Looking Good – Friday 30th October

I’m joining Gillian’s Looking Good meme over at Country Garden UK this week.

The internet at home has been completely rubbish this weekend, so I wasn’t able to add photographs to this post.  So a very late ‘looking good on Friday’!

I have hardly posted anything this month, a combination of being away and being very busy.  I thought it would be good to record a couple of the things that make October special in My Hesperides Garden.

Every year whenever we harvest our olives the saffron crocus begins to flower.  This year they are looking lovely and they are slowly seeding around, which is lovely.  Some clumps are quite large so I’ll divide them when they’ve finished flowering, I’m thinking of putting some in amongst the new planting to give some late splashes of colour.

Saffron crocus under the Rosa mutabilis

Saffron crocus under the Rosa mutabilis

Saffron crocus

Saffron crocus

Saffron crocus opening fully in the lovely warm sunshine

Saffron crocus opening fully in the lovely warm sunshine

 

 

 

31 thoughts on “Looking Good – Friday 30th October

    • They seem to like the drought of the summer, they don’t receive any irrigation and and the roses must take a lot of moisture from the soil too; last year they were in the shade of the R. mutablis too much and didn’t do quite as well as other years; they don’t last long so the show is fleeting.

  1. That’s a good-sized display and so beautiful Christina. I’ve admired yours for several years now so bought some at Williamsburg, VA in Sept. Not sure they’ll do much this year though.

  2. The crocus are beautiful, Christina. The spring-flowering varieties do very poorly here, blooming at best for a season with a few stragglers the following year before disappearing, but I bet the autumn-flowering varieties would do better. I must try them next year.

  3. They are indeed looking good, and I don’t remember you showing them before but perhaps that is just my memory! How are your olives? I was listening to Radio 4’s Food Programme recently when they were talking about the bacterial outbreak affecting them

    • You may be right Cathy, the Crocus flower at a time when I’m busy with the olives and they don’t flower for long. Our olives are the best quality ever this year, we’re thrilled with the oil. The bacterial problem is very worrying; just when science is saying that olive oil really is the best for cooking with as well as for salads. We are hoping that the varieties that are grown in this area may have some natural immunity. Public is devastated, I listened to the programmes too, Costing the Earth was really interesting and the food programme used some material from it.

  4. Saffron crocus and Olives! What more could a gardener need? Thanks very much for joining in with Looking Good this week Christina. Your garden is looking fabulous with your huge patch of crocus. Will they self sow as well?

  5. Looking very good, in fact wonderful. Your post is a strong reminder to plant autumn crocus – in fact I have no autumn bulbs at all. And how nice that they should bloom in time to inspire the olive harvest.

  6. The saffron looks beautiful. Do you not harvest it? I presume you don’t as you say it is self-seeding around the garden. Mine is making new bulb clumps but not seeding because I pick off most of the stigmas. I’m going to miss the last of the flowers so I will see if mine will seed. Amelia

Leave a Reply

