In a Vase on Monday – Classic blue and yellow and more tulips!

I was so focused on it being Monday and time to create a vase for Cathy at Rambling in the garden that I failed to notice it was the 22nd of the month and so Garden Bloggers Foliage day here at My Hesperides Garden.

I’ll post my GBFD later today but if you prefer to add yours tomorrow please do or add it to your ‘In a vase on Monday’ post if you’re participating, either way just leaves links to and from my post to yours.

I am so enjoying having tulips around the house this early in the year and yesterday I was amazed to see that T. Exotic Emperor is flowering in the garden already.  This is undoubtedly because I chilled all my tulips bulbs in the fridge last autumn before planting them out.  All the new tulips are way ahead of the ones that were already in the ground and so didn’t really experience any chill until January.

Today I have the classic combination of bright, cheerful yellow daffodils in a blue jug.  I make no apologies for repeating this combination every year.  I’m pleased that the daffodils that I planted in 2014 in the beds with the Dahlias are all growing strongly; the regular irrigation that this bed receives during summer has obviously been the treatment the daffodils need.

My favourite blue Denby jug filled with classic yellow daffodils

My favourite blue Denby jug filled with classic yellow daffodils

classic yellow daffodils

Classic yellow daffodils

The window sill has good light for photographing vases but there is a radiator under the pepperino stone sill so it is too hot to leave them there.

Tulip Ballerina

Tulip Ballerina

Last week I incorrectly identified the orange tulips as Ballerina, they were actually Tulip Request, there is one in the vase today too but the rest are Ballerina with their slightly honey perfume.

Tulip Ballerina

Tulip Ballerina

The vase is a little tall for the proportions of the arrangement but I wanted to use this creamy white vase today and as the tulips will grow taller, I’m hoping that in a couple of days they will look right.

I have no idea why but my computer colour corrected all my images today, even though they didn’t need it!  I thought the blue place with some nice crisp apples was a good prop for the tulips today.

A very faded Tulip Request the colour is actually more a beautiful pale old gold

A very faded Tulip Request the colour is actually more a beautiful pale old gold

Request is another tulip that ages beautifully so I will probably grow it again next year.

Do visit Cathy to see her creation today and see what everyone else is finding in their gardens today.

See you later for Foliage day!

33 thoughts on “In a Vase on Monday – Classic blue and yellow and more tulips!

  1. It’s nice to have a particular vase and flowers that marks a change of season. I love the blue jug, it looks like it would be nice with the gold and orange tulips too. Will they really grow taller in the vase? Or did I misunderstand –

    • No, you didn’t misunderstand; tulips are one of the few flowers that continue to grow after they are cut. Tulips grow quite a lot, I’ll show the vase again later in the week so you can compare. If you don’t want them to grow you have to slit the stem just under the flower (but I don’t want to do that, it seems cruel)!

  2. Classics are classic for a reason. Your daffodils suit the blue pot and make a perfect display. The tulips are gorgeous too–your house must seem extra cheerful today. Will look forward to your GBFD post and may join in later if I can find anything of interest in my tired-of-winter garden. Have a great week.

    • I think we all tire of winter in February; my tulips have helped the feeling that spring is close, especially seeing those in the garden; I’ve never had tulips flowering outside in February; the very end of March is usually the earliest.

      • The tulips seem extra special. The camellia I used today also usually flowers toward the end of March. My daffodils are unusually late though this year and only a couple have opened so far.

  3. Two lovely vases – isn’t Ballerina a gorgeous colour? And what a fantastic photo that last one is – but does your computer automatically ‘correct’ your colours? How invasive! hat a useful tip about pre-chilling the tulips – I kept mine in the fridge till I was ready to plant them but didn’t think of the benefit this would give to their flowering time so I wonder when they will flower… Thanks for sharing – hopefully I will post something for GBFD tomorrow

    • No, the computer has never auto-corrected the colour before – one of life’s mysteries as to why it did it today! This is the first year I’ve ever chilled tulips before planting in the ground; last year I did it for a couples of varieties so I could try forcing them. As I’ve found out more about their chilling needs it makes perfect sense for me to chill them here where it it seldom cold before Christmas but it isn’t at all necessary in the UK where it is often cold by the end of September.

        • Why should you remember everything I write? And I wasn’t aware of all this information about chilling tulips when I lived in the UK, I have noticed here that tulips don’t flower ‘early, mid, late’ and not much before UK ones are being shown on blogs. This year with chilling them until December they are flowering much, much earlier!

  4. I wish I had foliage for you, but winter still stands here in the garden embracing all. But oh those Tulip Ballerina are such a breath of spring along with the daffs in the blue vase…thanks Christina…I needed this glimpse of spring!

    • I leave the dahlias in the ground. I saw the combination of narcissi and dahlias planted together on a Sarah Raven video. Tulips wouldn’t work as they need summer drought to reflower reliably.

    • This morning it was quite dull although the sun shone this afternoon. The light by the window gives the most natural colours but isn’t ideal for placing the vase; I probably need to get some background cloth as Cathy does for her vases.

  5. Bulbs are a spring classic and the vases are perfect. We have no Daffodils here in Florida so I love seeing yours and those tulips are outstanding, fabulous color, corrected or not?#@! computers. The spell checker always goes crazy over plant names.

    • I’ve never visited Florida so I’m not sure exactly what your climate is like; I imagine warm for most of the year, is that right? If you can’t grow daffodils at all it must be warmer than here in central Italy.

      • Definitely warmer than central Italy, I spent the summer in Cortona when I was in college. I still bore people talking about it! It is in the mid seventies and sunny today our lowest temperature is usually 4o, not enough cold for bulbs at all. I think it freezes every twenty five years or so.

  6. I commented that one of my vases this week was singing spring but I think yours are playing an entire spring opera! Both the daffodils and the tulips are beautiful, Christina.

  7. Both are really lovely vases Christina, I had not made the connection that Tulips grow after cutting but this makes sense, I’ve seen it happen at home but not really digested it until you’ve said here. I have Ballerina too but only the leaves are showing so far!

  8. Blue and yellow are always a most appealing combination Christina. I’ve not heard of tulip ‘Request’ before now so must do some research forthwith. How long did you keep your tulip bulbs in the fridge for? I didn’t plant my bulbs until late November and they are just coming through now. I think it will be some time before I’m picking any flowers.

  9. I was starting to worry about repeating myself during the sparser seasons but your post today is a perfect demonstration that it should not be an issue. Classics become classics for good reason.

  10. Both vases are gorgeous Christina, and a sure sign that spring is on its way. What is it about yellow and blue that we all love?! The blue sky and golden sunshine? Perfect in any case!

    • This is the first year I’ve grown Ballerina to cut, it is lovely in a vase but I think I prefer it in the garden. It is interesting to see how different I feel about some of my favourite tulips as cut flowers.

Leave a Reply

