new planting will look beautiful. The Perovskia works so well in both your vases this week, but like you my favourite is the second one – it feels so fresh and light! I keep meaning to say that I hope that Richard’s mother is ok – I remember you saying she was in hospital recently.

    • Hi Julie, I think your garden is probably too wet for Perovskia to be really happy, it might work though in the front of the house where I remember you saying it is very dry. Richard’s mum is still in hospital but she’s improving, thank you.

  6. They are both attractive vases Christina and it’s interesting to read that you think that the second one may be your all time favourite. I listened to a talk by Matthew Wilson at the Southport Flower Show last week. He was talking about some of his favourite plants which included perovskia at the very top of his list.

    • In a climate with a little more rain than here, Perovskia will flower for months, and the stems look interestingly ghostly during the winter; I will still have Perovskia in the garden, just not so much.

  7. The Perovskia does make a marvelous support and filler for the vases, the orange and yellow vase is on such a grand scale, and looks fabulous. But I like the purple better with the many shades of pink in the second vase, and I like the dark burgundy flowers.

  8. Two great vases, love them. The perovskia works well in there but I really like what you’ve been doing with orange this year. It never jars the eye and always looks warm and friendly.

    • It is so funny; when I lived in England I never used orange, now I love it; I appreciate that you like the way I combine the different oranges, you’re right it isn’t always easy.

  9. Two lovely vases, Christina; and I do appreciate your explanation about using the Perovskia for support. I am most unimaginative on that count!

  10. Two fabulous vases, I love them both. Christina. The Perovskia is fantastic for arrangements, I am glad you haven’ t dug them all up. In fact I can’ t think why I don’ t have any.

  11. I am finally catching up with your posts Christina, after several weeks of internet difficulties and a proper broadband service has finally been installed into our village. I am working backwards but looking at your comments I see you have decided on a new planting plan. I really like both vases too!

    • we are all so dependent on our internet, ours is often a bit iffy and if there is a thunder storm (there are a lot here) then I need to switch it off for fear of the modems burning out! If you look back at the posts about changes you can read all my thought processes and decisions, I hope you enjoy them, some are quite long.

    • The zinnias definitely seem to like the heat. To have done well this year (even with irrigation) shows they prefer heat. The perovskia as you know grows very leggy if it is too wet.

Leave a Reply

