Garden Blogger’s Foliage Day – Autumn and Spring

I have been in Suffolk, England for the last two weeks and in that time many of the trees have changed their colour from green to gold; and from there being no fallen leaves in the garden, suddenly the grass is covered with a layer, albeit thin, of yellow leaves.

It seems to me that this is quite late, but maybe I am remembering Guy Fawkes Night with the crunch of masses of leaves underfoot.  There is still time for that to happen of course, as it is still only the 22nd October, the day I celebrate all things foliage for Garden Blogger’s Foliage Day – Welcome!

As I’m not at home I’m just going to share a couple of images of how the garden was looking before I left.  I am very much looking forward to seeing what you all have in your gardens whether it is the new bright foliage of spring or the colourful displays of autumn in the northern hemisphere.

I just love the way prostrate rosemary folds itself around the tuffo wall by the gate

I just love the way prostrate rosemary folds itself around the tuffo wall by the gate

Newly pruned Cistus in the upper drive border

Newly pruned Cistus in the upper drive border

I've added wonderful spheres of light to the new garden and placed spot lights to illuminate the Quercus ilex (Holme oaks.

I’ve added wonderful spheres of light to the new garden and placed spot lights to illuminate the Quercus ilex (Holme oaks).

This part of the garden is almost totally foliage focused so I’m sure you are going to see a lot more of it.

I’m returning home tomorrow for the olive harvest; I’m very much looking forward to seeing how the new planting is establishing.

To join just leave a link to and from this post.

59 thoughts on “Garden Blogger’s Foliage Day – Autumn and Spring

  1. I agree with Pauline the new planting is looking great – what a lot of work you’ve done. Love the spheres and idea of the lights to show up strong forms at night. Can’t wait to hear and see more.

    • Yes, the spheres are lights, they have LED bulbs and so are very energy efficiency. I didn’t used to have many lights because I don’t like to cause light pollution but all our Italian neighbours have huge amounts of lights (they say for security) which are on from dusk until dawn so I know I am not the cause of spoiling the view of the night sky!

  2. I like your prostrate Rosemary too; it seems much more behaved than my variety which is insistent on taking over the path. Yes, Autumn is much later this year – well up here in Scotland anyway. The local paper showed a photo a week or so ago which showed how the leaf colour was a lot behind that of a year ago. That said, I think the colours are particularly vibrant this year. I will try to post a few photos for you. Your new planting is looking great – I bet you can’t wait to see it again.

  3. Pingback: Bring Me Sunshine - rusty duck

  4. I love the spheres too,and the new planting. Today we have leaves covering the grass, and the asters are looking battered, but they have had a good time in the sun this year. The best foliage colour so far is grasses, particularly the dark panicums.

    • Lighting is always so difficult, outside and in because you can’t see what the light will be like in a shop. I’m thrilled with these. Thanks for joining in again this month John.

  5. Enjoy your olive harvest. I’d be interested in knowing what happens. Looks like you should get tons of pleasure from your new planting. Definitely need an evening photo of your spheres to satisfy our curiosity!

    • I’ve posted about the harvest before, I’ll certainly post something and I can add links to other years. The process is very interesting, and the pleasure and satisfaction enormous.

    • I really enjoy the planting by the drive, even though it wasn’t very well planned. Interestingly the Rosemary is beginning to climb the wall behind it, clinging close into the wall, I wonder if I have a new climbing form?

  6. Pingback: A Slow Fall | gardeninacity

  7. Can’t believe I missed GBFD–even had something planned for a few days but couldn’t seem to get it ready. Your new planting area is looking quite strong already. Like everyone, I love those lights. Spheres in the garden seem to be so special. The cistus is wearing its new haircut well–that border is looking tidy and well-balanced.

  8. Hope you have a bountiful olive harvest! Looking forward to a taste next summer. And I agree with the others — your new space is looking wonderful already.

    • The Rosemary is a great plant, I moved some from another spot because they were so slow to start growing, I’m regretting that decision as they are slow to begin but then !!!! Thanks for joining in this month Janet, it’s always fun to see what’s happening in your quite special climate.

