In a vase on Monday September in three vases

The temperatures have dropped, there has been rain, the cuttings beds continue to produce flowers and constantly surprise me with their generosity.  Cathy asks us to fill a vase with flowers from our own gardens or surroundings and every week I am surprised by the variety and beauty of the vases offered from bloggers from all over the world.  What will you choose today?

The Leonotis leonurus that I maligned for not producing many flowers have obviously taken my criticism to heart and so they had to be my first choice for a vase today, I intended combining them with Tithonia and Asparagus fern as I did a couple of weeks ago but in the large glass vase that is one of my favourites but is often difficult to use.

I put a few pebbles in the base but the stems were strong and would probably have self-supported even without the stones.  One the Leonotis leonurus was in the vase I actually felt it looked best on its own so removed the other material, it stands on the mantle shelf in the sitting room.

Leonotis leonurus in my favourite large rectangular vase

Leonotis leonurus in my favourite large rectangular vase

Leonotis leonurus

Leonotis leonurus

Leonotis leonurus above and inside the vase

Leonotis leonurus above and inside the vase

I cut some stems shorter so that the flowers and some seed-heads are actually within the vase, I’m not sure if it works but I didn’t want just stems in the vase, maybe if I’d had more time I could have lined the vase with rosemary stems, perhaps I’ll try during the week and show you the results next week.

The Asters are flowering now so they had to be included in a vase too this week.

Asters and white Dahlias in the white silicone jug and zinnias and dahlias in the low basket

Asters and white Dahlias in the white silicone jug and zinnias and dahlias in the low basket

I do like the daisy flowers of this Aster

I do like the daisy flowers of this Aster

Asters and white Dahlias in the white silicone jug and zinnias and dahlias in the low basket

Asters and white Dahlias in the white silicone jug and zinnias and dahlias in the low basket

I will move this into the kitchen so that I have some flowers to enjoy there too

I will move this into the kitchen so that I have some flowers to enjoy there too

Do visit Cathy at Rambling in the garden to see her vase today and find all the other contributors.

Tomorrow is GBFD here, I’d love to see what foliage you are finding special in your garden this month.

 

39 thoughts on “In a vase on Monday September in three vases

  1. The vase with the leonotis is absolutely stunning despite its apparent simplicity – I love it! Your airy aster vase is nearly as delectable and I am fascinated by the selection of blooms in the basket – what dahlias do you have in here with the zinnias? I would like to grow some smaller flowered dahlias next year and yours look as if they will be relatively small headed but perhaps that is deceptive. Thanks for some lovely selections today – I also have a mug of self seeded nasturtium which I hadn’t photographed in time to include

    • The largest Dahlias are D. Magenta Star but they are now smaller flowers than they were mid season, a few are the same Bishop of unknown name I’ve used before, the other is a slighter warmer pink is from a piece of tuber left in the ground from the annual dahlias I grew last year; I’m kicking myself that I took them all out as they were already large potato sized tubers so I’m sure they would all have grown this year I’ll certainly be growing more next year.

      • Thanks for that – and in doing so reminding me to look out for dahlia seed too, as I have two plants, one sizeable, of Bishop’s children grown from seed last year

        • I don’t find that the Bishop lasts very long in a vase, do yours? I was thinking of taking them out and putting in something I like more and that lasts longer.

        • My B of L were picked on Sunday and are just going floppy at the edges now.I do condition the stems as a matter of course, but the stems of the Bishops are thinner and softer than those of the other dahlias I have so that probably makes a difference – the one time I included some fairly tight buds of a Bishop they did actually open in the vase, which I hadn’t really expected them to.

  2. I do adore these vases…and what a tropical looking flower, Leonotis leonurus. The stems almost looked like bamboo. Like the effect of the flowers in the water too. What a gorgeous combo with the asters which are everywhere in my garden this year. I love that they are a native so they seed quite nicely…and oh the zinnias are stunning. I only had a couple of plants actually grow but they have produced several flowers since I started cutting them.

    Glad to hear the weather has shifted and you got some rain too!

  3. I have to say that if it were not for the in a vase meme I never would mix flowers in a vase and because of this I have to say that the Leonotis is stunning. It looks the sort of arrangement I could visualise on the reception desk of a west end store. Fab. I do not know the plant so I am off to look it up.

    • I grew mine from cuttings from a plant I bought as it isn’t reliably hardy here in winter. I first saw it in the botanic garden in Phoenix, Arizona so that tells you a little of the conditions it likes.

  4. Christina – I gasped upon opening this post – wow! What a show that Leonotis puts on. The pink and white confection with the frilly asparagus fern is feminine and so lovely. What a gift you have with flowers!

  5. What plenty your cutting garden has produced, Christina! You’re an inspiration to all of us desiring to create our own cutting gardens. I’m really impressed by the performance of your Leonotis – my much older plant has produced only a spindly few stems of flowers thus far this season.

    • The Leonotis does flower very late so maybe in your heat it will be later still. My plants were grown from cuttings so are new this year; they’re not hardy through the winter here.

  6. The vase of orange Leonotis leonurus looks very contemporary and strong in design. I like that you brought the flowers down into the container. The other arrangements are wonderful too. A very unruly aster in my own garden has biased me against them but I am learning this season they deserve another chance.

  7. I agree the Leonotis is stunning, a good example of less is more. I don’t possess any clear glass vases because of the problem of hiding the stems so I’m looking forward to some tips from you Christina.

    • I didn’t ever use glass vases in the past for the same reason but there are so many more vases available in glass. If I do line this vase with rosemary I’ll show it next week.

  8. Wow, what a stunning vase! Just the name of the plant is fabulous, thanks for pointing out the flowers structural resemblance to phlomis – a favourite in bloom or seed with me. I like seeing the pebbles, too. Have you ever used scrunched up coloured florist’s sellophane in a clear vase?

  9. The exuberant Leonotis is stunning in the big vase, Christina! And the pink asters and other flowers look wonderful with the wispy asparagus fern. The little basket is adorable with all the different shades of pink and matching small size. You have so many beautiful flowers.

  10. I especially love the combination of the aster flowers with the ferny asparagus foliage, creating a frothy and airy effect. Those dainty asters really are gorgeous!

  11. I too love the Leonotis – such a glorious colour for this season! I have never thought about hiding stems as I think they can look rather lovely too, although I am looking forward to seeing how you use rosemary to fill your vase.

Leave a Reply

