In a Vase on Monday – First week in November

Today I am joining Cathy at Rambling in the garden where she challenges us to pick something from our gardens to enjoy in our homes each Monday.

Although it is the first week in November, you could be forgiven for thinking it is mid-summer.  Having not picked the Zinnias for several weeks there was an arm-full to pick today.  Rather than mix them with a lot of other flowers I decided they should bask in the lime-light as I don’t know how many more weeks they will be producing their scintillating flowers.

I added only a green Chrysanthemum (from cuttings taken last year) and Elaeagnus for some delicious perfume.

Zinnias, just lots of Zinnias

Zinnias, just lots of Zinnias

I do love the little stars in the centre of each bloom

I do love the little stars in the centre of each bloom

The cylindrical vase found a place on the mantle shelf, at least until I light the fire

The cylindrical vase found a place on the mantle shelf, at least until I light the fire

With my thanks to Cathy for hosting; why not visit to see what magic she has performed today and to see other vases or better still, what do you have in your own garden that you could pick and share with us.

36 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – First week in November

  1. They are just as lovely as ever – and doesn’t the shade of green of their foliage set their colour off perfectly? The opening buds of your green chrysanths are a subtle touch too. Thanks for sharing Christina

  2. Simple and lovely Christina. You are right to enjoy the zinnias while they last. I was lucky with cutting a few cosmos before our hard frost last night.

  3. And I thought I still had a lot of Zinnias! Your cutting garden is a wonder, Christina. It still feels much like summer here but the clouds are blowing through today and I’m hanging on to the vague hope we’ll get some rain.

  4. I imagine those little eleagnus flowers are packing a punch with their perfume Christina especially in a warm room. The zinnias are quite splendid. A couple of my allotment neighbours have grown some most impressive patches of them on their plots this year but mine didn’t flourish. I will just have to persevere.

  5. I love your Zinnias, of course they love your sun and warmth. How lovely to be able to pick an armful. I have pulled mine up now, but I will certainly grow them again next year.

    • The Zinnias have been such a revelation, Liz; I’ve never grown them before and to be honest not even considered growing them. I realise that that do like the high levels of light and the heat here but they seem to do well in a lot of gardens. I’m going to devote more space to them next year with more colours.

  6. How did we not notice zinnias before? What beautiful carved and coloured objects they are! I have to have a really warm summer to be successful with them here. Yours look elegant and lovely. Here we have (admittedly beautiful ) dripping grasses,falling leaves and seedheads.

Leave a Reply