  9. I’ve missed some of the progress posts you have made about your new planting etc Christina and in a way it’s a bonus. I can see just how much thought and effort that has gone into creating this wonderful new space. Well done. It’s amazing. I love those light balls.
    You will notice a huge difference when you get home I’m sure.
    Here’s a brief look at some autumn colour in my garden this October.
    http://mygardenblogs.blogspot.co.uk/2015/10/red-and-green.html

  10. Pingback: October Foliage: Yellow | Rambling in the Garden

    • As you can imagine I didn’t actually get out much, so no need to be jealous. The leaves did change colour a lot while I was there which was lovely, something we don’t really have here as night and day temperatures aren’t that different

  11. Pingback: Bright and Beautiful | Forest Garden

  12. Christina, we were having a similiar conversation today about how much later our leaves are changing. I remember autumns when we hit the height of color by the third week of October, and the leaves were nearly gone by early November. Perhaps our warming climate is changing our schedule for fall color is well. Your garden looks very elegant with your new plantings and wonderful light spheres. I hope you have a wonderful trip and safe travels home. Here is our garden in its fall colors: https://forestgardenblog.wordpress.com/2015/10/23/bright-and-beautiful/

    • Sorry I haven’t responded sooner, I was travelling and then involved with the olive harvest and hosting my husband’s niece and nephew. Thanks for joining GBFD, I’m off to read your post now!

      • What a wonderful home coming! I hope this year’s harvest is a good one. We have 3 small olive trees in pots which are three winters old. I’m wondering whether we can re-pot to larger pots and leave them outside this winter coming. I love olive trees, and would love to eventually have them in the garden. Any advice?

        • Olives can withstand quite low temperatures as long as the soil is free draining. Temperatures here have been as low as minus 12 C. If in pots, the pot shouldn’t be too large for it, so only go up one or at most two sizes. Obviously plant or position in full sun. The harvest was good, I’ll post tomorrow.

        • That is wonderful! I’m glad to know your harvest was a good one! We never get as cold as minus 12 C. I have a sheltered position in full sun where I keep them against a brick wall. That should do the trick. Thank you, Christina! ❤ ❤ ❤

  13. Hadn’t read through all your post till today Christina, so I only now realise that you will; be at home again. You must be thrilled to be back in your garden again (and perhaps to see your partner too!) after your errand of mercy. Presumably you are all pleased with how well the last few weeks have worked out in Suffolk and i hope your mil will soon be able to truly stand on her own two feet again. I am amazed at how quickly you have laid out the revamped part of your garden – seems no time since you were completely unsure about what to do. I am looking forward to seeing how the lighting works in action. Re autumn – they have become so variable in the UK as we have got older, and there have been some years when there are still leaves on some trees at the end of November – gone are the days when autumn was done and dusted in September! My foliage post is at https://ramblinginthegarden.wordpress.com/2015/10/23/october-foliage-yellow/

    • Sorry there wasn’t time to meet when I was in the UK but I will be going back in a few weeks when I’m sure we can work something out. Maybe we could meet somewhere near where your daughter lives as I will be passing through the Windsor/Maidenhead area. I’ll contact you when I have some firm dates.

  14. The new area looks great, what a fantastic update! I love the lights, very modern and clean and I think that contrasts so well with the natural grays and greens of the foliage and paths. I don’t miss the perovskia at all!
    Glad to hear your MIL is doing better, and I was thinking about your olive harvest the other day and wondering if you’d have time to post 🙂

    • Whatever we may sometimes think, LIFE is always more important than blogging. I’ve missed lots of posts recently but I’ll be back regularly by the end of this week I hope. I hope the life issues are good ones.

  15. I love what I can see of your new garden! It is always exciting to see changes in the garden after returning from a trip. Fall is certainly happening here. Cooler days have resulted in some fantastic foliage. A wonderful time of year!

  16. I have only justgot to this post. How exciting to have an olive harvest, and new lights. They are a real statement.Your garden is looking very tidy but perhaps you are only showing us the tidy bits?!

Leave a Reply

